We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening in Sorrento”
Review of Aldo Limos

Aldo Limos
Ranked #3 of 67 Transportation in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Are you looking for an experienced, friendly, professional company with a personal touch,to arrange your transfers & sightseeing in Naples, Sorrento, Salerno & Amalfi Coast area ? Well known in Sorrento, with over 30 years of experience in International travel ,tourism & restaurant business. We run a Small and Select service - Our Fleet, Our drivers , Our home We have our own fleet of Mercedes cars ,carriers & deluxe Sprinter.All vehicles are airconditioned,non-smoking & comfortable & driven by our team of qualified,informative, English speaking drivers.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great evening in Sorrento”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My wife and I visited Sorrento for three nights from Feb. 8 thru 10,2012. After happening in his taxi on two occasions and chatting with him it was obvious he knew a tremendous amount about the surrounding area and attractions, as well as being a very interesting person to talk to. We told him of our interest to find something out of the way and authenic to the area. When he dropped us off he gave us his card and told us to call him as he thought he knew just the place we might like. Well, the last night we did and boy did were we pleased. He took us a short ride a couple small towns down the coast to a small place more like what I would call a deli/buthcher shop. It was a quaint place with cured meats hanging around and wines all along the shelves. The owner came out and talked to us and Aldo recommended some wonderful homemade Italian dishes and some local wines. The owner came right out to our table(their were only two by the way) and showed us how he made mozarello. The night was truly an experience that we would have never had without the reccomendation of a very interesting person who seems to really enjoy his work and meeting people from all over the world. Thanks Aldo for a wonderful authenic evening and maybe one day well meet again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dat9905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California, United States
1 review
“Aldo delivers the best of Amalfi!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We spent 4 days in Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast, and used Aldo for 3 of those days. To say he is exceptional is an understatement. He brings the region to life with his style, personality and over the top local knowledge. You feel like you are with and treated like a celebrity when Aldo takes you into the local places that make Sorrento and Amalfi so special. Whether it's a local grocer (Nello) serving up the best Italian we've ever had or his recommendations for pizza; he can't miss. Touring the Amalfi was such a pleasure in his first class Mercedes Van, where we didn't have to think about a thing. He knew the roadside vendors, the local shop owners and the former prime minister of Italy. If you want to experience all that this region has to offer, Aldo is a must have. You will not be disappointed. And, if you are lucky enough, maybe you can get him to whip up some local pasta and sauce, since he's a Michelin caliber chef in his spare time!
Jay and Stephanie, San Francisco, CA

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than a decade of superb service and warm friendship.”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

For more than ten years I have been bringing small group tours to the Bay of Naples, Rome, and Sicily. During that time, Aldo has been my driver; he and his crew have provided airport and port transfers, as well as many day excursions. I have also, over the years, recommended him to many of my friends, who always come home raving about how grateful they were for the experience. Friends of mine have recommended Aldo to friends of theirs--who have in turn recommended him to their friends. My personal chain is 4 now recommendations deep in some places.

The first time that I hired him, he made many helpful suggestions on times, pickups and routes--which made my job much easier and my first tour much more successful. His suggestions saved me much time and money; had I stayed with my original plan, Aldo would have made more money, but my arrangements would have been much worse. His honesty and integrity become obvious at the outset. He does not want you to waste your time or your money--and will tell you without hesitation.

Aldo is a native of Sorrento. He and his family live in the city center. He and his wife Chris, who is English, are indispensable contacts to have in the event of an emergency (medical, dental, pharmacies, etc.). This should be very reassuring to travelers who are new to the Bay of Naples, especially if you don't speak Italian. I think that they know personally everyone between Rome and Reggio Calabria.

His cars are immaculately clean; he is thoroughly insured and inspected; he and his crew are always on time; he goes out of his way to make your visit memorable.

Here's one example. Early one evening, years ago, on the way back from Paestum, as we were approaching Sorrento, he told me that he had called ahead to the local cooperative where limoncello and olive oil are processed. They were keeping the place open for us if we would like to stop. My group thus received a free and unexpected tour of the facility which is used by a large consortium of growers--the kind of visit that most tourists would never have--and learned first-hand about the renowned olive oils and limoncello of the Sorrentine peninsula.

What you will NOT get from Aldo Limos: you will never have the sense that they are steering you towards a purchase or a restaurant or a destination so that they (or their friends) can make some extra money (which happens all the time in Italy). You will get an honest evaluation of any place that you ask about. If you think that a particular route or site is worth trying, they will be helpful and even inventive in their suggestions. And they will talk you out of a bad idea. I will gladly confirm any of this by email.

I value my association with Aldo and Chris for all that they have done for my tours. But I value even more their friendship. I will be using Aldo Limos again, this coming March--and I can't wait.

R.M. Colaizzi
Vesuviana Tours
Natick, MA USA
colaizzi@gis.net

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Randall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aldo Lomos is the best!!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We spent the day on tour with Aldo Limos. It was one of my favorite days of the trip. We went to Pompeii with Aldo, where he turned us over to a fascinating local guide - he knew so much about Pompeii and was the kind of storyteller who made the city come alive. Then Aldo took us to Sorrento, along the Mediterranean route. So amazing and beautiful! We had a dinner at one of Aldo's favorite places, met Aldo's wonderful wife, Chris, then took a quick walk through town. We had a train to catch, and were running late, because I just had to shop. Aldo got us ther in time and came with us to make certain to be ther in case we missed it. All four of us loved both Aldo & Chris and we will look them up the next time we're in Italy. Ciao, Aldo!

Helpful?
Thank Auroramwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California, USA
1 review
“Knowledgable, friendly, accommodating, creative, English-fluent, great guide!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Aldo was recommended to us by our travel agent who had met him in Sorrento. She arranged for Aldo to take us on a tour that included Pompeii and the Naples Museum. He met us at the Naples train station (when we arrived from Rome) and took us to Pompeii where he had arranged for a private Pompeii guide who was very knowledgeable and informative, and made our tour very interesting and enjoyable. When we were done with Pompeii, we had planned for Aldo to take us back to Naples to tour the Museum, but the kids had seen enough of antiquities for the day. Aldo sensed that and suggested a tour of the Amalfi coast as an alternative -- even though it would cost him much more in fuel (fuel is VERY expensive in Italy now). We agreed and he took us on a great tour. He is from the area and knows all the best "vistas", the best restaurants with reasonable prices, and the best areas for shopping. He really made our trip even more wonderful that we expected. We really enjoyed talking with him about Italy, Europe in general, the history or the area, etc. We travelled in a late-model Mercedes van that was very comfortable, and Aldo made us feel safe and secure at all times. I give him the highest recommendation.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldo Limos also viewed

 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Aldo Limos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing