We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fantastic !!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of FLYING WHALE

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
terrace with sea view
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
SUNSET CAPTION FROM SWIMMING POOL AREA
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
PRIVATE SWIMMING POOL AREA
And this is me !!   Welcome to my sweet Flying Whale condo.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Benidorm, Costa Blanca, Province of Alicante, Valencian Country

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
frequentf...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Unfair retention of security deposit”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Ok, so this review might come as a shock to others who have stayed here or are looking at booking. Generally everything previously said about the apartment is correct. On this rental, I feel we were treated unfairly regarding the security deposit.
We stayed over Christmas/New year 2014, Angeles had actually gone to some trouble to put up some trimmings for Christmas which was above and beyond the call of duty and for that we were very grateful. As we booked early in 2014, our security deposit of EUR350 was held by Angeles, not Tripadvisor as it is for bookings taken now. Angeles has a vinyl (not leather) suite in the living area, which was originally white, but has seen a considerable amount of wear. Unfortunately, during our stay it seems we had put a couple of red stains on the suite, from where we aren't really sure but we feel there may have been some dye transference from clothing or footwear perhaps.
We acknowledged blame for the stains and were willing to wait until Angeles had time to have the suite cleaned or repaired. However, after a considerable length of time, Angeles stated the 350 EURO deposit would be retained IN FULL as she could not clean or repair the suite, and the deposit would be used to replace the suite completely at some future date (not specified). Now had the suite been in “as new” or even “good” condition, I would have understood this stance, but it was not. Indeed there were already at least two tears in the sofa, and the white was also suffering from a distinct greying effect. This damage was not mentioned on our arrival so she was happy to have this imperfect suite in the apartment.
I am a reasonable man, and had offered for her to keep half the deposit (175 euro is no small amount) but she simply would not answer my comments regarding the suites original condition and withheld the full deposit. The apartment is nice and generally the stay was enjoyable, views are exceptional. In winter you don’t really get any sun until late afternoon. We struggled to get hot water often though and mold is present around the second bedroom windows. Also the WIFI packed in a day or two before our departure. We had already paid a premium rate to stay in the apartment, approx £1300 for 11 nights (not including the deposit). The deposit issue has tarnished our memories of our stay for the worse, so I cannot justify a higher rating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Unfair retention of deposit
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benistu
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic !!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow ! What a fantastic week we've just spent at the Flying Whale. The apartment is spacious, very clean, secure and has everything you need plus more. The view from the balcony is just amazing. The children were speechless, which is a first.
Angeles the owner was lovely , nothing was too much trouble for her.
Will we be booking again? Definitely !
Thankyou Angeles, see you again soon.

Stuart and Nikki

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
THANK YOUUUUUUUU FAMILYYYYYYYYY
SEE YOU SOON !!!!

XX00
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichieB45
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We all Loved it - everything was fantastic!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What can we say - we loved everything about our stay at the Flying Whale. We don't usually write reviews but since the owner Angeles (Pikiki) is such a honest & trustworthy person we felt the need to let everyone know about her fantastic apartment.
We stayed for 2 weeks in August 2014 and like all the reviews say the location and views of Benidorm cannot be beaten. Out party of 5 including our 10 year old daughter even stayed in the odd night to sit on the balcony and play family games (since the views are so spectacular). Even for August the pool area was sometimes empty and you'll never have a problem reserving a sunbed. You can also sit in the shaded area on the new table & chairs if it gets too hot.
The owner Angeles is very friendly and accommodating and supplied everything we needed, including beach items so we didn't need to buy any. The apartment is very spacious and spotlessly clean. Overall we'd give it 11 out of 10 since it's that good!! We will definitely return - that's if we can find a slot that hasn't already been booked.

Love you Angeles and hope to return soon.
Lynn, Richard & Tegan xx

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Ohhhhhhhh......Hello family. Special people make special places.
Thank you for your sweet thoughts and WANT TO SEE YOU HERE .
XXOO
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dconroy25
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The apartment was everything we hoped it would be, lovely interior & facilities, fantastic views & close to all amenities. Would definitely stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crb22462
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastico Portafino;Beautiful”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Location, location, location. This apartment boast fantastic views of Benidorms frontage the views are the type used to promote helicopter flights this view on tap all day long all the way along the Lavante beach right round the bay towards poniente beach plus spectacular sunsets most evenings.
We have just returned from an weeks stay in the Flying Whale, its a 10th floor appartment in a residential 12 story block serviced with a lift to door .set at 90 deg to levante beach this allows for the breathtaking view its away from the noisy areas of the town but just a short walk away from the "action" if that is what you want.
The apartment is stylishly furnished with flat screen TV with British channels and good galley style kitchen and utility room. WiFi is available and works fine. The Main bedroom is en-suit shower . There is a second smaller, shower/toilet room .2nd bedroom has twin beds
Sitting out on the Balcony with wine and tapas watching skiers on the rope ski
or the beni island boats docking below passes many hour away;the sea is accessible down through the lower gate (and the fishing down there is a hot spot if its your thing)
The owner, Pikiki, is a well travelled lovely lady and extremely friendly and helpful.
I would certainly recommend this apartment to anyone let alone friends FANTASTIC

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slack-d1
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Location, location, location. This apartment has probably the best views in Benidorm, from the Lavante beach right round the bay towards Alicante and Tabarca Island some 30 miles away plus spectacular sunsets most evenings.
We have just returned from an 8 week stay at the Flying Whale, which is on the 10th floor of a mainly residential 12 story block.and is away from the noisy areas of the town but just a short walk away from the "action" if that is what you want.
The apartment is furnished with comfortable, modern furniture with a good sized TV with British channels and a well equipped kitchen and utility room. WiFi is available and works well. The Master bedroom has a an en-suit with a large shower enclosure which is very nice. There is a second smaller, shower/toilet room.
Sitting out on the Balcony with a glass of wine watching the sun going down is an experience not to be missed.
The owner, Pikiki, is a lovely, lively lady who has travelled the world and so friendly and helpful that you immediately feel that you have been friends with her for ever. She went out of her way to show us local places of interest and eateries making our stay very much more than just a holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
OMG. thankyou. Missing you much already !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauline62...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little gem!!!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
5
people found this review helpful

This apartment is well worth a visit, our time there was the most stress free week we have had in the resort for a while having stayed in hotels and rented apartments. The owner has worked hard and the place looks as decribed, very clean, every thing you need in comfort. The times you may want to stay in the tv has full english channels and not just a choice of 1 or 3 with 2 being the same and 1 being constance world news. A great little find, home from home and we will be certainly returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing