We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a 2-star”
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #82 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 14 November 2011

If you remember this is a 2 star hotel, you won't be disappointed. The rooms are in an apartment building and it's like staying in a college dorm room. It is good basic accommodations. The people are nice. I'm not sure why everyone is raving about the breakfast. They cook fresh eggs and pancakes, but everything else is OK. While the hotel is OK, the restaurant the owner has recently opened is great! Be sure and ask about it. The location is good and the cost is good for this very expensive city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB6CAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

Rooms were clean and efficient. Staff and Manager were wonderful and helpful. Great pancakes. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on small side but what you would expect from a city hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Not your usual hotel. The Savarese family owns this and they are very helpful, friendly, and hard working. The check-in desk and breakfast room are next door to the actual guest rooms. It's like staying in an apartment building. Your key opens the front door, then the hall door, and finally, your room door, so I felt secure. There is a tiny elevator (like one we used in a hotel in Rome) but we just used the stairs. The air conditioning and lights turn on when you insert your key in the slot inside the room. Our room had a balcony, which I loved to feel the fresh air. Next door is a small grocery store, so the day we arrived, we bought sandwiches and wine and ate on our balcony ! The next day, we bought a bottle of wine there, and they even chilled it for us, and opened it ! The room was average size for Europe, which is smaller than U.S. hotel rooms. Clean, functional, and comfortable. We appreciated the plentiful breakfast. The server also asked if we would like eggs or pancakes in addition to the tables of baked goods, fruit, juice, meat and cheese. The biggest advantage is the location: quiet, but a few minutes walk from the train, and a few minutes walk to the center of Sorrento. Also, dine at the owner’s restaurant, ReFood. He will greet you warmly, and the food is great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemermaid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Hotel Savoia is a nice hotel, the people that work there are very helpful and I always love staying in a hotel in a foreign country that is not a chain like a Hilton or Best Western but rather owned by locals.
When we checked in and started getting settled in our room we notice a very foul smell, plumbing and called the front desk. They immediately moved us to another room, no questions asked and we were happy because this one had a balcony. The room was cleaned and the towels were changed every day. The continental breakfast was good. We did not have a refrigerator/mini bar in our room but I don't think they advertise this as an ammenity.
I really picked Hotel Savoia because of it's location and reasonable price. Our room was on the street side and I did not find the street noise to be a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKraySammamish_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked this hotel after reading all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The staff were all hard working and friendly. The room we stayed in was next door in a block of flats which gave us the feeling of living like a native. The rooms were spotless and towels changed every day. The beds were very comfortable. I prefer a bed on the firm side rather than a soft one. No problem using the lift but we used the stairs which were no problem as we were on the second floor. The room we were in had a balcony which meant we could people watch the street below. There was some traffic on the road but it was quiet at night and did not cause any problems. We slept sound until 9.30am the first morning.
The breakfast was excellent - cereals, fresh fruit, cakes, bread, ham, chesse, juice. You could also have a boiled or fried egg and also the famous Hotel Savoia pancake. The pancakes were delicious as was the coffee.
We had no problem finding the hotel as I had looked for its location on Google Earth. It is within walking distance from the train station where buses arrive regularly throughout the day from Naples Airport. The hotel is just a five minute walk from the square.
We were very satisfied with our accommodation and when we return to Sorrento we will certainly stay in Hotel Savoia.

Room Tip: We had room 21 in Hotel Savoia which faced the front with a balcony. If you dont like traffic ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnydays365393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel, as has been mentioned by other people, is part of an apartment block. There is no swimming pool, 24 hour room service etc that you would get at a large hotel but it does not suffer for this. The room we had was a good size, the cupboards were fine, the bathroom (with toilet, basin, shower etc) was fine. Importantly, it was all perfectly clean and fresh. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and there was enough variety to make it interesting each morning. If I was forced to make a suggestion (not a criticism) it would be to have a small bar fridge in the room (it was very hot in Sorrento!).
Now the best part...the location! We met another couple who said that they were staying in a fantastic hotel but had to walk a very long distance to get into town. Well, no problem with the Savoia. It was a very short walk down to the main centre of the town which was fantastic at night. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for your stay in Sorrento. If every I am back there, I will certainly stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadioMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Do not trust these hoteliers...they were not truthful with us when we were checking in...they told us they were having plumbing problems & had no water. The owner told us he would move us to another "nice" hotel just around the corner & would move us back the following day for our remaining two night stay.
We met other travelers that were staying at Hotel Savoia that night & they were experiencing no problems with the plumbing. One customer told us the hotel had over-booked for that particular evening. This would not have been so bad, except for the fact that we had confirmed reservations (booked 6 months in advance).

We were moved to the Crystal Palace & believe me, this was NO palace!!! This hotel DID NOT have air-conditioning. We originally booked Hotel Savoia because it was advertised as having air-conditioning & in September air-conditioning was much needed!!! This hotel is located on a very busy street with LOTS of street noise & an infestation of ants...needless to say, we did not sleep at all the first night.

The second night we were moved back to the originally booked Hotel Savoia without a word of apology for the inconvenience, or even an offer of a free bottle of wine!!!

I will NEVER stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1 km away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
1.3 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,314 reviews
0.4 km away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,058 reviews
0.9 km away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,403 reviews
1.5 km away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Fuori Mura 46, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $93 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing