We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
GARDEN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
GARDEN
BEACH FURORE BEACH CONCA DEI MARINI
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
GARDEN
BEACH FURORE
BEACH CONCA DEI MARINI
POMPEI
POSITANO
GARDEN RAVELLO
GARDEN
THE VILLA
GARDEN
GARDEN
GARDEN
GARDEN
ARCH
VIEW
LIVING
KITCHEN
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
TWIN ROOM
TWIN ROOM
BETHROOM
RAVELLO
SORRENTO
CAPRI
DAWN
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Pugaliers...
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most cetainly would return to this quiet, scenic villa.”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A quiet haven in an otherwise busy coastal region. We shared the villa for one month with our son, his wife and their baby and although the villa was small we made it work. The view is spectacular from the large balcony and there is a little outdoor garden terrace with BBQ which we enjoyed. The small bathroom (particularly the shower recess) was challenging. The villa is 'neat as a pin' and very bright. The kitchen/dining/lounge areas are very minimally equipped and, if only staying for a few days and eating out, would be adequate. As we were there for a month we had planned to self cater for much of the time but this was difficult. A car is essential although driving can be daunting on windy, narrow roads! We paid 30 euro each week to park our car in a secure compound at the top of the 108 steps down to the villa (and back each time we wanted to go out!). We found the walk a strain but then again it probably did counteract the delicious pasta we were enjoying!! There are many good, reasonably priced restaurants within a 15 minute drive which were recommended to us. What really made our stay even more enjoyable was the attention that the family, who live within the same property, gave us. Anna Maria plied us with her home baking, Roberto was very generous with his home made white wine and their two children, Matilde and Luigi were a delight, helping with language translation. A real bonus was Anna Maria's father who has his own vegetable garden from which we enjoyed many treats. A gentle, generous family which we really appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and view and the hospitality of the owners
Liked least: Kitchen equipment and small bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmirkingP...
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for 10 days in Villa Matilda - yes it can be a bit tricky to find but we parked in a car park in order to ring Roberto when a lady pulled up behind us, asked if she could help and promptly rang him herself (they all know everybody!). Roberto's daughter, Matilde, speaks exellent english and is always on hand to help/translate. Ignore the gps coordinates, put in Via Della Ulivi, Tovere and just drive to the end of that road. We were welcomed with home made lemonade and Roberto's home made wine and left to make ourselves comfortable. The apartment is compact but perfect for us with balcony chairs and courtyard deckchairs

As previous reports have indicated, it's down 80 steep steps plus a slope so not for folk who have walking issues or for those with pram/pushchair etc. After the first couple of days, we were practically bounding up and down like gazelles (ok, middle age gazelles but gazelles, nonetheless). Excellent exercise and now we both have buns of steel. And the height makes the view breathtaking - blue sea out front and Amalfi to the left.

There are mini markets in Furore and also in Conca which stock all the basics and there are some great trattoria's and restaurants within about 10 mins drive. Amalfi is 15 mins drive away (if Roberto doens't take you, there is a car park round the headland with a tunnel back to the town which is not an arm and a leg). We also drove to Ravello, Positano, Sorrento, Praiano and Pompeii. They are all gorgeous, without exception.

We made friends with the dog who lives up the steps a bit, she's very friendly and wants to be petted so don't be put off when she bounds up/down the steps towards you, she just wants a stroke and a cuddle.

Finally - beware of the other drivers! They are all mad - over take eachother on blind bends, drive halfway up your bottom, don't signal etc. But it makes Hyde Park Corner a complete breeze in comparison. How the coaches manage, I will never know. I also know why they all drive Smart Cars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkS S
Llandovery, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good base, friendly owners”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a week in May and enjoyed our stay.

Roberto, the owner, lives in an adjacent property with his family. Roberto greeted us when we arrived and welcomed us with a very good bottle of his own wine and some simple provisions. We were delighted to find him genuinely warm, friendly and not in the least intrusive.

The property met with our expectations, which is so often not the case. It is basic but good value. It is well equipped and has a good range of cooking and kitchen utensils which makes eating in possible.

The balcony fronts both bedrooms and overlooks the sea and the small patio garden to the side has views down to Amalfi, though a previous review does note the pylon.

If you stay here, please make a fuss of the little dog which lives in the appartment/villa a little further up the footpath! He's very friendly and affectionate (he doesn't bark) and quickly wormed his way into our affections. We spent a good 5 or 10 minutes each day making a fuss of him through the gate either on our way out or on our way back to the apartment. You will recognise it from an unusual, and rather disconcerting, underbite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckyb78
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good base, friendly owners”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The villa is quite difficult to find and the gps coordinates lead to the next town but the owner came to find us and was very welcoming. The walk from the car park to the villa is not for the faint hearted. Lots of steps and quite a steep incline but once there the view is pretty, although obscured in part by a pylon and some scaffolding. The villa is small but well equipt and the balcony area and terrace will be lovely spaces for enjoying the summer sunshine. Unfortunately for us we there during a rainy spell and didn't get to enjoy the outdoor spaces at all. The location of the villa is just 20mins drive from Amalfi, which is a really lovely town with great restaurants and a small but pretty harbour. Although Sorrento is only 30miles away it took us 1.5hours to get there as the only route is the Amalfi coastal drive which has stunning scenery but the drive is challenging and it is true what they say about Italian drivers....maniacs! Overall I would recommend the villa for location, views and value for money. The beds are not the most comfortable but if you want a quiet location and a warm welcome that is what you'll get.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipt kitchen and warm welcome
Liked least: Steep steps to villa and obscured view of Amalfi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norweger1...
Solingen
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick M
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredrob
drummondville
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing