We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Aminta
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$463
US$427
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$455
US$441
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$487
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$330
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$216
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$565
US$461
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$465
US$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$484
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,000
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,407)
Filter reviews
3,407 results
Traveller rating
2,230
904
232
33
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,230
904
232
33
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busbay of naplesevery hourlovely hotelattic roomalways on timestunning viewsthe main hotelhalf boardriviera travelbus servicereception stafftown centretakes about minutesgala nightmount vesuviusevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
2,302 - 2,307 of 3,407 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My mother and I stayed here in April 2011. The hotel was hard to find. The driveway navigating the front entrance with our car was very tight, so be careful.,ended up scratching our car. The lobby was beautiful and we were greeted by a very gracious woman at the lobby desk every morning who was more than helpful and with a great attitude .. The rooms were spacious, clean and had a great view. It was nice sitting on the balcony sipping a glass of wine. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious. It was off season so the hotel was quiet. The breakfast was delicious but the cappuccino was not , we then asked for regular coffee which was worse. The staff here was excellent. The dining room impressive.
It was confusing as to where to take the bus to go into town so we ended walking down a long winding alley way, it was quite pleasant actually. It is close to town . The hotel is nestled in groves on top of a hill with Mt. Vesuvius in the distance. We really enjoyed our visit here. it was also enroute to possitano which was great for us to visit during the day. The gracious woman at the desk gave us great directions.
I would stay here again. Great Hotel and great staff. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank venusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at the Aminta. It is always nice to hear from guests who have enjoyed their holiday with us. The free shuttle service runs hourly throughout the day, it is actually quite easy to catch the bus, the stop is directly in front of the hotel. The path to walk down is also a pleasant way to reach the town center. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Aminta soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Tried to get connected to the WIFI for 3 days and was told by front desk that my laptop was the problem, later discovered that the hotel provided password was misspelled!
Parking is a very difficult proposition. However the Dining room staff are EXCELLENT!
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have windows that open, however dogs bark and chickens crow all night.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pat0046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay at the Aminta. Regarding the wi-fi problem, we apologize for the misunderstanding. The Aminta offers wi-fi completely free to all guests, the username and password are the guest's last name and the room number, unfortunately there was an error in inserting your last name to set up your account. Parking is also free to guests, we usually do not have any problems regarding parking space. We are pleased to hear that you found the dining room staff helpful, and it always nice to hear when our clients are happy to return. Thanks again and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The Aminta is perched above Sorrento in a beautiful location, but that does mean it's a long way from everything, and we would not recommend eating here in the evening- the food is disappointing in an area with such a vibrant cuisine.There is a shuttle bus, but we walked into town every morning down a lovely zig-zag town lane- a beautiful walk affording brilliant views - into town it's all downhill, but the way back up-hill in the dark is not so much fun!
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, but really the hotel does not quite live up to its 4 star rating. The rooms are adequate but un-inspiring, with a dated 80's feel and tiny TV in an impossibly high position. And this was in an upgraded room, which was a very kind gesture by the booking desk. The basic rooms I imagine should be avoided if at all possible. Oh and obviously this is not the hotel's fault but there is a cockerel, or 5, whose all-night cocka-doodle-doing make sleep impossible- take ear-plugs!

Room Tip: Try to get an up-graded room, esp with a Sorrento Bay view
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jojojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed for 10 days in September 2011. The good reviews on here were one reason to choose this hotel. What we found was:

Room: Small and pokey (number 210). Hardly enough space to walk around the bed and very little wardrobe space for 2 people staying for a week. The mattress was very thin and we could feel the springs through the bedding. We had to ask for a second mattress on top and that helped. There was a minibar, and they charged you if you put your own bottle of water in it to cool it. How petty can you get?

Bathroom: Again small, but also stained and dirty ceramic of the basin and bath. The bath had old hairs from a previous guest still stuck to it as a welcome present!

Food: Dinners were OK, but no fresh fish in a coastal town! Breakfast was the same spread every day which becomes really boring by day 5! The coffee was strangely powdery. When you compare the really lovely Italian coffee available in the cafe's in town it was inexplicable why the hotel served rubbish stuff.

Pool area: Good layout and relaxing area. I wish they did not charge for sun loungers and towels!! Very petty.

Location: If this is your first time in Sorrento, stay closer to town. Yes they have a shuttle bus, but the driver takes a siesta and a long dinner break which makes it quite restrictive to plan activities. Staying closer to town in much preferable.

Over all: I would not recommend this place. There are lots of better located and better value places in Sorrento. Avoid this one!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DocWhoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Guest, we took a while in responding to your review because we wanted to look into the problem with detail. We did not find any record of complaint regarding your problems during your stay. It is useless to write negative comments now, when at the moment of your holiday you could have come to the reception with your issues and we would have done our best to accommodate you requests. Just to clarify one other issue your room number was 216 not 210, which has been completely refurbished this winter. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Aug 2011 and had a great time. The hotel staff were very helpful, the facilities were great and we would definitely go back. Sorrento was lovely and the hotel was a 15min walk down hill to the town. The shuttle bus was helpful when getting back up the hill. The views from the hotel were amazing and well worth staying a short way up from the town. The poolside bar was open in the evening and really pleasant after coming back from having dinner in town. We would thoroughly reccommend the hotel. Do note that if you get a taxi from the airport to the hotel either book it in advace with the hotel or check its no more than 80 euros as some taxis charge what they like. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your very enthusiastic review regarding your stay at the Aminta. It is always nice to hear from our guests, and we appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews