We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Nearby Hotels
La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
US$285
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$373/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$479
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$348/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$483
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$599/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$453
US$439
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$390
US$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$475
US$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$383/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$474
US$460
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$592/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,491)
Filter reviews
1,491 results
Traveller rating
1,315
105
38
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,315
105
38
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin star restaurantbosquet restaurantbay of naplesconcierge deskleading hotels of the worldprivate elevatorpoolside restaurantthe main squareoverlooking the baypool staffour honeymoonamazing hotelmediterranean sealarge terracebeautiful roomthe clifforange and lemon trees
Filter
Updating list...
937 - 942 of 1,491 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2012

4 nights here in September 2011....in a Deluxe Premium room which was all that was available for us ( we had three of us, parents and student daughter, wanting to share) when we booked quite late. A beautiful large room, plenty of room ( including some privacy) for all three of us and a fantastic private terrace overlooking the port and the bay. The hotel's own reservations team were most helpful on the phone. Arrived hot and dusty from Pompeii, were welcomed warmly, good shower, elegant drinks on elegant bar terrace followed
( we were lucky) by one of the hotel's occasional buffet dinners on the bar terrace as night fell. Fabulous food and lots of choice. Lovely pool for relaxing, not at all busy in mid September, very good poolside bar service. But no sea or mountain views from the poolside, just of the hotel's lovely orange grove gardens. Delicious lunch at poolside restaurant. Everywhere in Sorrento in easy walking distance. Breakfast room delightful, choice extensive...and greeted by name on arrival at breakfast on second day! If you are reading this review you probably already know that hotels like this certainly don't come cheap.....but if you can afford some luxury I'm sure you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank racecoursedonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your very beautiful comment on Tripadvisor and we are looking to meeting you again at The Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria!

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

________________________________________

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Much has been said by fellow reviewers about this hotel's old world charm and excellent service. I fully agree with them; I was very surprised when they upgraded us from a classic seaview to a deluxe seaview room (thank you!). The views from our room of Mount Vesuvius across the bay were breathtaking - we ended up spending much more time in our room as a result. We particularly loved walking the long tree-lined driveway leading from the entrance to the hotel lobby. Another thing that I really liked - the room is cleaned twice a day. Who does that these days?

One comment: I don't know if the connecting door between our room and the next room is thin, or the occupants in the other room were particularly loud, but we could hear the next door occupants' conversations. Best ask for a room without a connecting door.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caldaxiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review and comments.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated our rooms and the service of our staff, especially the housekeeping.

Thank for your valuable feedback on the connecting door - we will work on it to eliminate the noise, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria.

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2012

While walking through Sorrento in Oct 2011 we came across Caruso Lane and a gorgeous lane which we strolled down and ended up at the Excelsior Vittoria Hotel. We passed through the lobby to the stunning terrace where we had a couple of glasses of wine ($32 for 2 glasses each including 20% tip-not bad at all) and mused about how lucky we were. A fellow in a Tuxedo jacket too our order and was very friendly. The view took our breath away and we still think back to it. I can only imagine how lovely the rooms would be, most of which appear to be facing the bay. The hotel itself is just above the ferry landing, easy to find. Actually it is about 50-100 ft above...very high point from which to observe the beauty in all directions. The opera singer, Caruso, stayed there many times and has a suite named after him. I think it sits on Causo Lane.

I am thinking that how you are dressed might have an affect on the groundskeepers allowing you in if you aren't staying there. We happened to be "dressy casual" that day and no one stopped us while I saw others in fairly normal more "slouchy" attire being turned away. Obviously, if you are staying there, I am sure attire wouldn't be an issue...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank hopeFairhopeAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our stay at the Hotel Grand Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento was the highlight of our recent trip to Italy! The location and excellent service exceeded all expectations. The staff displayed a warm and caring pride, that is very rare these days. The guest rooms and communal areas were elegant and filled with fabulous antiques and comfortable furnishings, and the views overlooking the Bay of Naples were absolutely spectacular. The Hotel Manager, Nicolino Grigio was very kind and welcoming and set the tone for a perfect hotel experience. This was truely an amazing travel experience we will never forget!

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the Bay of Naples
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dswingsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The hotel was extremely responsive an well located. We wanted to go to Capri. A boat leaves from the dock when you exit the elevator from the rear of the hotel several times a day. It is a perfect day trip. The boat trip is only 30 minutes on a fast boat. The hotel restaurant was excellent and elegant and not over priced. Our suite was very large and decorated with antique furniture from the 19th century. The bathroom was almost the size of most standard hotel rooms. The view was special during the night ,as well as, during the day. December weather was a little brisk and damp, but the benefit was no crowds. The only vacationers we met were from Australia where it is summer vacation time.

Room Tip: Travel in early December when there are very few tourists and no crowds. We booked a standard suite, but were upgraded to a very large grand suite with a double balcony. That would not happen in the summer. There are many suites in this hotel. Read the reviews and look at the pictures. Call directly to the hotel and discuss them. No two rooms are alike.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review and comments.
It makes us so happy to receive such positive feedback and especially you appreciated restaurant and rooms, and we really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria soon!

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews