We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family friendly Italian escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Salerno, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mobster_o...
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic family friendly Italian escape”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location in a safe friendly Italian suburb of Salerno. Great morning coffee just around the corner, plus gelato in the evening!
Beautiful well kept garden - we were even offered a bowl of figs picked fresh by the owner. Clean accommodation, fully equipped kitchen. Air-conditioning and espresso machine included. Fabulous pool, plenty of seating and more than enough for 2 families (there are two lodgings on site).
Lovely little pizzeria next door to the cafe, but also an easy 5 minute walk to the metro for central Salerno. Good supermarkets a short drive away.
Overall a great base to explore the Amalfi coast, Pompeii and also the beautiful Cilento region to the south (Paestum is a must!!) We hired a car - no problem to drive in this region.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milliemoo...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A cosy villa on the edge of Salerno, relatively close to a series of amazing places to visit, including the Amalfi Coast, Sorrento, Pompeii, Capri, Vesuvius etc.

The villa itself is set in beautiful grounds with a good sized pool - it is clear a lot of effort is put into maintaining the grounds. There is off road parking just outside the grounds.

The villa is relatively small but was more than adequate for the two of us. The furnishings and decor are quite traditional and the villa contains almost everything you'll need - washing machine, oven, hob, toaster, BBQ just outside etc.

The owner was also very thoughtful and had left plenty of things which were really helpful - foil, olive oil, balsamic, salt, soap, a pack of toilet rolls, some bottled water, a few snacks for when we arrived, plenty of crockery and utensils, leaflets about local attractions and services, instructions on how to use everything. In short, immensely helpful and accommodating (we had also missed our agreed check in time due to a 3 hour flight delay and she was responsive and flexible with getting us checked in).

The motorway is easy to pick up so it's quick to get to most of the major attractions in the area, which are generally north of Salerno (e.g. Amalfi, Vesuvius, Sorrento, Pompeii etc.).

The local area is a relatively quiet suburb, with local shops and services just 5 minutes walk. We loved the local pizza place, Vesuvio - a huge and delicious pizza for just 6 or 7 Euros eat in; a bottle of beer for just 1.50 Euro. Just next door is a Gelateria, which sells cakes and gelato. Again, a huge cone of amazing gelato for just 1.50 Euro! There is also a supermarket within walking distance and a pharmacy (we used this to get some cream after my wife got a few insect bites). There is also a train station and a bus stop just a few minutes walk which both go into the centre of Salerno - it's too far too walk to the centre, particularly in the heat.

All in all, a great little villa. Amazing grounds and pool. And last but not least a lovely host. Thank you once again for making us so welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pesco2011
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A small delightful paradise”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We enjoyed our week at giardino dei sogno. The grounds and pool are beautiful with lovely gardens, palm trees and fruit trees. Very calm and peaceful area with a few nearby restaurants and grocery store for basic needs. The home is equipped with all necessary basic needs. Located outside the city of Salerno and about a 30 minute walk. We stayed there as our base to tour the Amalfi coast as the metro and bus to town were walking distance. However, we found the metro to be late and one time they actually cancelled and we had to wait 1 hour for the next one. Very disappointed as that made us lose our bus to Amalfi. So there was a lot of waiting!!! Angela Is a wonderful host and always available to assist with any needs.
We enjoyed the pool and the beautiful patio but I think it would be best to have a car to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds
Liked least: Transportation system
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Grazie a voi per averci scelto. Vi aspettiamo ancora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dash1945
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely pool and grounds with easy access to public transport.”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A map clearly showing location would have helped! However, Angela's English speaking friend, Stephanie, was available on phone to help. Beautifully laid out grounds and superb pool. Location is shared by two holiday cottages about 50m apart. This means that the occupants in the other cottage could impact on how you view the premises! There was just the two of us in our cottage and this was just about right. Having said that, the cottage was well appointed. Having the Metropolitana on your doorstep is a boon, making access to Salerno centre, mainline rail (Naples) and ferry ports easy. Didn't need the hire car! Access to autostrada is easy. Mancini's cafe/bar/cake shop/gelateria is a must for excellent goodies and service. Some restaurants and a supermarket are only a 5 minute walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside area and convenience of location.
Liked least: A light over the outside seating area would be nice.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Grazie di tutto. Migliorerò se voi ospiti mi date la possibilità. Grazie a voi crescerò. Vi aspetto ancora.
Grazie
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you Angela for a fantastic week!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The villa accommodation was excellent and ideal for the four of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers). We had sole use of the large pool which was of hotel standard. The garden is very large, private and wonderfully set out with a huge and varied choice of garden furniture.
The villa is situated in a very nice residential area of Salerno with amenities only a short walk away. For example, the pizzeria restaurant Vesuvio had superb pizzas which were priced between €3-€5. We also had breakfast every day at the pasticceria/gelateria Mancini's as it was so good.
We did not hire a car but still got about easily using public transport to visit Pompei, Mount Vesuvius and Amalfi. It cost €1 per person to get into Salerno on the metro and €2 per person to get the bus back from Amalfi having used the ferry to get there.
Angela is a lovely woman and together with her friend Stephanie (English speaking) couldn't have been more helpful. We have no hesitation in recommending this villa to others and we will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_R_19...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pool and decent base for trips”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The pool and surrounds are fantastic. This is probably the best private pool we have used. It is hotel-quality and exclusively for guest use and as it can only take up to 4 people, the feeling of privacy is excellent (separated from the road by thick, tall hedging). Stayed first week of July 2015 and the water temperature was approx 28C (82F) every day.

The accommodation is small as you stay in the annexe next to the pool, but it has cooking facilities and aircon (an essential as outside temp was 35C (95F) all week). We stayed as a family of parents plus 16 and 23-year old sons and there is 1 double bed and 2 single put-you-ups. We shared our evening meals between eating by the pool or eating out at restaurants. So for us it was just right. For supplies there is a local supermarket 5 minutes walk away and some larger hypermarkets 10 minutes drive away.

Location is on South side of Salerno within 10-minute access to the A3 motorway going North. About 55-60 mins from Naples airport by car. (2Euro toll on the motorway)

If you want public transport, there is a Metro station just 5-min walk away and single tickets cost 1 Euro to/from Salerno station. Last metro back was 9.20pm so you may need a taxi if out late - cost us about 15 Euro, or try a half hour walk or buses.

We had a hire car from the airport and there is plenty of free parking space outside the garden. We took our UK SatNav with us with European maps loaded and it did a really good job all week. We made day trips to Pompeii (35-40 mins) and Ercolano / Vesuvius (45-50 mins) (tip - get there early well before 10am for plenty of parking and to beat the tour/cruise crowds - e.g. Pompeii only took us 6 minutes to queue for entry via Amphitheatre entrance at 9.30am). We also drove to the beautiful village of Ravello (Amalfi coast) (60-70 mins at evening rush hour) - but be warned the Amalfi coast road is a hard drive as the road snakes back and forth and is narrow but that doesn't stop the locals driving much too fast. (Only took 40 mins on return journey in the dark).

The owners live in the main house and were very amenable and ever so helpful. They don't speak much English and we didn't speak much Italian, but Google Translate filled the gaps.
But if you have at least a basic Italian you would be ok. (The communication via the Trip Advisor website with the owners from the original booking right through to arrival was first class.) They allowed us to lounge by the pool unhindered and we only occasionally saw them around - taking their car out of the garage or doing some gardening - and the garden is immaculate, a result of a great deal of care and attention.

As a family we loved it and were very sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and privacy
Liked least: 1 slightly squeaky bed
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thanks for the positive review . I hope to improve even more and especially to study more ' your language . I do everything with my heart and I think I gave you the opportunity to have a pleasant and with all amenities . I wait yet . . See you soon Angela.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
payne1510
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa, location & facilities”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Excellent villa for two.
Private garden and excellent swimming pool within the owners property.
Very welcoming host, and although she spoke no english, and we spoke no Italian she translated via her smartphone, and also had an english speaking friend call round (who left us a phone number) to make sure everything was ok.
The area is perfect to explore the Alamfi coast, Naples, Pompeii and Vesuvius.
There are nearby restaurants and supermarkets within walking distance.
I booked this villa mainly for it's location for the places we wanted to visit, and am pleased to report that it surpassed expectations and was a fantastic base, and we would not hesitate to return on any future visits to Italy.
Thankyou Angela for your hospitality

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming Pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thanks for the positive review . I hope to improve even more and especially to study more ' your language . I do everything with my heart and I think I gave you the opportunity to have a pleasant and with all amenities . I wait yet . . See you soon Angela.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$86
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing