We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Fairytale Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An Amazing Fairytale Place”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

An Amazing Fairytale Place

Had an unbelievable time in that hotel with my boyfriend in July 2011. Breathtaking view and extremely professional staff. Plenty of choices for the beach, private elevator excess to the marina. In the heart of everything. Highly recommend that amazing historical charmer!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Kristina,

thank you very much for your nice and positive review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and, what is most important to me as CEO, is your comment regarding the quality of our service and staff.

I'm really proud and happy to read that you loved your holiday and I'm already looking forward to welcoming you back at the Exvitt very soon!

My warmest regards,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    86
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
256
643
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

4 nights here in September 2011....in a Deluxe Premium room which was all that was available for us ( we had three of us, parents and student daughter, wanting to share) when we booked quite late. A beautiful large room, plenty of room ( including some privacy) for all three of us and a fantastic private terrace overlooking the port and the bay. The hotel's own reservations team were most helpful on the phone. Arrived hot and dusty from Pompeii, were welcomed warmly, good shower, elegant drinks on elegant bar terrace followed
( we were lucky) by one of the hotel's occasional buffet dinners on the bar terrace as night fell. Fabulous food and lots of choice. Lovely pool for relaxing, not at all busy in mid September, very good poolside bar service. But no sea or mountain views from the poolside, just of the hotel's lovely orange grove gardens. Delicious lunch at poolside restaurant. Everywhere in Sorrento in easy walking distance. Breakfast room delightful, choice extensive...and greeted by name on arrival at breakfast on second day! If you are reading this review you probably already know that hotels like this certainly don't come cheap.....but if you can afford some luxury I'm sure you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank racecoursedonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your very beautiful comment on Tripadvisor and we are looking to meeting you again at The Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria!

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Much has been said by fellow reviewers about this hotel's old world charm and excellent service. I fully agree with them; I was very surprised when they upgraded us from a classic seaview to a deluxe seaview room (thank you!). The views from our room of Mount Vesuvius across the bay were breathtaking - we ended up spending much more time in our room as a result. We particularly loved walking the long tree-lined driveway leading from the entrance to the hotel lobby. Another thing that I really liked - the room is cleaned twice a day. Who does that these days?

One comment: I don't know if the connecting door between our room and the next room is thin, or the occupants in the other room were particularly loud, but we could hear the next door occupants' conversations. Best ask for a room without a connecting door.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank caldaxiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review and comments.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated our rooms and the service of our staff, especially the housekeeping.

Thank for your valuable feedback on the connecting door - we will work on it to eliminate the noise, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria.

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope AL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

While walking through Sorrento in Oct 2011 we came across Caruso Lane and a gorgeous lane which we strolled down and ended up at the Excelsior Vittoria Hotel. We passed through the lobby to the stunning terrace where we had a couple of glasses of wine ($32 for 2 glasses each including 20% tip-not bad at all) and mused about how lucky we were. A fellow in a Tuxedo jacket too our order and was very friendly. The view took our breath away and we still think back to it. I can only imagine how lovely the rooms would be, most of which appear to be facing the bay. The hotel itself is just above the ferry landing, easy to find. Actually it is about 50-100 ft above...very high point from which to observe the beauty in all directions. The opera singer, Caruso, stayed there many times and has a suite named after him. I think it sits on Causo Lane.

I am thinking that how you are dressed might have an affect on the groundskeepers allowing you in if you aren't staying there. We happened to be "dressy casual" that day and no one stopped us while I saw others in fairly normal more "slouchy" attire being turned away. Obviously, if you are staying there, I am sure attire wouldn't be an issue...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hopeFairhopeAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our stay at the Hotel Grand Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento was the highlight of our recent trip to Italy! The location and excellent service exceeded all expectations. The staff displayed a warm and caring pride, that is very rare these days. The guest rooms and communal areas were elegant and filled with fabulous antiques and comfortable furnishings, and the views overlooking the Bay of Naples were absolutely spectacular. The Hotel Manager, Nicolino Grigio was very kind and welcoming and set the tone for a perfect hotel experience. This was truely an amazing travel experience we will never forget!

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dswingsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The hotel was extremely responsive an well located. We wanted to go to Capri. A boat leaves from the dock when you exit the elevator from the rear of the hotel several times a day. It is a perfect day trip. The boat trip is only 30 minutes on a fast boat. The hotel restaurant was excellent and elegant and not over priced. Our suite was very large and decorated with antique furniture from the 19th century. The bathroom was almost the size of most standard hotel rooms. The view was special during the night ,as well as, during the day. December weather was a little brisk and damp, but the benefit was no crowds. The only vacationers we met were from Australia where it is summer vacation time.

Room Tip: Travel in early December when there are very few tourists and no crowds. We booked a standard suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review and comments.
It makes us so happy to receive such positive feedback and especially you appreciated restaurant and rooms, and we really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria soon!

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

For our honeymoon this had to be perfect and it was! The hotel is magnificent and the view from our room oveert he Bay of Naples was very special. The breakfast room and restauatnt were stunning, room service great, grounds and pool were lovely. Close to the heart of Sorrento, we could not have found a more perfect place. Satff were courteous and helpful, our stay was a dream come true.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SobandPob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.3 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
1.0 km away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing