We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The unique experience of living in a cave with contemporary comfort”
Review of L'Hotel in Pietra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Hotel in Pietra
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed for three days with my wife in a standard double room in this boutique hotel built from and old cave church. The idea of a hotel located among the "sassis" and close to some of the best restraurants like La Talpa is great but its furnishing is too much minimalist with no chair/armchair and only a stool. Also there was too little space to organize the necessary travel kits and bagage, particularly in the bathroom where there was no bidet but a flexible water hose linked to the WC which was very hard to use and leaked up strongly. More basic comfort is needed in a hotel located in a place like Matera because you spend more time in your room. Matera is beautiful and certainly unique, but not only is an sleeping city in the afternoon from 12:30 to 16.00. It is also partially dead because a few decades ago it was emptied of most of its population and many "sassis" were converted in empty shells, now being progressively occupied by tourist shops and the like. We will not forget the very friendly and efficient staff (Manuela, Angela and Francesca) that helped us so much to enjoy the most of Matera.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room or be cautious with standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank segredod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We took a taxi from Alberobello to Sassi, which the driver dropped us off at the nearest path to the hotel. We had to carry our big luggages, followed the clear signs and walked through the steps for about 5 mins, but it all worths it when you get to the hotel. Staffs are very friendly, rooms are excellent, very comfortable settings, breakfast was great, I miss their hot chocolate so much!
It was a wonderful experience and I would love to be there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggiLeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

From it's perfect location in the middle of the Sassi, to the friendly and helpful staff to the immaculately clean room, this place delivers everything a 5 star hotel should deliver - right down to the slippers they provide and the top-of-the-line toiletries. We stayed in the suite with the terrace and it was lovely. Double shower, fine linens, comfortable bed...everything was perfect. It was also one of the few rooms accessed from the hotel lobby which we also liked but the other rooms are just outside.

The breakfast was very nice as was the delicious cappuccino. The WiFi was better here (in a cave) than it was in our Rome hotel. If you are planning on going to Matera, and you should, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Request that your room be accessed from the lobby, if that is important to you. Not all of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is one of the rare places on earth that you feel privileged to be a part of. The fact that it is in the sassi and harder to find makes it even more appealing as it adds to the mystery of Matera. I stayed here on my own in August 2011 and the staff could not have Been more accommodating, even though Sofia Coppola was here on her wedding night at the same time I was made to feel just as important. The best thing about it is that it remains humble, reflected in the amazing girls Angela and Manuela who work there and at this price bracket for Europe this is the best there is. As well as the amazing design that retains the characteristics of the cave dwellings you must come here to see the dark beauty of Matera. LOVE...

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxeNomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

If you are visiting southern Italy, I would definitely recommend a visit to Matera and this hotel. Set in amongst the Sassi, the hotel is a refurbished 13th century church carved out of stone. The rooms are like caves, but furnished and well lit. We stayed in a deluxe room, and it had 2 floors, high, arching ceilings and a smart bathroom with a monsoon shower. We paid 110 euros for one night, plus 35 euros to park in the underground parking about 5-10 minutes walk away. The parking service includes luggage collection. We also saw one of the suites, which looked fantastic with a large bath in the cave; it felt like being at a spa. The rooms are warm, but there are de-humidifiers and I certainly didn't notice any mildew in our room.

The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful, and the reception area (which is also were breakfast is served) is also very attractive. 5 steps from the hotel entrance, and you have a great view across the Sassi. It is a really peaceful place, with the sound of church bells or soft music hanging in the air; even more peaceful (and beautifully-lit) at night.

I would certainly stay in this hotel again, and I would recommend it to friends and family. To drive to it is maybe 2 hours east from Salerno (or 2 and a half from the Amalfi Coast) but definitely worth it for a night or two. Alberobello, with the Trulli houses, is another hour east, but could be combined to make a nice road trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was so so excited about spending Valentine's Day in a cave hotel. This hotel did not disappoint us. We stayed in a beautiful two floor suite. It was very romantic. Storage space is excellent. There was a living room area upstairs with a window and the bedroom and bathroom were downstairs. The staff and owner (Roberto) were extremely accommodating and made our stay a great experience. When we returned to our room after dinner on Valentine's Day, we found a beautiful rose in a beautiful container with a note from the hotel. Roberto made an appointment for us to take a guided tour of Matera with Nadia. I definitely recommend the tour.

Anyone considering booking a reservation for ANY cave hotel in Matera (which is the only place you can stay in the Sassi area of Matera) should be aware that moisture and some mildew cannot be avoided. This hotel does a great job of controlling the moisture as much as possible. Other cave businesses we visited had much more moisture and mildew. Our room was spotless. The shower was a little unpredictable with water ranging from cold to hot. I am not complaining about that though, since this is an ancient cave hotel.

Another thing to be aware of is that one must climb 89 rock stairs (even more steps) to reach the hotel. Once again, that is true of almost any hotel in the Sassi area. The Sassi area is not the place to stay for someone who has trouble climbing stairs at all. It is impossible to say how many stairs we climbed in 3 days, but every climb led us to an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlTravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My room is mildewed, so the hotel help me to change room, but all rooms are mildewed. The chair, wardrobe, desk, shower and bed...etc all are mildewed. Even the cabinet of the reception is mildewed too. I checked in at 5 o'clock, and abandoned to stay this hotel at 7 o'clock(I stayed this hotel only 2 hours). This hotel still charged me 35 euros(a half of room prices).
所有房間都發霉了。牆壁、床、櫃子、椅子上面都有一層綠色的發霉物,天花板甚至浴室裡淋浴的花灑都有發霉。飯店幫我換了3個房間都有此情況,連櫃台牆上、櫃子也都發霉,我考慮了2小時還是決定不住,但旅館還是要收我35歐元(房價的一半)。
All rooms are moldy.
全てのお部屋はかび臭いです。
Todas las habitaciones tienen moho.
Toutes les chambres sont moisis.
Во всех номерах есть заплесневелые.
Tutte le camere sono ammuffiti.
Alle Zimmer sind verschimmelt.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yeyers1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 km away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.2 km away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.2 km away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#4 of 30 in Matera
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.0 km away
Hotel Sassi
Hotel Sassi
#13 of 30 in Matera
489 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel in Pietra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel in Pietra

Address: Via San Giovanni Vecchio 22 | Basilicata, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Matera
#3 Family Hotel in Matera
#5 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#6 Business Hotel in Matera
Price Range: $113 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotel in Pietra 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your L'Hotel in Pietra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel In Pietra
l Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing