We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but one issue....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful but one issue....”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at La Favorita with our 2 children for 3 nights during the very end of "off season" (the week prior to easter).
Overall the hotel is very nice--it is very clean. The public areas are lovely. The breakfast is delicious, with many choices. The room set up is perfect--a large bathroom with tub (shower stall is a bit claustrophobic) and large sunny bedroom. The staff was friendly. The location is good--easy walk to the water and to the center of town.
My only complaint with the hotel is as follows--although it was "off season" the weather was warm as it has been in the U.S. this spring. Our interiors rooms had minimal air coming in from the sliding door (the street is very noisy with scooters, pedestrians). The sliding door and blinds do an excellent job of blocking this noise and it is impossible to sleep with the doors open. We attempted to turn on the air-conditioning and realized at about midnight that it would not go on. We called the front desk who informed us we were using the system wrong, and it would go on eventually. We waited one hour--still no air. We called again-- once again it was our fault. 30 minutes later we called and he told us the system had been now "turned on" and we would be fine. We woke up 2 hours later drenched in sweat--they had blasted heat into the room! In the morning they explained that they had been wrong--the AC was never turned on since it was still considered "pre season". As a result we spent 3 sleepily nights (either too hot or too noisy with the doors open). We informed them that this was unacceptable and they told us the air-conditioning could not be turned on since it was too early, despite the heat.
When we complained at checkout and asked for a rate reduction or even 2 complimentary sodas we were told the hotel business is "very tough" and the manager was aware of our complaints.
Despite this, I am rating the hotel well--just make sure if you are arriving before the weather is officially warm to have a room facing the water so you can have a breeze! (and maybe bring some earplugs!)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheapmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Sir.,

We received your comments on our hotel and we thank you.

We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that occurred to you during your stay at our hotel.
We are in due to inform you that there was a misunderstanding between you and our staff: the hotel’s air-conditioning system is available all over the year it is always on but it is programmed to heat the rooms from November till April, during the month of April most of our guests need heated temperature in their rooms; while for the remaining months of the year our air conditioning system is programmed to cool the hotel's rooms.

Your comment will be taken into consideration to improve our service level.

We hope to welcoming you again in a nearest future and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,429
    192
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
339
999
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I was passing by Sorrento the week before Christmas. It was unusually cold for the place and the season: the snow had come and whitened the Vesuvio.
The hotel was a feast for the eyes and the heart: the beautiful and colorful ambience with exotic plants and flower, the fragrances of the flowers were pleasantly mixing with the eclectic furniture and the whimsical, playful ambience. The bedroom and the bathroom (both surprising large for the Italian standards) were in the same style with a spectacular view of the gulf of Naples. The pleasant surprise was a nice Italian-style breakfast in the bedroom with a wide selection of pastry, cakes and breads. The service was excellent. The only disappointment is that the time was flying too fast… I cannot wait to go back and experience the hotel in a different season.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felice79_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Sir.,

We want to thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel with Trip Advisor.

What best comment than yours: to consider our botel a feast for the body and the soul.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time at our hotel and that you remained well impressed by its spectacular view over the Gulf of Naples.

We hope you will come back and stay by us again.

In the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We decided to go to Sorrento with a group of friends to celebrate New Year. Although we it was not possible to stay altogether in the same hotel, we we´re lucky to be in this fantastic new one. It´s actually in the middle of the historical centre and has a breathtaking view which was perfect to watch the fireworks during midnight´s celebration. The food was fabulous, the staff´s nice and the show after dinner was so fun. We really had a great time hoping to be able to be back again next year, only this time everyone must be in this structure. Thanks to all the Grand Hotel la Favorita family...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Sir.,

We received your positive comment on our hotel and we really want to thank you.

We are delighted to hear that you had a Great time at our hotel and that you particularly enjoyed to watch the fireworks from our roof top terrace.

We hope to welcoming you again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our ebst regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I experience a Splendid New Year at Sorrento with a group of friends in this Hotel. Everything was fantastic especially the 31st of Dic. dinner special where we had a very special menu and a spetacular after dinner celebration while waiting fir the entrance of the year 2012. I would like to thank all of the staff hoping to see them again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teche64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Sir.,

We received your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you experienced a Splendid New Year at Sorrento and we really hope you wish to come and to stay by us again in a nearest future.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hvidovre, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We chose well trying this fresh Hotel in the heart of Sorrento. We found it through net and i say although we stayed short, we had a very good time trying also it´s restaurant The Parucchiano. The owner was very kind and the staff was nice. We suggest the rooms on the 3rd floor having the most breathtaking views. We stayed on room 316 and it was just perfect. They also have a very relaxing garden with lemon trees where you can read a nice book. It´s a pity that the swimming pool is closed but maybe we´ll go back on summer next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babytirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Sir.,

We received your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay by us and we will share your positive opinions with all our team members and particularly with Mr. Enzo the owner of the Parrucchiano Restaurant too.

We hope you will come and stay by us again in a nearest future and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallensbaek Strand, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed on vacation in this very beautiful Hotel on the month of September and all i can say is that we had a very special week. The Staff was wonderful and the service was excellent. The location is perfect being in the middle of the historical centre and we easily reached every important point of the place. We surely advice everyone to try this new Hotel and experience also a magical vacation as we had.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naitsirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Sir.,

we want to thank you for taking your time to submit your positive opinions on our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you experienced a magic and unforgettable vacation at our hotel and we hope to welcoming you again in a nearest future.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband, son and I stayed in La Favorita for 4 nights in the summer of 2011.
I can safely say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Our room was huge with excellent air con. The hotel was clean and the staff excellent and very helpful. The breakfast was excellent - sometimes taken outside in the very pretty garden.
The best part of the hotel was the rooftop pool - a wonderful place to relax, swim and look out at the sea.
I would return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Sir.,

We have received your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and that you would return to stay by us without exitation.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you again and we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,105 reviews
1.0 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,099 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,291 reviews
0.4 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Favorita

Property: Grand Hotel La Favorita
Address: Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Favorita 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a new recently inaugurated hotel surrounded by lush Mediterranean gardens. A hidden gem situated in the heart of historical centre yet only a few steps away from the most stunning terraces of Sorrento wich offer a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Sorrentine Peninsular.The Hotel'scomforts structure and professional staff, will ensure our guests a most enjoyable and rememberable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing