We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Villa Maria, Sorrento, Italy”
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #74 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel is rated 3 stars and this is probably right. It's plus points are it's in excellent location, near shops, bars, restaurants, buses, car hire. Although some rooms face main road, those facing the pool or face side road are very quiet and you can't hear any traffic at all. Whatever you do - do NOT under any circumstances book to stay in the "annex" we did - it was awful. It smelt damp and moudly and I would have walked out there and then and gone somewhere else if I thought we could have got in somewhere and that we'd have to pay again. We agreed to stay in this room for the first night only as they were fully booked, but insisted they move us the next morning, which they did. The reception staff varied considerably - some were so helpful and friendly but the two people on duty when we arrived conveniently made out they didn't understand what I was saying about the room, seemed to not care anyway and only moved us because I stuck to my guns. The room they moved us to in the main hotel itself was fine - far better with proper towels, fittings and fixtures, toiletries etc which were not supplied in the original room. Had we been given this first we would have been quite happy. The breakfasts were boring, repetitive and limited in choice and we were glad we were only staying the week. We did however use the services of Viator for personal transfers to and from the airport,which I booked on-line separately here in England and this was perfect. The driver was waiting for us at the airport, helped take our bags to the Mercedes car and we then had a very comfortable, hassle free journey both ways. The driver on the way back was very pleasant and informative about the area in general and we learn't so much on our trip back to the airport that the journey passed very quickly. Because my boyfriend suffers from travel sickness and with Sorrento being an hour's drive from Naples airport, this was well worth the money, which wasn't expensive at all and I'd do this again quite happily and would thoroughly recommend this company to anyone else. Sorrento itself was beautiful, having been there 5 times now over the last 17 years I think you can take it from us that it's a great place to go but not for children I would say, more for adults and that if you are staying for any length of time look for a hotel with a pool to cool off in if you can. Look out for La Lanterna and Parruchianno restaurants both were my favourites.

Room Tip: Never, never, never book a room in the annex. There are lifts in main hotel so all floors are access...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

The Villa Maria is close to the town centre but our room was at the back and untroublede by street noise. The room was comfortable and had a small courtyard for our exclusive use though the limited lighting (there was a light but it was only two feet from the ground) made it unsuitable for use in the evening. Nice features were the pool and the wonderful views from the roof (6th Floor) reached by lift. The best feature was the friendly and helpful staff. Food was varied and well cooked though the choice of desserts was very limited. The seating system meant that we shared tables and met a wide range of the other hotel users. During our week there most residents were travelling with Riviera Tours but there were individual families staying too. I would be very happy to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If choosing a sea view ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor - lower floors look toward the sea but...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilfracomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed here end of August/early Sept 2011 on a tour organised by Riviera Travel. We found this 3 star hotel to be clean and friendly. Because of the smallish dining room, we were 'organised' by the head waiter in that we were placed with others on the same table. This enabled us to get to know most of our tavelling companions very quickly. The evening meals were very good and the service excellent. Breakfasts, however, left a lot to be desired. We chose this hotel because of it's central location and it proved to be a good choice. Bedrooms were very basic and some had little or no view at all. To us, this did not matter as you only use the bedroom to sleep in!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Just back from a tour of Sorrento with Riviera. This hotel is ideally placed in the centre of Sorrento ideal for walking and sightseeing of the area. The hotel is quite basic but very clean and evening meals very enjoyable. Breakfasts were very basic with not a lot of choice and too many sweet choices! The sunroof was good with magnificent views across the bay but some of the sun loungers could do with replacing! The staff were very pleasant and attended to any requests. Some of the rooms have balconies and patios but unfortunately ours didn't which would have been an added bonus as the temperature was very hot and humid and would have been nice to be able to sit out late evening and enjoy a drink! Overall a good base for touring but no luxuries!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony/patio room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GloucesterGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Centrally located. Room and shower room spotlessly clean; daily change of towels. No sea view.
Pool and pool bar excellent for cleanlieness, drinks and snacks.
Maitre D' rules with rod of iron in the dining room but he has to deal with large tour parties.......OK for me as I met lots of people at different tables; but would not suit everyone.
Food is adequate; not fine dining but OK. Lack of fresh fruit on menu, considering it is available everywhere.
Staff generally very helpful and a good mid range hotel for "Riviera Travel" tour which was hectic but excellent!
Cheap and cheerful........good value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Hotel is used by Riviera, a British group holiday specialist. It's well worth its 3-star rating. The roof-top pool is essential during the hottest periods. Because the dining room has a low ceiling and marble floor it can become quite noisy when full. For the Riviera clients (and perhaps for others, too) the practice of filling tables in sequence might seem disturbing but it does provide the opportunity to meet new people. Realisticlly, it's the only way to ensure efficient service to a full room in a short space of time. Breakfast is perfectly adequate so long as you don't want toast. Remember: you're on the Continent now! Drinks at the bar and in the dining room are on the pricey side. Beware: payments at the end of the stay have to be in Euro CASH as they will not accept payment by debit or credit card. Rooms have TV with BBC World. Room cleaning is excellent.

The hotel is well situated just off the main road Corsa Italia. It's near all the main attractions. Reception staff are a bit glum but you don't have to deal with them very often.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrMartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

just at the edge of the main centre this Hotel is perfect for getting about seeing and doing everything there is to offer in this area the staff are so very helpful have seen varied reviews about this Hotel but I found it really perfect for what I wanted.

Room Tip: mine was fine!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janemoxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 km away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,366 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
2.1 km away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,119 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Address: Via Capo 8, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $122 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel Sorrento
Maria Villa Sorrento
Villa Maria Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing