We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,529)
Filter reviews
1,529 results
Traveller rating
1,073
319
98
30
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,073
319
98
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtesy bus sea view bay of naples a la carte restaurant grand buffet brick wall superior room waiter service evening meal piano bar hotel bus pool area fantastic hotel roof terrace amazing views salad bar half board
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 1,529 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

We have just returned from a 14 night stay at the Grand Hotel President. It was not our first visit to Sorrento, but it was our first visit to this hotel – and when we return to Sorrento it will be to no other hotel. Our only regret was that we couldn’t stay longer!

We have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels across the world; but the superb quality of service we received at this hotel has made it stand out from other hotels we have visited and prompted us to write our first hotel review. From our first meeting with the reception team, to the housekeepers, shuttle bus driver, pool, bar and restaurant staff we were impressed with their friendliness and attentiveness – everybody greeted you with a smile and took the time to remember you. Indeed, what makes a hotel great, and memorable, is the interaction with the staff – we arrived as guests and on our departure left friends behind.

Set on the hillside the hotel is beautifully situated; it is very peaceful, with stunning views. However, when you want to venture further afield Sorrento is easily accessible due to the shuttle bus. The bus drops you close to the main square which is a short walk from the bus / train station where you can easily get to Pompeii, Positano, Ravello, Amalfi and Naples. We did not book any excursions as we prefer to visit places independently; the good public transport network made this possible and it was so much cheaper than organised excursions.

Tony, the shuttle bus driver, was most helpful, giving out maps and sweets during journeys down into Sorrento. One day, when we had decided to walk down before the first shuttle bus left at 8:30am, Tony rode passed us on his way to work. He came back a few minutes later and gave us a map to make sure that we didn’t get lost! Thank you!

The restaurant is of a very high standard and has a fabulous ambience. The level of service was outstanding and there was a wonderful rapport between the staff and guests which ensured a relaxing atmosphere in which to enjoy your meals.

The evening meal was excellent every night; we love Italian food so our expecatation was high but the quality and choice from the menus each evening did not dissappoint and catered for all tastes. The ‘at table service’ was fabulous and to sit outside and enjoy the most breathtaking views of Sorrento and Mount Vesuvius whilst enjoying such a first class meal was a highlight of our stay. Breakfast was equally good with a good choice of hot and cold food each day.

When we first arrived at the hotel it was late in the evening and we were pleasantly surprised to find that the restaurant had been kept open and we were able to enjoy a full waiter served meal, despite the time. We were not rushed and this was a fabulous start to our holiday and set the tone for the first class service we were to enjoy from the two Antonino’s and the restaurant staff during the rest of our stay.

Very special thanks go to Antonino Arma, the excellent Maître d'hotel, who personally greeted us with a smile at every meal time and whose friendly disposition made us feel so very welcome. We would personally like to thank him and his staff for making our visit so memorable and special; he runs a very well managed restaurant and he and his fabulous staff were so attentive and could not do enough for us. He is indeed the best Maître d'hotel we have met in any hotel. Antonino always ensured that we had an outside table for each meal, he remembered our preference for tea at breakfast and ensured it was served to our table whilst we were selecting our breakfast – and special desserts on birthdays and anniversaries were much appreciated. Professional, funny, attentive and welcoming, Antonino is outstanding in every respect and, in our opinion, the hotel’s greatest asset!

We had chosen a superior room and had decided not to pay the additional for a sea view. Having read other guests’ reviews we expected a room overlooking the car park, which is what we were rightfully allocated. The lack of a view while we slept did not concern us; when on holiday we spend very little time in our room and the panoramic views from the restaurant, pool and public areas were so fabulous that we enjoyed the views from there and decided we had made the right room choice. Housekeeping was excellent and, as avid tea drinkers, when we requested additional tea and milk this was dealt with immediately. Our room was very clean and provided enough storage space for both us and our daughter, something that has often been lacking in other hotels.

During our visit we met many return guests, and having spent two weeks here we can see why so many return. We will now be joining that group of return visitors. Thank you everybody for making our stay so special – your hotel is grand indeed and your staff are an absolute credit to you!

Karen, Paul and Natasha Yates

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KarenY1257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghpresidentSorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Dear Yates' family,

Many many thanks for this kind review!!!!

We're very happy to read you words and see that you had a very nice stay at Grand Hotel President and in Sorrento!

We try our best to let every guest feel welcomed and at ease and it seems we got to it!!!

We're glad you enjoyed night's meal into the magic atmosphere of Sorrento Gulf's landscape and made your own tours all around the area very easily...

What to add??

we can't wait to have the Yates back again!


Our kindest regards from sunny Sorrento,


GHP- Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

We had 3 rooms here to cater for our family of 6, they are exceptionally clean (thanks Maria!) and very comfortable.

The views across Sorrento bay from the roof bar terrace are outstanding, we just didn’t want to leave.

Food is of a high standard and served to you which we loved and there is also a grand buffet which was lovely.

The staff here make this holiday, the reception staff do not hesitate to help and please you (thank you for giving my daughter and boyfriend a beautiful room after my cheeky request!) and the restaurant staff have lovely personalities. All the staff want to ensure you enjoy your holiday.

There is a shuttle bus into Sorrento, or a 25 min walk downhill, but coming back is steep! Toni the driver was lovely, kind and engaging. Our only gripe was this bus service needs to be far more frequent and at times we struggled as no bus so we got a taxi once which was €35.

We visited Pompeii and Vesuvius ourselves, avoiding the high costs of TUI especially if you are family of 6! We used the train and bus service all of which was very easy and cheap! The tourist information office at the train station sorted us out. (€4.90 return from Sorrento to Pompeii!, at Pompeii it’s €15 an adult, €9 for 18 -24 year olds but passport (took photo of it) must be shown to prove age) and under 18s are free!

We also did a boat trip to the stunning Amalfi Coast and Positano and again we went to the harbour and arranged this ourselves for far cheaper than the organised TUI trip.

Thank you to all the staff for ensuring my family had a wonderful holiday and we will be back to this lovely, family feel, hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Hemming1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

The GHP is certainly a good hotel with no significant failings.

Stayed here as part of a tui package in a standard room.

My thoughts:

Yes the hotel is out of the way, so don't think it's a gentle stroll into Sorrento. The courtesy bus is fine and runs frequently.

Reception speak good English and are helpful, they helped me with a car hire issue promptly.

I booked a standard room so, it's a view of a car park or in our case, a wall on the 3rd floor. If you want sea views they are a supplement but I didn't bother. Room is ok, but dated in terms of decor. Everything worked ok. Clean. Minibar fridge small, not overly cold and air con not the most effective.oh and the room was a bit noisy as we were below the kitchen/ dining room. Sounds of running water, things being rolled on the floor etc but.....not a problem , still managed to sleep!!

Pool is small and yes, usual practice of hogging a sun longer with a towel!! Pools ok for a dip but it can get busy. Lovely solarium on the top floor with loungers and shades often empty.

Hotel quiet at night, not much in terms of entertainment. Good bar service at night, generous measures!

Staff are generally friendly , particularly the housekeepers, and speak good English. I know a bit of Italian but they will tend to speak English to you. Most guests were from the UK on tui packages when we stayed !!!

Food is fine. Breakfast is a mix of cereals, fruits, yogurts, cold meats and cheese, pastries etc. Generally fine, juice is concentrate from a machine. Tea and coffee is either a machine (douwe egberts) or waiter service but in 7 days we were not asked if we wanted tea or coffee brought to us. Didn't try hot food other than omelette from the egg station which was lovely. Dinner is self serve salads, deserts and waiter served mains, good choice and they will let you have a starter as a mains if you wish. Seems to be a good vegetarian choice. Impressed that at our first meal we were asked if we had any dietary restrictions.

Overall i don't have any major issues here and enjoyed the week.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghpresidentSorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review we're glad you had a pleasant and relaxing week in Sorrento.

If you found your room a bit noisy you couldn have asked to us and we'd managed something...

Overall it seems you enjoyed it all and would come back again.


Kind regards


GHP -Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

The hotel is around a mile outside the town on the cliffs overlooking the harbour. The rooms are simple, but nice and well maintained. We stayed half board, the breakfast is very good and the evening meal is fine. It is possible to swap the evening meal for a voucher to use in the poolside restaurant for lunch and eat in town.

There is a free bus to town which drops off and collects close to the centre. The pool area is quite small and can get crowded when the hotel is full.

Room Tip: As the hotel is halfway up a cliff side, only half of the rooms have a good view.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghpresidentSorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Danny,

Thanks a lot for reviewing us!

We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you back again in sorrento

Kind regards


GHP-Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

To the two Antoninos and Toni who looked after us in the hotel restaurant from the day we arrived, we wish we could have taken you home with us! For anyone considering a trip to Sorrento, please do take a chance on this hotel. The staff treat you like family (a family they love). My daughter is five and she was made to feel like a princess from start to finish. My husband and I were so grateful.

The staff make this place but the food is superb and the views of the bay of sorrento are to die for. I spent a week lounging by the pool thinking of ways to come back in October before the season ends.

And if you like a cheeky cocktail, we’ll they're excellent at making them too. Try their Long Island Ice tea or their Tom Collins.

A shuttle bus is on hand throughout the day and the driver is armed with sweets to keep the youngsters smiling for the ten minute journey.

This was my second stay here and the staff can rest assured we will be back.

If you are a good person who can appreciate the little things that kind people do to make something extra special - then this place is for you.

I’ve travelled the world but Grand President, Sorrento will always be my favourite holiday haven.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank pmcdade82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghpresidentSorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Guest,

So many thanks for the kindest and warmest words we can ever receive!

We're so glad to read how do you felt while staying here and that you do apprecciate all the little things we try to make everything perfect!!!!

We really thank you from our heart and look forward to have you and your 'princess' here soon.

Our warmest regards

GHP-Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews