We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Five star view from a four star hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Five star view from a four star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Based on me and my wife's experience I was a little bemused by the small number of terrible/poor reviews of the Bristol Hotel on here, although I accept that you judge a cake by the slice you eat, so to speak. However, they all seem to be 2009 and before, so perhaps the hotel has had a recent facelift and customer service improvement. Certainly, we had a great time at the Bristol and could not fault our bedroom on the fifth floor or the unfailing attention and helpfulness of the staff. Added to which, as others have commented, the view over the Bay of Naples from our room and the restaurant is just stunning - how could you ever tire of it?

We slept well and were not disturbed by traffic noise, so I'd say anything on the fifth floor and above would be ok in this respect, though the road might get a lot busier, and noisier, in the height of the summer (we went in April). We're in our 60's and found the fifteen minute walk into, and back from, the centre of Sorrento no problem at all. You do need to be careful of traffic, though, where the pavement narrows considerably.

We went half board, and, considering that the hotel is catering for large numbers who all tend to dive down for dinner just after 7pm (perhaps to grab a window table) the food was about what we expected. Some nights were better than others and seemed to improve as the week went on. There were occasions when some of the food was lukewarm and they seem to have a chef who boils vegetables to death. Overall, I thought the fish dishes were better than the meat dishes. It would have been nice to finish off dinner with a cup of coffee, but I guess they want you to transfer to the bar to buy one there. The restaurant service was impeccable at dinner, and at breakfast where the food was wide ranging and plentiful.

The pool wasn't open when we stayed and it was pretty quiet in the bar and lounge all week, but will probably be busier as the season gets under way.

Overall, a most enjoyable stay at the Bristol. Not, perhaps, quite five star, but that view.....!

Room Tip: The higher the better to appreciate the gorgeous view and hear less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,745
    382
    101
    26
    10
See reviews for
376
1,411
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Hotel Bristol looks like an old European hotel, but has all of the modern conveniences ... with the only exception being that there's no wi-fi in the room. However, you'll hardly be on the net as there are so many things to see and do whilst in Sorrento.

Here are some tips from our stay:
1. If you have the means, upgrade to a room with a sea view and balcony. We stayed in room 908 which had a stunning view of the sea and Mt Vesuvius was across the way - AMAZING! We had a small table and 2 chairs so we sat on the balcony to soak in the views and the sun :)
2. The room is nice and cool with tiled floors. Tiled floors are great to walk on after a long day walking around town, but as all the rooms have tiled floors, noise will carry. The walls are fairly thin as we heard our neighbours on either side. Another tip: Try and get a room on the higher levels as the lower levels will face onto the main road.
3. The food in the hotel is nice, but try and head to town for a bite to eat. The concierge recommended La Fenice as it was close, and it was ok. We splashed out and dined at Il Buco one night which was absolutely divine!!! If you do eat at the hotel, try their fried prawns and calamari - it was delicious!!!
4. Getting to town takes about 15 minutes to walk which is fine. Getting a cab from town to the hotel costs between €20-25 so don't forget to pack comfortable walking shoes!
5. The service is old school European so be sure to bring change for tips. We went through quite a few €5 notes on tips alone! Although the front desk staff are nice, we found some of their recommendations underwhelming such as their recommendations for places to eat. We did our research online and found some nice places in the end.
6. The hotel can organise return transfers from Naples airport which cost us €80 for the two of us each way. Getting driven in a Lancia and a Mercedes Benz was quite the experience - we felt like rock stars :)

The one major downer on our holiday was using their jacuzzi. They have an indoor jacuzzi which you can book exclusively for €15 for 30 minutes. The jacuzzi itself was great, but they have a tiled corridor that has a few steps that you need to walk up in order to take a shower. Those stairs need a railing as the tiles are very slippery when wet. I fell on top of the stairs and am now sporting a big bruise on my upper thigh and hip. My fall could've been worse as I almost hit my head! It's dangerous without a railing. Thankfully, when we reported it to the front desk, we asked for a bag of ice which they brought straightaway.

It was a great way to spend the Easter holidays and we'd love to come back to Sorrento and stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view and balcony as the views over the bay and Mt Vesuvius are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have now visited Sorrento twice, once on holiday with my wife and on this occasion to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. My glowing review of the Tramontano is also on Trip Advisor but I am glad to say that the Bristol is also a very good hotel and I offer the following conclusions:

The Bristol is a really good option and is to be particularly commended for the comfort of its public spaces and the courtesy of the staff. Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable although we did encounter some noise from the road that runs below. On this occasion we were visiting Sorrento with extended family some of whom do not enjoy eating out that much so the half board option was welcome. Indeed, I would argue that the quality of the food was actually better than at the Tramontano.

If you feel torn between the Tramontano and the Bristol then the first thing to note is that both are excellent options but these questions might help you reach a decision.

1. Do you want to eat out in the evenings or eat in the hotel? If half board is your preferred option then the Bristol probably wins both on quality and cost. The central location of the Tramontano, on the other hand, gives you some excellent eating opportunities within 2 minutes' walk (the Bristol is a 10 minute fairly easy stroll from the town centre and whilst the return journey is uphill, it is not too arduous for most people).

2. How much does TV matter? I had the misfortune to be ill for several days on my most recent trip to Sorrento which meant more time in my room than I would have liked. I recall at the Tramontano we had a range of channels offering mindless cop shows in English which were quite welcome for an hour or two when escaping the heat of the day (we were there in August). By contrast, all but a couple of news channels were in Italian at the Bristol and the reception on these was so bad that we couldn't watch them anyway which meant no TV for the week. Whilst television is not what you go on holiday for, it would have been nice to have had a little.

3. Sea view or access to the sea? Most of the rooms at the Bristol have sea views but I understand a smaller proportion offer these at the Tramontano. That said you can get to the sea via the lift in the Tramontano and if you do have a sea view you will be spared the road noise that is a slight issue on the first four floors of the Bristol.

In the end, it may come down to cost but broadly speaking I would assert that the Bristol is an excellent place for family groups and the Tramontano is the romantic getaway for couples which means we got it right both times.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be better as they are further from the road. if you can, get rooms on floors 5 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevtherev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

we went here for a week, in july 2011 for a friends wedding, it was a beautiful, clean hotel, a very classy place, ive been told this is the best hotel in italy, we went half board, the drinks and the pool bar were so expensive, we went to a local supermarket and stocked up on water and drinks, lemoncello the drink of italy is so cheap in the supermarkets! the only thing that didnt make it perfect was the food, for breakfast you had to request bacon and eggs, and getting hold of them was sometimes tricky, or just ceral, and i was hoping for lots of pasta and pizza for dinner but there wasnt much of that at all. but all in all a wonderful holiday, and wedding for my friend who also stayed in the bristol hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkPoppy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here for one week at the end of March 2012. We travelled with a 6 month old baby and nothing more could have been done for us. Room service when required was at a very reasonable rate and the hotel throughout was impeccably clean. The location is absolutely perfect. Most stunning views and 5-10 minute walk (with a buggy!) into the centre. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brummiechick20112309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Most pleasant hotel experience ever - from the gorgeous views to the staff. Every staff member was unfailingly friendly and polite - a total attitude of "anything to please the guest" seemed to reign supreme here. The location is terrific - an easy walk into town or you can catch the bus right outside the hotel for 1 euro ride into main square. We stayed here the first 2 nights of a two-week auto trip that took us completely around the heel and spur of Italy, then back across to Sorrento. We liked this hotel so much that we rearranged our schedule to return for a 3-day end-of-our-journey relaxation reward. We ate every night in the hotel as the food was excellent and well-priced. One night they even had entertainment in the form of a mandolin player/singer. Wonderful! The stunning views, friendliness of the staff and overall cleanliness make this hotel worth a repeat experience. A special mention has to be made of Matteo, who is in charge of the restaurant, and just happens to be one of the nicest, friendliest people we have ever met. He made dining there a real experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

It is a very wonderful hotel.
The staff is very kind and very wonderful.
The room is large and beautiful and nice view.
It is comfortable.
We did not want to leave here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jiji907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
0.1 km away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
1.0 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing