We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Piccolo Principe
Ranked #4 of 225 Salerno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We have visited Salerno for the past five or six years, always stating at il Piccolo Principe where Roberto & Rossella are always welcoming hosts. For us, it is home from home. The rooms are constantly cleaned, we love relaxing on the terrace, and this year free WiFi made it so much better. The Principe is ideal for us, wishing to be in that area of Salerno to visit family, but it is also ideal for tourists planning trips to the Amalfi Coast and south towards Peastum and the Costa Cilentano. Going back? Oh yes, next month. Five stars - and deservedly five stars!

Room Tip: Double en suite
Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Davd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Set apart from downtown Salerno, Piccolo Principe gives the tourist an opportunity to see what it's really like living in Italy. From the outside one wonders what to expect, but once inside the B and B you know that you're in for a great experience.

Our rooms were clean and simple, but they provided a place at a very good price for us to stay while visiting the Amalfi coast.

Roberto was a wonderful host and I highly recommend you get an opportunity to visit. Try hanging your laundry outside your fourth floor window and seeing all the other apartment dwellers doing the same. Nothing like the smell of fresh air dried laundry!

While there, try Mea Culpa restaurant around the corner. Not your average Italian Trattoria, but wonderful food.

Thanks again Rob!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Twogypz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

The Piccolo Principle is a delightful B&B and I really enjoyed my stay there, and it provided me with a very homely experience. The room is a very good size with with a privet bathroom. The lovely balcony has view of the sea. During my stay I experienced real Italian life. Roberto the owner is very hardworking and keeps the B&B spotless, he is also very helpful with advice and information about places to visit, Amalifi Coast is very accessible from here. Breakfast is very good and plentiful with really good coffee. I will go back there in the future. Thank you Roberto for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room with privet bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 60hols2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto A, Proprietario at Il Piccolo Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Lady,

thank you very much for your stay and for all your kindness. You was a very nice guest adn it was a pleaser to help you for all your necessities. I hope to see you again .
All the best,
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Piccolo Principe B&B provides a home feeling experience.

The places is a in a good order, clean and practical. The breakfast is simple but with real Italian moka coffe!

We stayed only one night but we wished to saty longer in Salerno.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giuliodanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto A, Proprietario at Il Piccolo Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014
Google Translation

Carissimo Giulio, quattro volte grazie!

Sono stato veramente onorato di avere avuto delle persone simpatiche e garbate come voi.

Mi fa anche piacere che abbiate gradito il servizio offerto e la mia assoluta disponibilità.

Il Piccolo principe deve essere la casa comoda e il rifugio sicuro dei viaggiatori. Oltre questo, come da voi notato, ordine, pulizia e garbo sono delle priorità assolute.

Sono lieto che abbiate anche apprezzato, speravo anche di più, il minimo prezzo fatto in occasione del vostro last minute e l'indispensabile, per il vostro veicolo carico, servizio di parcheggio custodito in garage, offertovi gratuitamente e compreso nel prezzo delle camere.

Mi spiace un po' che nonostante le parole di apprezzamento e di saluto, anche nel guestbook, abbiate ritenuto la colazione semplice, visto che offre un'ampia scelta tra prodotti di ogni genere, tipici di breakfast italiano, e comprensiva tra l'altro, di succhi, yogurt, nutella, marmellate, burro, biscotti, cereali, frutta fresca, orzo, te e tanto altro, tutto rigorosamente in confezioni mono dose, per tutelare in maniera assoluta le normative di igiene.

Un ringraziamento infine per i vostri preziosi suggerimenti.

In bocca al lupo per tutto!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We chose this B&B because nothing else was available in Salerno’s downtown. We were approaching the destination and we were looking a little bit astonished at the blocks. How come, we were asking ourselves, is here really a B&B? A nice room with a private bathroom? There it was! In an ordinary building, in an apartment, a clean room with a huge balcony was expecting us for new interesting human experiences. Roberto, the owner is a charming hard working person, and if the room’s decoration lacks some elements to be charming, everything is spotless and useful. So, definitely, go for a tranche of real Italian life! I would go back there anytime!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_and_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Roberto is a solicitous host. His place is spotlessly clean and has every convenience down to BBC world news!the best thing is his free secure parking nearby which means you can be away in Naples or Pompeii for the day and not worry about the car.
The bedroom was comfortable with a brand new bed.
Lovely coffee for breakfast.
Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nouveau27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto A, Proprietario at Il Piccolo Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Zoe! Dear Michael! Thank you very much for the wonderful words you spent to me!! My satisfaction and my gratitude was to see your smiles while we spoke. Thank you again! Scottisch people are very nice!!! Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I have stayed here for the last two years and enjoyed every moment. It is close to the beach, in the centre of Pastena (a busy district of Salerno) with an abundance of bars and restaurants, and is extremely handy as the base to visit the Amalfi Coast, the Cilento Coast, Pompeii and Naples. Roberto is a terrific host, and the Piccolo Principe is always clean and welcoming. Most definitely Five Stars. We are returning this year with other members of our family.

Room Tip: We prefer the en suite, but all four rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salerno hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
0.7 km away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#6 of 13 in Salerno
201 reviews
0.4 km away
B&B Fronte Del Mare
B&B Fronte Del Mare
#153 of 225 in Salerno
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
City Central
City Central
#5 of 225 in Salerno
153 reviews
2.9 km away
Bed and Breakfast San Francesco
2.7 km away
B&B Il Fuso
B&B Il Fuso
#10 of 225 in Salerno
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Piccolo Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo Principe

Address: Via Antonio del Baglivo 11 | quartiere Pastena, 84129 Salerno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Salerno
Price Range: $61 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every comfort is catered for: high quality bed linen (FRETTE); air conditioner; TV-Sat; safe; private bathroom; balcony; ZONE: Pastena area of Salerno [See MAP] 70 metres distant from sea. Centrally located and well connected to all major city points. Less than 1km distant from SA/RC and SA/NA motorways. 1. 5km from S. Leonardo hospital, 3km from Verdi theatre. Near the Amalfi Coast with Vietri 5km away, 20km from Amalfi and Ravello and 30km from Positano; Sorrento, Paestum and Pompei are also near by approx. 35km. Naples 60km distant. City and intercity bus stops are only a few metres away, with train station approx. 2km distant. Numerous bars, restaurants and supermarkets in the vicinity. Wide range of brochures and other information available. Garage free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Agoda so you can book your Il Piccolo Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing