We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Balandret
Nearby Hotels
US$112
US$106
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$287
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace(Valencia)
US$223
US$178
Ayre Hoteles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Aqua 4(Valencia)
US$149
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Malcom and Barret(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barcelo Valencia(Valencia)
US$183
US$146
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Ciudad de Valencia(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Valencia Oceanic Hotel(Valencia)
US$139
US$132
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TRYP Valencia Feria(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$76
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ILUNION Aqua 3(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$108
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
163
70
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
70
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewpaellaspanish feelpicnic breakfastbeach is lovelytram and metropedestrian walkwaycity centreinterior roomclean and modern hotelmaritim serreriasqueezed orange juicehot dishesplenty of storageshower gelhotel is perfectcouple of nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So happy with our choice, lovely location over looking the beautiful beach with a fab promenade that you can walk along for miles! I very nearly booked a hotel in the old part of the city but I am so glad I didn't.

We booked two std rooms, but one was upgraded to sea view which was lovely!

Really well interior designed hotel with feeling of high end luxury. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms are spacious, clean, very modern with lovely big beds, good lighting. Bathrooms are really lovely too. Just a few things let the rooms down and they are easy fix things like there are not a single hook in bathroom, not enough hangers both of which are a comon problem in most hotels. But when there are 2 adults and 1 child in a pretty minimal room you really do need some hooks for towels, coats etc otherwise you end up dumping everything on top of each other on the obligatory chair you find in all rooms lol! I was really please to have a good powerful plug in hairdryer over them horrible things you find attached to your wall in lots of hotels. The other let down was there is no UK TV, just a news channel, TV would have come in handy at night once the little one had gone to sleep but we just used out phones. The included breakfast was lovely, everything you could need. They were offering a cooked breakfast option while we were there, which I think might have been a trial or just because it was winter maybe, im not sure but either way it was a lovely addition but I was happy enough with the buffet style brekkie, although my dad & hubby went for the cooked brekkie every morning!

The weather was fab, chilly at night, you needed you coat. Daytime was anything from 20 - 25 degrees, lots of sun, chilly when the clouds came over but compared to the snow in the UK we couldn't have asked for more.

March is apparently a big month in Valencia some month long celebration, I didn't know this and it wasn't a major issue but it was very busy in the old town and because of this celebration they were letting off very loud daytime fireworks all the time that really made you jump out of your skin, our little one got very scared and kept asking to be put in her pram. It could be quite scary because these things were being let off all over this city and they went off at ground level and you'd be walking and one would go off meters from you feet, this is probably the only reason I wouldn't want to return to Valencia in March.

I would say this hotel could easy pass for a 4 star, it is most certainly the best 3 start I have stayed in.

Expect to pay 100 plus euros for an evening meal for 4 with 3-4 alcoholic drinks and dont expect it go be great, I can safely say we did not eat one good meal in 4 evenings. We paid 45 euros for a 5 seater taxi from the airport to hotel. And we were paying around 10 euros for a taxi into the city centre.

We did eat at the hotel restaurant and I have written a review, despite all of the above I wouldn't recommend the restaurant for an evening meal. But as I said very very happy with my hotel choice!

Room Tip: We had 1 sea view room and 1 standard both were fab, std was bigger, sea view was good but we were out most of the time.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina27London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Balandret, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind comment and wonderful valuation that you make of our hotel facing the sea in Valencia.
All opinions are important and especially those that give us the opportunity to improve our service.
We take note about your comments.
It will be my pleasure to serve you again on your next visit.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is about 5 minutes from the tram station (No 8) which stops at Maritim-Serreria for the metro to the city centre and the airport. Don't bother with a taxi from the airport, the metro/tram is convenient, inexpensive and probably quicker. There is also bus 19 or 95 which stop almost outside the hotel door straight through to the city centre or the City of Arts and Science, the Oceanarium, the Imax Theatre and the Opera House. Alternatively the hotel hires bikes. We actually walked from the city centre to the hotel along the old river bed/parkland area. The hotel is right on the pedestrian walkway next to the beach with plenty of choice for restaurants and bars.. The staff are very friendly and made us very welcome. We left early on the last day and they made us up a picnic breakfast. Breakfast was of good quality with a choice of continental (cold meats and cheese) or "English breakfast" made to order. Coffee was probably best of any hotels I've stayed in. The room was very nice, clean and modern with a super bathroom and a brilliant shower. Take a kettle with you if you want tea and coffee in your room.

I would definitely consider coming back to this hotel again if returning to Valencia and would recommend it without any hesitation..

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room if possible, but not essential.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pedrolutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Balandret, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

All opinions are important and especially those that give us the opportunity to improve our service.
Thank you for taking the time to rate and describe your experience in our hotel.
We will be happy to see you again enjoying our magnificent location and services that set us apart from other hotels.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely new hotel in the newly re generated old Dock area of Valencia. Its 3 years old and still looks fresh. We had 2 different rooms over 3 nights. Sea view is the one to go for. The sunrise is magnificent. Restaurant below serves a great breakfast as well as one of the areas fancier options for dinner. The staff are a delight, ask their opinion n where to go. We were recommended Lake Albufera which led to a great lunch of Paella in the home of the rice fields. Parking is easy if you ignore the vagrants ushering you to vacant spaces ( really irritating ) my advice would be to chuck a euro to avoid an arguement.
Location wise its a thumbs up. Would definitely book again.
We visited in the month of January which gave the impression of a peaceful boutique hotel, in the summer months I'm sure its a bustling boutique instead.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Haslet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Balandret, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Many thanks Haslet for your kind comment and wonderful valuation that you make of our hotel facing the sea in Valencia.
We are very interested in the opinions of customers to improve our service and to congratulate the staff for the work well done.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

To being with had the worst experience with this hotel, we reached Valencia at 3 am and on reaching this place the night manager first refused to even open the door and was talking to us through the intercom, he first insisted that we did not have a booking and only after forcing him did he open the door and on checking realised that we did have a booking but they had messed up and given all the rooms away, so at 3 am he left us out saying come back tomorrow by 4 pm and will give you your room, this is the worst experence on this trip to Spain and he did not seem to even care as much what we were to do at that time in the night, luckly we got a room at the hostel down the road for the night.

The next day the day manager apologised for the night and since someone had checked out early was kind enough to check us in by 12 pm despite their 4 pm check in (which I think is weird anyway)

We got a nice room which is pretty decent in size facing the beach, given the experience obviously I have a mixed review of the staff. Had it not been for the day manager this would have been a very poor rating.

Room Tip: Beach facing of course
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Augustine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Balandret, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear sir,

Thanks for your reply.

As personnel at the reception told you, there was no error from us with your reservation.
The problem was in your check in time. You arrived at 3am when you had your reservation for the next day from 4pm. You arrived 13 hours earlier than your check in time.

At that time the receptionist offered you the option to do the check in and have a room paying a supplement but you rejected the offer and preferred to find another accommodation.

The receptionist at that time just fulfills his duty and has no permission to let any person without reservation to access to the hotel; it’s for his safety and that of the rest of the guests.

We will be happy to welcome you again to enjoy a pleasant stay in Balandret.

Yours sincerely:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We had a one night stay in this lovely fresh, clean, modern hotel. Great welcome on arrival and beautiful room. Friendly restaurant staff. Great location right on the sea front. Free street parking just outside and the city centre was only about a 10 min drive away. Loved the city but really pleased we picked a hotel away from the centre.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KTW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Balandret, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Many thanks for your kind comment and wonderful rate that you make of our hotel in front of the sea in Valencia.
It is a complete satisfaction for the hotel management and very important for the hotel management to know the opinions of guests.
A pleasure to have you with us and we hope you can visit us again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews