We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique contemporary hotel nestled sleekly in old city location”
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Nestled in the heart of the old city of Valencia this small hotel sleekly marries contemporary design with beautiful historic features and artefacts. We've stayed here twice, on both occasions due to attending the MotoGP so we've not 'abused' this hotel's facilities as much as other visitors may have had the time to do so. We've drunk a lot at the small but perfectly stocked bar but never ventured in to the restaurant for dinner (which I believe is award winning).
The rooms are comfortable and minimalistic; the floors being just painted concrete. The products in bathroom are excellent quality and the hairdryer good. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms nor any form of mini bar, but you will have a bottle of water each left for you. Our early starts in the day, in order to get to the race track on time, meant we cannot comment as to how peaceful the hotel is for those who like to sleep in, however we can advise there is a school next door and on our first stay we had a room adjacent to the school playground - fine for us as we were out the door before school started but you may wish to check your room allocation location if you're not a morning person. The hotel opened breakfast service early to accommodate those staying for the racing; part of the breakfast is self service with cooked options ordered via an efficient waitress who delivered it swiftly. All the food at breakfast was delicious and included in the B&B price; the cooked options being varied and interesting from traditional bacon and eggs to maple pancakes. The bacon is thin and fatty; resembling jamon serrano - just how I like it and the fruit juice tasted fresh and coffee strong - perfect start to a long day. Easy walking distance to some great restaurants/tapas bars and large friendly square and v close to large shopping areas; short taxi ride (possibly walkable if time is on your side) to a fabulous beach with great restaurants and marina. Get lost in the old city looking up at the beautiful building, looking inside the simple looking churches with imposing interiors and looking down the bottom of your empty cerveza glass. The Caro Hotel offers the perfect location for the perfect city break with helpful, friendly staff and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Remember that some rooms are adjacent to a school playground and others overlook the bar courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 50ShadesofRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017

Very nice stay in this clean hotel with architecture, very friendly staff, good and nice restaurant, we had choose the menu. Hotel is on a good location. The only thing we missing was a coffee machine

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TimothyVanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Guest Relations Manager at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear TimothyVanW,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to write your feedback. We are glad that our clients perceive the effort made in offering guest service with the highest possible standards.
Our restaurant was chosen by the prestigious magazine Taschen to be one of the most beautiful restaurants worldwide in 2014. The entire history of the palace is brought back to life wherever you look around in the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Martin Stöger / Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

One of the best boutique hotels I have visited .
The service and attention from the moment we arrived at the reception greeted by aida till the day we left was impeccable .
The rooms are spacious , the cleanliness , the amenities are just perfect ! Nothing is missing .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Guest Relations Manager at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Rachid M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Aida is delighted to find her name again in one of our great reviews.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Martin Stöger / Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The Caro hotel is integrated into an old palace in the very centre of the Old City of Valencia. Beautiful boutique style hotel,beautifully appointed interiors that integrate the old and the new. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and staff that really cater to your every need. When you arrive, you feel like a special guest. The welcome is very personal and friendly. All employees you meet smile and are here to make your stay special. A wonderful breakfast is offered every morning.
Location is great as the beautiful Old Town of Valencia is at your fingertips and can be explored on foot. Valet parking available at EUR 25 per day.
I loved this place and it was like being home away from home.
Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ramon_Fretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Guest Relations Manager at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Ramon_Fretz,

Thank you for this great feedback and your recommendation.

It is such a pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are very very pleased to hear that you were impressed with the service of our young staff, the privileged location of the property as well as the singularity of the hotel facilities.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Martin Stoeger / Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We recently stayed at the Caro for three nights. We were greeted by Alex immediately and were so impressed by his excellent service from showing us around the hotel and even setting up our walking tour of Valencia for the next day. The hotel was beautiful with very interesting historic artifacts throughout. The room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. The free mini bar was an added bonus! Every night when we came back to the hotel there was a tasty treat left on the desk. In all our travels we have never been to such a great hotel from the first class service to the accommodations and the best location for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CANTraveller416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Guest Relations Manager at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear CANTraveller416,

We feel honoured by your review, thank you for sharing your generous impressions following your stay at Caro Hotel.

It was such a pleasure having you stay with us, the whole team and especially Alex were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your spacious room and the historic remains embedded throughout the hotel. After a long day out, no one can resist our sweet evening delights ;)

Again, many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Best regards,
Martin Stöger / Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed two nights at this wonderful hotel and from the minute we walked in we were treated like royal. The staff were so friendly and so informative and very proud of the hotel. The history that has been displayed here instead of hidden was ingenious on the part of the owners. It was hard to beat the experience we had here and when we left to Barcelona and checked into the hotel across from the Barcelona Cathedral we were so disappointed after having had such an amazing experience at the Caro Hotel. The really up the standards that I will expect now when I travel.
Thank you to the staff at the Caro Hotel, we absolutely loved our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shannaj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Guest Relations Manager at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Shannaj13,

Thank you very much for your 5-***** review. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Managing expectations is a very difficult task and it requires a lot of teamwork in order to maintain the standards we set for ourselves.
We love it when our guests return home with lots and lots of unforgettable memories and a smile on their face.

See you hopefully Soon!

Best regards,
Martin Stöger / Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely little hotel. We didn't ask for much but we know if we did it would not have been a problem.

The building is beautiful, amazingly restored to mix the new with the old.

Room was massive and we loved every minute we stayed in there.

As always it's the staff that really make a hotel and it's because of them we give it 5 star.

The turn down service with a little treat waiting for us every night was the icing on top of the cake. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bodster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#6 of 98 in Valencia
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#12 of 98 in Valencia
1,763 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,393 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#5 of 98 in Valencia
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range: $195 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing