We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,076)
Filter reviews
2,076 results
Traveller rating
1,004
740
243
60
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,004
740
243
60
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath great hotel pool area disabled guests walk in shower plenty of choice good size great holiday reception staff air con something for everyone outdoor market plenty of sunbeds towels changed every day night life evening meal line dancing
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,076 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Overall a good hotel with a great location. Room, food and pool areas all to the expected standard.

However, our whole experience was tarnished by a theft incident soon after check-in around 21.45 on 2nd October. One of our group of 4 mistakenly left a small travel suitcase in the one on the (very small) main hotel lifts when heading to the room for the first time. A mistake, yes, however, this was in the very heart of the hotel on the 8th floor.

In a space of less than five minutes, the suitcase had simply disappeared from the heart of the hotel. We looked around the lift areas on every floor to no avail.

We reported the case missing straight away with reception who despite being in full view of the lifts saw nothing. They said they would check the CCTV which covers every lift entrance on every floor along with the main lobby of the hotel.

We went back an hour later and were told they were still looking at the footage. They asked us to go back the next morning. We returned the next morning and spoke to Christina on reception and were told they were still looking and to return later in the day.

We went back to reception, again, to be told guest services had to look at the footage but didn't see anything. We told Christina we were as disappointed with the way this was being handled and she then walked off towards guest services to speak to her colleague.

We followed Christina and then managed to speak with Maria in Guest Services who again said she had reviewed but the item was not seen. She said that even if she had seen anything she could not have told us due to data protection. This is in spite of us being the victim of theft on their watch.

She just then advised us to go the police and said there was nothing more they could do without their involvement. We asked for her help in calling the police to make a report, she, unfortunately, offer no direct assistance and just gave my father and I directions to the station.

We felt like the hotel had not reviewed the CCTV in any real detail and were passing the buck on what was the theft of an important item in the heart of their premises.

The case was never recovered and the person in question was left substantially out of pocket with no clothes or belongings for a 5-night stay.

We would suggest they need to treat all theft incidents much more seriously and offer full and proper assistance to guests who have suffered a loss in the middle of their hotel. Offering directions to the police station frankly isn't good enough.

We left feeling they had failed to fully support us at a time we needed them most. For that reason alone we will not be returning the Heilos.

We would advise anyone staying there not to let any of their belongings out of their sight.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helios B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Neil, thank you for spending your time in letting us know about your feelings when returning home, as they are very different from the ones we had while you were staying here so please accept our sincerest apologizes for the unfortunate impression you have gone with. From the first moment you reported to us the issue happened on your arrival day, we tried to do everything in our hands to help you. You will agree with us that you told us the time you thought you had left the bag in one of our lifts, and it takes a lot of time to check every lift in every floor in every minute after that, as they are different floors with different cameras. We in fact checked them all since your left the lift untill 10 minutes later, with nothing strange detected, even more the lift used was at the other side of our camera, so we could not see anything inside the lift when you were coming out. We told you to report to police because they are the only ones who could go further with a theft, as we cannot acted in consequence, and at that same moment you agreed with us that this was the best option, now it seems that you have change your mind. Together with that we will like to clarify that a telephone police report cannot be done because it is neccesary to go there personally and sign it in person (being the office with assistance to foraign travelers is 6 minutes walking from the hotel). Than automatically they proceed to investigate the case and our CCTV images can be given to them at that same moment. Belive me that we deeply regret to read that you left something in a lift and then it had gone, but we keep on thinking that the police has to be informed at every time and proper actions can be carried out together with them. Of course, we are so sorry for that and mostly because it has determined you stay here, we understand that you would not return but please, take also into account that hundreds of customers go home every single day satisfied with our services and facilities. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Just come back from an 11 day stay at this lovely hotel, 4 of us and 1 was disabled. Well what a lovely hotel, staff, food pool all lovely. The lifeguard was really helpful and helped our dear friend into the pool which was the first time in 3 years for him. Thank you all for such a lovely stay will definitely be back.The Hotel was ideal for bars etc

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gwenie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helios B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy to see your friend was able to use our pool, this make us very happy and we know how important this is for you.
We are hoping to see you back again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

This was my 3rd stay at the Helios and I have to say the hotel gets better and better. I went with a group of friends and if you're looking to sample the Benidorm nightlife then the location of this hotel could not be better. It's literally a stones throw away from all the bars and beach but not too close where it keeps you awake at night as the hotel caters for all ages.The food is fantastic with such a wide range of choices. The hotel itself is spotless and the rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels.The staff could not be more friendly, especially on reception, they are always smiling and can't do enough for you. I have always gone in early October and the weather was perfect, sunny and 80 degrees everyday. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely always choose the Helios hotel when staying in Benidorm for location, food and the fact that it's spotless.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helios B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Hello Mr Lee,
Thank you ver much for taking the time writing your opinion on our hotel.
We are fortunate to have you as a guest and that you apreciate the improvemens we make every year.
I will pass on your comments to the managment and our staff and cant wait to see you back again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Spent a lovely 5 nights here last week. Excellent service from reception staff beginning to end. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean. Rooms were spacious enough for 3 adults. Fantastic shower, comfortable beds. Great location. Would recommend.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank justtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helios B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you so much for spending a few minutes to share such positive words about our facilities, services and staff, this is the best news we can receive. We will be so pleased to welcome you back in a near future and make you live another unforgettable experience at Helios Benidorm!. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Group girl holiday and everything was perfect. Hotel location is great. Clean updated hotel. Only thing I would say is the breakfast staff have no communication for you, not even a simple good morning and they start to move you away from the pool quite rudely two hours before it shuts! If you are sunbathing they start to move the spare sun beds ready for the night time which is a little rude.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank cps1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helios B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you for review on our hotel.
We will make sure to take up your feedback with the involved departments to avoid miscomunication. Despite this we are very happy to see you have enjoyed yourself and cant wait to see you back again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews