We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Grand Aminta is a superb hotel in every way. We had a fabulous stay, the views are terrific, ALL the staff were so friendly and helpful, dining a real pleasure and the free shuttle bus, which runs from the hotel to the centre of Sorrento on the hour and returns at half past the hour until 11.30 pm was brilliant. We would recommend staying at this hotel at any time of the year but our New Year stay was extra special! We definitely intend to re-visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for posting such a complimentary review regarding your stay at the Aminta. It is always such a pleasure to hear from happy clients. New Year's Eve is a magical time in Sorrento and the Aminta does its best to celebrate the ringing of the new year with a great gala dinner with live music, dancing and fireworks. We hope to welcome you back to the Aminta in the future. Thank you and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,874
    786
    205
    31
    8
See reviews for
615
1,612
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My mother and I stayed here in April 2011. The hotel was hard to find. The driveway navigating the front entrance with our car was very tight, so be careful.,ended up scratching our car. The lobby was beautiful and we were greeted by a very gracious woman at the lobby desk every morning who was more than helpful and with a great attitude .. The rooms were spacious, clean and had a great view. It was nice sitting on the balcony sipping a glass of wine. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious. It was off season so the hotel was quiet. The breakfast was delicious but the cappuccino was not , we then asked for regular coffee which was worse. The staff here was excellent. The dining room impressive.
It was confusing as to where to take the bus to go into town so we ended walking down a long winding alley way, it was quite pleasant actually. It is close to town . The hotel is nestled in groves on top of a hill with Mt. Vesuvius in the distance. We really enjoyed our visit here. it was also enroute to possitano which was great for us to visit during the day. The gracious woman at the desk gave us great directions.
I would stay here again. Great Hotel and great staff. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank venusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at the Aminta. It is always nice to hear from guests who have enjoyed their holiday with us. The free shuttle service runs hourly throughout the day, it is actually quite easy to catch the bus, the stop is directly in front of the hotel. The path to walk down is also a pleasant way to reach the town center. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Aminta soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Tried to get connected to the WIFI for 3 days and was told by front desk that my laptop was the problem, later discovered that the hotel provided password was misspelled!
Parking is a very difficult proposition. However the Dining room staff are EXCELLENT!
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have windows that open, however dogs bark and chickens crow all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pat0046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay at the Aminta. Regarding the wi-fi problem, we apologize for the misunderstanding. The Aminta offers wi-fi completely free to all guests, the username and password are the guest's last name and the room number, unfortunately there was an error in inserting your last name to set up your account. Parking is also free to guests, we usually do not have any problems regarding parking space. We are pleased to hear that you found the dining room staff helpful, and it always nice to hear when our clients are happy to return. Thanks again and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The Aminta is perched above Sorrento in a beautiful location, but that does mean it's a long way from everything, and we would not recommend eating here in the evening- the food is disappointing in an area with such a vibrant cuisine.There is a shuttle bus, but we walked into town every morning down a lovely zig-zag town lane- a beautiful walk affording brilliant views - into town it's all downhill, but the way back up-hill in the dark is not so much fun!
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, but really the hotel does not quite live up to its 4 star rating. The rooms are adequate but un-inspiring, with a dated 80's feel and tiny TV in an impossibly high position. And this was in an upgraded room, which was a very kind gesture by the booking desk. The basic rooms I imagine should be avoided if at all possible. Oh and obviously this is not the hotel's fault but there is a cockerel, or 5, whose all-night cocka-doodle-doing make sleep impossible- take ear-plugs!

Room Tip: Try to get an up-graded room, esp with a Sorrento Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jojojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed for 10 days in September 2011. The good reviews on here were one reason to choose this hotel. What we found was:

Room: Small and pokey (number 210). Hardly enough space to walk around the bed and very little wardrobe space for 2 people staying for a week. The mattress was very thin and we could feel the springs through the bedding. We had to ask for a second mattress on top and that helped. There was a minibar, and they charged you if you put your own bottle of water in it to cool it. How petty can you get?

Bathroom: Again small, but also stained and dirty ceramic of the basin and bath. The bath had old hairs from a previous guest still stuck to it as a welcome present!

Food: Dinners were OK, but no fresh fish in a coastal town! Breakfast was the same spread every day which becomes really boring by day 5! The coffee was strangely powdery. When you compare the really lovely Italian coffee available in the cafe's in town it was inexplicable why the hotel served rubbish stuff.

Pool area: Good layout and relaxing area. I wish they did not charge for sun loungers and towels!! Very petty.

Location: If this is your first time in Sorrento, stay closer to town. Yes they have a shuttle bus, but the driver takes a siesta and a long dinner break which makes it quite restrictive to plan activities. Staying closer to town in much preferable.

Over all: I would not recommend this place. There are lots of better located and better value places in Sorrento. Avoid this one!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DocWhoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest, we took a while in responding to your review because we wanted to look into the problem with detail. We did not find any record of complaint regarding your problems during your stay. It is useless to write negative comments now, when at the moment of your holiday you could have come to the reception with your issues and we would have done our best to accommodate you requests. Just to clarify one other issue your room number was 216 not 210, which has been completely refurbished this winter. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel Aug 2011 and had a great time. The hotel staff were very helpful, the facilities were great and we would definitely go back. Sorrento was lovely and the hotel was a 15min walk down hill to the town. The shuttle bus was helpful when getting back up the hill. The views from the hotel were amazing and well worth staying a short way up from the town. The poolside bar was open in the evening and really pleasant after coming back from having dinner in town. We would thoroughly reccommend the hotel. Do note that if you get a taxi from the airport to the hotel either book it in advace with the hotel or check its no more than 80 euros as some taxis charge what they like. Great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your very enthusiastic review regarding your stay at the Aminta. It is always nice to hear from our guests, and we appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We hadn't been to Sorrento before and had a fantastic time, much enhanced by the hospitality offered by the Aminta. It's one of the best hotels we've stayed in, with a superb view over the bay of Naples and Sorrento town. Although a little way out of town it was easy to reach Sorrento via the regular free hotel bus service, or on foot by using a lane which avoids most of the traffic. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food, service, cleanliness and quality of our room were excellent. Entertainment was good. We didn't use the pool, but it looked fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for posting your very kind review regarding your stay at the Aminta. It is always a pleasure to hear from our satisfied clients. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Aminta in the near future. Hapy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
1.7 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
0.6 km away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.7 km away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing