We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and Spotlessly Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montemar
Ranked #72 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Spotlessly Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a 6 day break earlier this month. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly.

The hotel is in an excellent location directly opposite a wonderful beach and opnly a 3 minute walk to the old town.

Bedrooms are basic but functional. The beds are really comfortable, piping hot water at all times and fluffy white towels replaced each day. Whilst the room has a television, there are no English speaking channels. The hotel advertises airconditioning - this is operative in the public areas of the hotel but the facility in bedrooms apparently is only available between 13.00hrs and 18.00hrs - when most people are out of the hotel. Don`t let this put you off however, as the location, cleanliness and reasonable prices make up for this.

Food was adequate and not to my personal taste.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jwfhunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    73
    44
    15
    9
See reviews for
52
117
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

A nice walk to new town. Directly across from beach, great food. Dinner a little late at 8pm. very friendly lovely staff.

Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Skydiver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

We have stayed in Montemar in September.

Minuses:
- The room what We choose was a VIP- Room, but in my opinion was not worth the price
- Additional fee for wireless internet which wasn't work properly
- Poor breakfast

Pluses:
- View from the room on the sea
- Location - just few steps from beach, and few steps from old town
- Very friendly and helpful staff


Generally we were very happy to stay in Montemar, although it was quiet expensive stay. If I had to choose another time this Hotel definitely not with the VIP room , besides that this Hotel is Worth recommending .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

Stayed at the Montemar for 2 weeks at the beginning of July 2009. With 16 & 17 year old daughters we wanted somewhere that was safe base for them to wander around on their own doing the things that teenage girls like to do (shop, sunbathe, eat, shop, eat , shop....). With this in mind we chose the Montemar because it was just across the road from the beach and 5 minutes walk from the shops in the old town.

ROOMS
We upgraded to the 5th floor Elite rooms, more space and a large beach facing balcony with plastic table and 4 chairs + 2 sun beds with cushions. very nice just sitting their with a glass of wine in the evening watching the world go by. Beds were twins not doubles and hardish but comfortable. The air conditioning just did not work so we slept with the patio doors open (still 27C). Great to listen to the waves on the beach. Not so great when you get woken up between 1.00am and 4.00am when the tractors arrive to rake and tidy the beach! TV is the usual with the only English channel being the US CNN news channel (you need a refundable deposit for the remote and the safe for which there is also a nominal daily rental charge). Rooms cleaned daily, usually when we were at breakfast between 9.00 - 10.00am.

The en-suite bathroom was a little cramped but functional (shower over bath, hairdryer on wall).

FOOD
Chose full board as it seemed good value. Food was definitely aimed at the Spanish but we managed to find something suitable at every meal. Salad, Fish and Meat is always available, vegetables get murdered. Cereal, Toast (various weird Spanish breads), Fruit and Yoghurt available for breakfast. If you are a died in the wool Brit who thinks rice is an exotic food for foreigners you won't be happy. As a family we are quite adventurous in what we eat so I'd say the food was generally 'quite good'.

HOTEL
The Montemar is definitely set up to handle Spanish holiday makers. That being said the staff always managed deal with the fact that our knowledge of Spanish was zero. The receptionists and manager were helpful and polite. The waitresses were a bit of a mixed bunch but never rude.

The entertainment is ideal if you are a Spanish pensioner. If you a Brit just give it a miss!

The 6th floor sun area was empty every time we checked although we preferred to use our balcony to sunbathe. No pool.

Pay as you go (15 mins = 1 euro) internet access is available in the Hotel Foyer and in the basement via the bar area (locked at times but the manager opened it up when we asked).

OVERALL
For us the fact that the Montemar is aimed at the Spanish was a good thing. No UK teenagers coming back drunk at 5am in the morning for a start. The hotel was generally quiet and seemed relaxed. Very few small children. 75% of the guests are Spanish pensioners. The elderly Spanish women seem rude always pushing in at the food queues and staring at you with stern disapproving faces. Nothing hostile though, just a difference of cultures.

OK, fed up writing now, hope this helps!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank atb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

Very happy with our stay at the Montemar. Booked for the end of October and we purposely picked the hotel on account of it's proximity from the beach (just a few steps away...fantastic!) and the old town which is quite literally within a minutes walk. Having booked to stay at the end of October we were not surprised to find that we seemed to be the only British guests. At this time of year the hotel attracts a very Spanish clientele like much of Benidorm. Would love to have paid the few extra euros to upgrade. Sadly the hotel was full. We tried to upgrade by email before we left but didn't get an answer. Also telephoned, and although the staff tried to be helpful I couldn't get the message across. The room was clean, a little dated but quite large. We over looked the street at the rear but it was surprisingly quiet and as usual we spent little time in the room anyway. The breakfast buffet looked impressive but the food was nothing to shout about and after the first morning we would have dodged the hot buffet completely had we have been up early enough to have eaten breakfast on the followings days. To be fair we paid just £19 each per night for a twin room HALF BOARD! Booked through travelrepublic and the difference between B&B and Half Board was just £1 each per night. The evening buffet was not extensive but for £1 a night we thought it was very good (far better than breakfast) and to our surprise we ate in every night. Always plenty of salad, 3 or 4 hot dishes and always fish available. Although there is no pool, when the beach is so very close this is no disadvantage. In summary, a fairly basic but very reasonably priced hotel, worth taking the Half Board option if it is cheap enough and paying the upgrade for a sea view room when you get there if one is available. There are better hotels for the same money but few are as well situated.

  • Liked — Very close to the Old Town (Poniente side) and the beach is just across the road. Most of the towns many Gay Bars are also within an easy walk
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim&AlanCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

The montemar hotel is very typically spanish. we got it at a very good price £88 each for 4 nights half board from 1st july 08 to 5th july 08. which in my honest opinion was incredibly cheap. The first room we were offered was huge, very modern, ultra clean and stylish but it only had an interior window overlooking a slightly scruffy courtyard. As this hotel has outstanding views across poniente beach my partner asked if we could swap to a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. For an extra 4 euro's each a night we got one. The receptionist did inform us that these rooms were not as modern as the first one we had as only the bathrooms had been upgraded. The room was fine, again very clean old style spanish - the brand new power shower however was brilliant - everywhere in this hotel was spotless. The reception and bars were of an excellent standard. The view from the balcony was fantastic, right across poniente bay and the harbour. The 4 euro's was well worth paying believe me. The hotels location was its shining glory.
A 2 minute walk to the old town and harbour, a taxi rank 2 mins away, local bus's stop every 15 minutes.
The food was very spanish which i didn't mind at all, the dining room spotless but a bit frenetic! to be honest benidorm is so cheap you can afford to eat out every day and when you think the montemar was a good £60 cheaper for the 4 nights half board than anywhere else and the other hotels available at the time we were there were only bed & breakfast the montemar was a real find. The staff were very friendly, there was 24 hour security at times the streets below the hotel got a bit noisy but thats benidorm for you. By the way the hotel has no pool but it has an awesome roof top terrace, small 6 sunbeds & 4 lots of table and chairs but we went up there every day and it was empty!! 1st week of july and we had the place to ourselves plus the views from up there were fantastic. the beach is 20 meters away from the hotel across the road and down the stairs. All in all we had a very good budjet stay and would go back again.

  • Liked — The price, location & good old Spanish hospitality
  • Disliked — Having no pool was my only grumble but we knew that when we booked!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank judithchalmers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

We spent 2 weeks at the Montemar , in Benidorm, and i have to say the hotel is really good. The views of the beach from the balconies were superb, the staff was friendly and very helpful, food was gorgeous , a mixture of local and international, the rooms were modern, clean and had all mod cons. All in all this hotel is 10 out of 10. Totally recommended!!!

  • Liked — the rooms,staff,food,wine
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KatePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Bilbaino
Hotel Bilbaino
#65 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#66 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 km away
Tanit
Tanit
#82 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#69 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#11 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.0 km away
Port Mar Blau
Port Mar Blau
#107 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemar

Property: Hotel Montemar
Address: Calle San Pedro 18, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#40 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montemar is a warm and inviting place, ideal to enjoy an unforgettable holiday in front of the Mediterranean Sea. We enjoy a privileged location: only 30 meters away from the Poniente Beach, at the first line of the beach and in front of the Elche Park, in one of the quietest areas of Benidorm, where you can enjoy stunning views of the Bay, the Castle, and the Island with its lovely harbour. Our hotel has 115 rooms on 7 floors (with and without sea view), which include 7 VIP and 3 ELITE rooms on the upper floors. All rooms have bathroom, telephone, TV with international channels, free Wifi internet access for our customers, safe, air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing