We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot with a staff ATTITUDE PROBLEM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Felice Relais
Ranked #6 of 43 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Rock, CO
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice spot with a staff ATTITUDE PROBLEM”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

First, we appreciate all who rated so highly to help us make a selection for our first trip to Amalfi. We try hard to be patient with problems so as not to be viewed as another "ugly American." All properties may have problems with a room from time to time, but it's THE WAY THEY HANDLE THEM THAT MAKES THE DIFFERENCE.
Here's what we found upon arriving at our "Deluxe" 220 E/night room:
1) Tub with no shower curtain...no way to keep from getting water all over the floor.
2) Room not cooled with A/C for our arrival on an unusually hot Sept. afternoon...top floor, facing the sun, no door opened to private terract=OVEN.
3) Once A/C started cooling, it leaked condensation all over the bedroom floor, which we immediately started collecting with limited towels and the waste container.
4) Maddalena seemed insulted when we politely reported the issues, and stated that it was "impossible" that the A/C would leak water. We also noticed that the A/C air filters were FILTHY, thus limiting the air flow. I removed them temporarily to remedy that problem. The bathroom exhaust fan was also full of lint, reducing its effectiveness. The young man helping Maddalena said that he would fix everything while we were out for dinner, but nothing had changed upon our return late that evening. I have photos if anyone would like to see proof.
5) The following morning, I politely asked if it would be possible for us to depart without futher charge, but Maddalena quickly printed off their cancellation policy...no way. Not being fluent in English, Maddalena demanded that I "write all problems down" for her. No apology whatsoever for any inconveniences.
6) Less importantly, their are many many steps to get to this Deluxe room and one other. Not a problem for us, but could be for some. Also, the property is not in Amalfi, but is actually in a small village of "Lone."
7) For 220E/night, we learned that there are better values in the area, even around pricery Positano. I don't mind the rate as long as there's good service.

Bottom line, these are young people managing this property, who in our opinion, haven't learned how you're supposed to treat clients. THEIR POOR ATTITUDE IS UNACCEPTABLE AT ANY PRICE, BUT ESPECIALLY FOR 220 E/NIGHT.

We recommend that you look further at not be disappointed with a four night stay that will be in excess of $1000!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank italy-nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    86
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
38
173
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2011

the restaurant has the most spectacular view and wonderful food to boot! we stayed here for a week almost, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pop85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My husband and I love coming to the Amalfi Coast for our anniversary since we came here on our honeymoon. I am so glad we found Villa Felice because they really made this trip memorable. The awesome customer service began the minute we pulled in. Madeline helped us with our bags up the stairs to our room and offered us a wonderful welcome. When we saw our room, we were impressed. We choose the deluxe room when booking and we are SO GLAD we did. It was very big, clean, and beautifully decorated. It had a huge flat screen tv and a mini bar. The best part of the whole room though is the terrace. It is IMMENSE. It has two tables, big lounge chairs and many places to sit and relax. Absolutely break taking views on Amalfi and the coast. They even brought us up breakfast everyday so we could take advantage of the sun and scenery. I also loved the bathroom which had the traditional amalfi style tiles and an awesome window in the shower you could open and look out at the sea.
We didn't plan on eating at the hotel originally, but were tired the first night and thought "what the heck". We were blown away by the food and the romantic setting the staff created for us. We ate dinner the rest of our time there, it was that good. The menu is fixed though and based on sea food, but if my picky Italian husband will eat every bite that is saying something (especially since he usually doesn't like seafood).
The other great part was the 24 hour rides to and from Amalfi offered by the staff. While we enjoyed the walk down from the hotel to town (there is a pedestrian only path that has a lot of stairs but really cool views of lemon groves, the sea and houses and is about 3km to amalfi) the way back up may be difficult for a lot of people. The few times we did call for a ride they were there to get us within minutes and bring us back to the hotel.
Honestly, I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. I am American but have lived in Italy for five years so I know what to expect from European hotels (small, overpriced, aging, unfriendly at times) but Villa Felice and the staff exceeded even my most "American" expectations. We are very happy that we have found a place we will enjoy coming to every year!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

My partner and another couple enjoyed 2 nights here in mid-November. Though not in the town, the hotel location was practical for most things; though the car was a necessity (free parking provided. Most charge). Only a couple of minutes drive into the closest shops and restaurants. The pizzeria, who's name I can't remember, (the Hotel will recommend it to you if you ask) was very good with a very welcoming family running it. We realized we had gone to the wrong pizzeria (that was very average) so this family spruced them up and kept them hot, while they cooked another for us. We laughed so much. Another story in itself.

The hotel staff were a delight! The first staff to offer to carry our bags in all our Italian travels, of which we have been lucky enough to have had many recently. They couldn't have been more helpful. Really made you feel special and not just another customer. I even felt we were a little demanding a couple of times but they never showed it if it bothered them.

The views of the coast from their restaurant and large balcony are spectacular! We regrettably didn't eat in their restaurant. The food we saw come out looked very good. (Set menu, 24 euros) The rooms themselves have narrow windows but you can squeeze a view in without much effort. In our room we had a very small balcony to stand on and look out. Our friends room had only a small window. Otherwise, comfortable with all you could need, though we would have liked the heating to have been on. Bit early in the season for it, but it got darned cold those nights.

The only real complaint is that the room walls were very thin and there was a fair bit of noise early in the mornings. The hairdryer in the next room sounded like a vacuum cleaner in our room at about 7.30am. The flushing toilets of the adjoining rooms were annoying and I felt I might be bothering others by using ours.

Otherwise an enjoyable stay and great value for money.

BTW, this was a great time of the year to go to the otherwise packed Amalfi coast. Can't imagine how clogged those little winding roads get in the high season. Very slow moving as it was, with virtually no traffic.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PukkaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We searched many places around the Amalfi area and finally settled on this one. It turned out to get fantastic! The view is spectacular and the location is just a few minutes outside of Amalfi. If you have a car, they actually have parking spaces (we found out later any parking on the Amalfi coast is a rarity). If you don't have a car, no problem, the inn keepers will drive you to Amalfi or to nearby restaurants. Even though we had a car, we took advantage of the free shuttle a few times. This is especially good at night since driving anytime on the Amalfi coast can be dangerous. One word of caution. If you are relying on a GPS, it did not seem to recognize this address. We were lost for quite a while at night looking for this address. After stopping to ask we finally found it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Beautiful hotel situated in a truely wonderful spot along a stunning coastline. When I walked into our room, located on the very top floor of the hotel the view from our huge sun terrace was breathtaking. We felt the location was perfect being situated just a couple of kilometers out of the Amalfi town. We did have our own hire car but did take advantage of the courtesy car service which was provided by the very friendly Andreas and Valero. They would drive you in or out of the town at any time of day (or night, bless them both!) which took away the stress of trying to find a parking space and also allowed us all to relax and spend as long as we liked experiencing the beautiful Italian life over a typically Italian meal with a bottle (or 2!) of Italian wine. We couldn't ask for more.

The hotel facilities were clean and adequate. Continental style buffet breakfast was enjoyed on the terrace restaurant with stunning panoramic views. We didn't eat lunch or evening meals in the hotel as we wanted to visit as many other surrounding towns as possible during our short 4 night stay.

A note to anybody who read the very negative 'wedding couples' review of this hotel. Whilst they may have experienced minor problems I feel their biggest gripe should have been with their 'wedding planner' who apparently checked out the hotel for such an event. In my opinion this is NOT a wedding venue - its a beautiful, small friendly run hotel in a fabulous location for a truely relaxing break. Please do not let this review deter you from staying here. I would go back here again and again without any hesitation.

A very big thank you to Andreas, Valero and Carmen. Looking forward to seeing you all again some time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rippers555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Reason for choosing Villa Felice
Wedding weekend. Saw pictures of the hotel and thought the view would be great for pictures and reviews looked good. Also sent our wedding planner there to check it out, she also liked the location. Shuttle service, beach access, nice deluxe room with decent room costs.
Why we did not enjoy our stay
• While arranging the booking with Villa Felice we were in contact with Carmen. When we arrived to the hotel, she checked us in but we did not know it was her as she did not introduce herself.
• Morning one- hot water did not work. Informed our wedding planner that day to tell the hotel to fix the problem as we were heading out for the entire day. We also requested patio furniture be set up for us, this did not end up happening. The hot water problem also continued for the remainder of our stay. The staff told the wedding planner it was fixed and then denied there was a problem to us.
• No hot water meant no jacuzzi on wedding night. One of the reasons we chose the hotel.
• Morning buffet was not up to standard for what you paid.
• Noisy/thin walls
• Cold room
• During our wedding ceremony staff were talking. Photographer needed to tell them to quiet down.
• They took pictures of our ceremony without checking with us first. We would have allowed it, but we felt it was disrespectful to not have asked.
• They are unprofessional and liars. (Explanation to come)
The good side of our stay
• Shuttle
• Before our arrival, they held onto my wedding dress and steamed it as discussed through email.
• Set up a terrace and added small bouquets to some tables for the wedding. However, they did not remove the dead flower planters, which ended up in some of the photos.
• On check out, they told us no charge because of the problems we had.
HOWEVER
• We asked them for a receipt several times but they would not give us one because they said ‘no charge, no receipt.’ We had our credit card ready to pay and we asked several times if they were sure our room fees were nothing, no charge at all. They (Carmen and a male staff member) repeated at least four times that we did not need to pay for our stay, including our wedding guest’s fees as well. We later discovered why they would not give us a receipt. On February 6, we posted our original review (which we have had removed because of the hotels response) because we decided despite being given a free stay, we were not comfortable with other weddings or other travelers going to this place to be disappointed. On that same day, my credit card was charged the full amount for us and our guest. They replied to our post stating we had said we would pay by money order because apparently we said our credit card would not work at the time of check out, that Carmen does everything she can to make guests happy and that we looked happy during our stay. Only one of these statements had some truth to it – our happiness. Re: credit card not working, we stayed in a different (nicer) hotel in Amalfi for 3 nights and used our cards there, plus we travelled 2 weeks around Europe and used both of our credit cards the entire time. Furthermore, what hotel takes payment by money order for such a big bill from foreigners? And coincidently charges our card the minute we post a bad review, which was later acknowledged by Carmen at the hotel. She stated that we would not get our money back even though we were told no charge because we put up the review and upset the manager. Meaning that we were paid off to keep our mouth shut. The manager that emailed us, we never actually met, so our assumption is that the staff said we were happy, unless of course he also did not introduce himself to us, which would be strange since we chose their so called lovely villa as our wedding location and generally they are a little more friendly and accommodating.
A brief breakdown of our time and ‘happiness’ at the hotel (we didn’t spend much time there)
• Day one – check in – happy to be at wedding location, had dinner out and slept.
• Day two – emailed wedding planner re: no hot water and no patio furniture. Not happy.
• Returned that night with wedding guest, checked in and went out for dinner. Happy to have our guest with us. Back late and went to rooms.
• Day three- Wedding day – stayed in room until 1pm then had pics and ceremony then complained again re: no hot water. Carmen denied the problem existed, wedding planner was aware of this. My wedding guest was unable to wash her hair b/c of the water problem. We were happy to be getting married and that we had such a good officiant and photographer. We had to be happy – it was our wedding day!
• Pictures away from hotel until 4pm. Returned to room, visited for a while then left for dinner until 11 to 12 at night.
• NO JACUZZI! Husband brought staff into bathroom to prove to him there was no hot water.
• Day four - Check out – had visa out and ready to pay – no charge – HAPPY to be leaving and that they recognized their mistakes.
In the end, not happy with Villa Felice at all and unfortunately it is our word against theirs.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yukonadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
1.2 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.7 km away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
449 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
995 reviews
0.8 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
1,029 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Felice Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Felice Relais

Property: Hotel Villa Felice Relais
Address: Salita Tuoro 10, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Felice Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Felice Relais located in Amalfi, Amalfi Coast, Its suggestive refined environment is still redolent of the cultural and spiritual upheaval that made it renowned as a kind of "Cenacle". Today the atmosphere that reigns here is pure serenity.Three types of rooms very comfortable and furnished with style and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Felice Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing