We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Nearby Hotels
La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
US$308
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$507
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$424
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$494
US$462
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$543
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$858
US$832
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,358/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$291
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$890
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,663)
Filter reviews
2,663 results
Traveller rating
1,736
635
178
68
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,736
635
178
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascading poolshalf boardsea viewbay of naplespool arealovely hotelour honeymoonpoolside restaurantevening mealthe cliffamazing viewsplenty of sunbedspublic areasmount vesuviustown centrewithin easy walking distancefew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,855 - 1,860 of 2,663 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Capodimonte and had a wonderful time. Plus points; lovely decor, clean comfy rooms, friendly and helpful staff, good location and views, super breakfast, amazing pool area (although sadly didn't get to use it because of the rain!!) minus points, if any, restaurant expensive so we didn't bother eating there :) a few people have mentioned the main road in reviews but we didn't have any trouble crossing at all.. just watch out as you would do crossing any road!! ..and remember in Italy they drive on the other side!! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to people of all ages either for a city break or a sun holiday, I'd love to go back but maybe a bit nearer summer next time :)

Room Tip: We got a 'classic room with internal view balcony' - as we were low down it basically meant looking onto the bottom of the cliff garden.. so basically a wall!! Nothing unpleasant about it, but would rather have paid for a standard room and just had no balcony! :)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We arrived start of season. Everything was first class from front door to leaving a week later. Staff were fabulous fun and great with any younger children. We travelled as a couple. Views from restaurant over breakfast WOW!!! Beautiful romantic views from every terrace. Our favourite we dubbed Wisteria Terrace. The food was fabulous, breakfast was awesome particularly. We stayed half board. Only niggle would b cappucinos were pricey, but we found two excellent espresso bars... One just down hill from hotel and bar frisbee by rail station. Pool was cold so did t use but it was clean and inviting. Sorrento is beautiful and a great base for trips to Capri,pompeii etc. transport incredibly easy to use. We can't wait to return next year !! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudiadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel along with my husband and two teenage daughters in April 2012. Although expensive, it is one of the nicest hotels we have been to. The weather on the first day was hot and sunny so we were able to take advantage of the beautiful poolside restaurant overlooking the bay. Unfortunately, it rained for the rest of our stay but we we still able to enjoy the amazing views from the restaurant. The service and quality of food in the restaurant was excellent. We paid extra to have rooms overlooking the sea which was well worth while as the views are wonderful. The standard of decoration throughout the hotel was excellent - everything was recently decorated in a tasteful, traditional style.

Room Tip: Pay extra to reserve a sea view room. The hotel gave us adjoining rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a friends wedding in April, the weather was inconsistent as one minute it was lovely and sunny then raining hard. To be expected though at this time of year.
The hotel is based slightly out of the main town but it was a five minute walk and you were in the main street. The views from the pool area and dining room were stunning as they look out over the town/bay/Mt Vesuvius. Our room views were nice but slightly obscured by other parts of the hotel complex, luck of the draw perhaps on that one.
Food is really good, wide choice of dishes to suit all. Advice is to double up on starters and have one as a starter and one as a main as they were more exciting at times than sticking to the usual coursing. Breakfast is really good loads of choice, omelettes made to order, hot and cold section, European breakfast element and also tomato sauce ! Fill up as food is expensive wherever you go and if your half board or B&B make the most of it.
Service and all staff we met were helpful and prompt with any requests. Wouldn't say there was too much to entertain kids at the hotel more of a couple/adult vibe.

Things to do when there:

Sorrento - amazing little streets, just wander around and you will stumble across so much. Sit in the main piazza and people watch with a beer in hand.

Bars - Blu water sells massive beers really nice food and also football live !

English Inn - sounds like one to steer clear but nice, great to sit outside having drinks either in their garden area or on the cobbled main street.

Any on the main piazza are nice. Baguettes club/bar is good for music and drinks and it has a pole.....just off the main piazza don't steep stairs. Night before the wedding was spent in there more lively than others we visited.

Capri was a great day out, 30 min ferry over and then a wander around all the boutique shops - window shopping in all reality. Expensive though, €20 a salad do be aware!

Everywhere is expensive €5 a beer, €10 for a sandwich....ect. The hotel charges drinks and food to your room so it can start stacking up!

All in all lovely trip based from a great hotel which is one of theist beautiful I have ever stayed in !

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupertetilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The price we paid for this hotel which included food was exceptionally good. The service was excellent and the communal areas beautiful.

The rooms have good bathrooms with excellent hot water- bath/ shower facilities and clean. However the bed we had was dreadful (I don't suffer from any sleep problems and am not at all fussy. See other reviews if you don't believe) twin beds pushed together and not only that rock hard and very old. The bed linens and were itchy and old fashioned and the pillows useless.

We left our room unoccupied for two nights to stay on Capri and these were the only two nights sleep I had. The other guests seemed to do a lot of clunking about and dragging furniture around which disturbed us all of the time.

I don't think I would do another package holiday as the other guests were more typical 'Brits on tour' which I hate.

The prices here were excellent and the drink costs very very cheap. Don't listen to people who say they were expensive I think it's because of the type of people package holidays attract.

We did our own excursions taking the train to Herculaneum and the boat ourselves to Capri. This was very easy and I can't imagine why people would want to be herded about in groups of coach tours.

Location of hotel excellent, right on he edge of the town which is beautiful and local food/ drinks very cheap and delicious.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews