We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful area”
other travellers have booked this property
Front showing large 12m long terrace & 5m pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front showing large 12m long terrace & 5m pergola
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Front showing large 12m long terrace & 5m pergola
Olive Grove Farm
House with 12 m swimming pool
Poolhouse that can sleep extra 2 people if necessary
Kitchen showing 2metre pine table
Part of 12 metre Terrace facing South
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
3rd Bedroom (Downstairs)
Patio outside kitchen
Kitchen to left and large breakfast area to right
'Open' Room
Section of Lounge
Rear View from lounge towards kitchen
Lounge leading to 2nd Bath. & 3rd Bed.
Self contained Log Cabin (2-4 beds) nornally not rented (not Poolhouse) - for larger groups.
Main gates to 90m drive to house
Evening dinner on the terrace
View from Log Cabin
Panoramic view showing village of Serramonacesca
Farmhouse in the distance, from Serramonacesca village
View from terrace to left
View from terrace in winter
View from North side of house, Serramonacesca at rear
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Pescara, Province of Pescara, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Glynis98
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Delightful area”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

I broadly agree with every other comment on this site.

This is a lovely well equipped house down a quirky little track near a typical Italian village with good family run restaurants and convenient local shops and amenities. It is set in a garden of olive and fig trees.

The area is full of fascinating historical sites; Castles, churches, houses, walks and drives and well worth visiting. There is also a local pilgrimage route which dates from the 13th century. Make of it what you will. The veil of Veronica is an international draw and brings in coachloads to a neighbouring village. Google it to see the surrounding controversy and the accompanying local trail.

When we arrived it felt as if no one had been in the house for a while but after we had opened it up, aired it and did some dusting and sweeping it became more homely. It rewards attention.

Bring all the provisions you know you will need as we are used to expecting some basics but were surprised to find nothing. Possibly check what is provided before you go.

It is a lovely house but needs some attention.

We did not feel we could use the pool as we were not confident of how to operate the filtration system in its present condition.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had two days in Rome before driving over the mountains. Directions given to us were explicit and we found olive Grove Farm almost immediately (last 1km a liile difficuly but villagers soon told us.The house is lovely with amazing views and total privacy and a lovely drive through the olive trees tothe house, although part of the access road was a little bumpy.. We had some friends join us for 5 days and we hired the log cabin associated with the house. Everyting was quite frankly perfect except for a few tiles missing around the pool. The grass was freshly cut and the pool (which was enormous) was clean. We were slightly worried ,as after booking the house we read some of the other rather negative reviews, but we found everything was perfectly clean. We particularly liked the big terrace which had a 4m pergola that shielded us from the sun and the hous/bedrooms etc had plentyof space - and nice furniture.. A very relaxing holiday. In two weeks we hardly left the house although the pool was a little cold in May. REally good holiday - we will come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Generally being there
Liked least: the access road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Delightful guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula W
1 review
“Secluded, private and highly relaxing”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Olive Grove Farm in Pescara, Italy for 2 glorious weeks. If you love seclusion, privacy and total peace and quiet, this is the place for you to spend your much needed holiday rest. Forget all the details of the house, it is a farm house after all, with all the quirks that they bring, and concentrate on what your body and mind need in the way of a relaxing holiday.

There are loads of things to do close by but we found Olive Grove Farm too relaxing to move too far away. It may not suit you if you have kids that need entertaining other than the pool or if you need all the coastal amenities. If you love the countryside, you'll love exploring the waterfalls and mountain cycle routes.

The obvious trips to get food and the odd trip to the local town was all the time we needed away from this lovely quiet holiday home. So instead we spent our days sunning by the pool, reading, snoozing, drinking spritzers and having barbies. What more could you want on a holiday that is designed to be restful??

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
What I didn't realise before these two guests came - it was their honeymoon - and they run the well known business "blog" iHubbub. Guests like these are a pleasure to meet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
njjh
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Olive Grove Fram”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Haha what to say, this was a very comfortable stay and in the most wonderful area. The Villa is pretty spacious if a little dated but this does not detract from it's charm. The owner has a sense of humour and there is a pretty funny list of does and don'ts and I have to say anyone who has respect for another persons property will not need to take them in. The pool is great and setting wonderful with the sound of the river to help send you to sleep. local village is super and the people are super friendly and most amenities, couple of shops, pharmacy, couple of bars overall pretty charming place to hang and chill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and pool
Liked least: Does and don'ts
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
In renovating the whole house we have tried to keep where possible the original features etc - but all facilities are all very modern. The "little lists" are there to help visitors do or not do something and have been generated by feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
432glow
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful Awful Olive Grove Farm”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We ignored earlier warnings thinking it was a problem with cleaners!!! The house was very dirty fridge, cooker, cupboards,rugs etc , dusty cobwebs everywhere and musty cement smell no matter how many airfreshners we used. Damp sheets to put on the bed on our first night.
We had mice in the house (and a dead one to dispose of found beside the fridge on day 2)and lizards and large SNAKES on the patio just outside the kitchen door. Pretty scary!! The dirt track up to the house was broken with lots of potholes and was flooded in several places and our hire car broke down and had to be towed away on day 3. After that we were afraid to bring the replacement car on the dirt track to the house and had to carry our shopping and rubbish the 20 minute walk to the village.
The only redeeming factor was the pool and even that had tiles missing and the “poolman” was on holidays for the whole 2 weeks we were there leaving us in complete charge of pool maintenance!!
The final straw was when we went out for the day and discovered someone had been in the house in our absence with no permission or explanation. Being in the middle of nowhere this was freaky!! We had enough and left 2 days early and stayed in a hotel .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and views
Liked least: Dirt of villa, Potholed and Flooded Access , Snakes & Mice, Unannounced Visitors
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
I have never known people quite like them. They complained about absolutely everything even though they negotiated almost a 50% discount before arrival. They even pulled out the fridge and dishwasher and behind was definately dirty. However not only was the house cleaned by the last occupants, the cleaners came in on the day of their arrival to ensure everything was perfect, as happens always before and after guests arrive/depart. We have NEVER had damp bed linen even if the house is empty during the winter. New washing has only to be outside for less than an hour-and it’s completely dry (in the summer)! The house has never smelt. We do get the occasional mice and flies can be a problem if the windows are left open at night with internal lights on. We ofcourse get lots of lizards (not in the house and most people find them very cute)and extremely occasionally one sees a grass snake which can grow to a metre, there are also apparently vipers but I have never seen one in 10 years-thank goodness they never saw the wild boar that sometimes venture onto our land. The only people who have keys are the cleaners, who might have come in on the weekend. The approach road to our drive was however a little bad as I was waiting for the Commune to repair some of the small potholes. However I have a lowered suspension car – and have never had a problem! I can walk to the village in 7/8 minutes so how it took them 20 I do not know. There were several tiles around the pool that had come loose and should have been repaired. Fortunately there are not many people like these I wish they had never come
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward R
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Italian Country Life”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have been there about five times and it is great for people who enjoy a quiet life
as many Italians do. Usually in late Oct early Nov. the weather is excellent as it was
this year though a few years ago it rained continuously, so you need a car to see the local
villages and Pescara. For those that like to Ski, there is a Ski Lift in the area ( Too warm
in Nov. though.

The pool is very nice but cold in Nov. ( I did go in once for a few seconds )
The owner says he is getting Solar heating for it next year.

The village Serramonacesca is nice with friendly people, Two bars a Ristorante and a
village shop. It is a good walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Serenity
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannetay...
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, great weather and super facilities, wonderful pool for adults and children”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A great place to chill and relax, escape from the rat race. In the middle of no where a Classic Italian farmhouse with Fabulous views of the hills and surrounding valleys. The local people are very friendly and welcoming.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing