We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
60
14
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
14
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 76 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Great city, it was my husband's choice and I wasn't excited but it's been great. We stayed in a hotel in the Sassi and had a great time. Start with the FAI video near the Dino to get a good understanding of the town.
The Crypt of Original Soon is outside of town but will worth the distance

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Debra Tedford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a different , very interesting historical and cultural site in southern Italy I would like to point you toward visiting “Matera’ sassi”.
It has been one of a kind field trip with my Family and for a long time coming, but a quick look at the map will tell you that you specifically have to target this very interesting destination, finally the time has come and we took to the highway souther direction toward basilicata ( a southern Italian region) and the final destination the city of Matera.
The famous “sassi“ of matera , the typical very ancient housing that has been the only type of construction for many centuries for the population of this city,.
once on site, be aware that also pending the weather forecast, you should dress casually , comfortable,:
I recommend tennis shoes, a bottle of water, a camera, *possibly with more then one choice of lenses, and be prepared to walk between 8000 and 12000 steps (gps measured) tpo reach the multiple interesting visiting sites.
I recommend pending the duration of you visit to hit the main sites 1 sasso barisano chiesa di San Pietro barisano, chiesa San Domenico, whiel in piazza viottrio veneto, enjoy a quick bite and an espresso while waiting for the right scheduled time to go below the city and visit the (polombaro Lungo), you still have on this side of the old city the “Duomo” adjecent to the same named square that will provide one of the brethtaking view of the old city, and then piazza San Francesco with the related cathedral.
Sasso Caveoso path: San Pietro Caveoso curch, Casa grotta di vico solitario and “Czasa Cava that include the audithorium”.

Any place with typical Italian local cousins will make a good treat when hunger will awake during you visit.
Enjoy this treasure of Humanity.
Safe travels!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nati442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

As usual interesting places get packed during the peak season so we did our own thing. Pretty easy with a map in hand. Make sure you go off track a bit and explore on your own. Tours can be interesting but not necessary as I found the place pretty self explanatory. The Duomo formed the centre above you and the rest was intuitive. It can get warm if there is no breeze so keep moving & view a few grottos to keep things in control. It's worth about a 3 hour visit at the minimum.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matera sassi ro... m, Proprietario at Matera Sassi Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews