We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for families” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not for families”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I am aware that I am giving a 'thumbs down' to a popular hotel, so let me start off with the principal reason why. We visited with our baby at the end of May 2012 and had a horrid start. Despite booking a room for two adults and a baby, then getting confirmation that we'd have a cot, we turned up and there was no cot. When we asked for one the hotel told us it was £18 per day. Ouch. We had booked through Thomas Cook who responded well to try to help but the hotel's management were totally uninterested. To resolve this, we wandered through Sorrento until we found shop selling baby equipment (Io Bimbo) and bought a travel cot. Nightmare start.

Whilst the management's approach to our baby was poor, the waiters and cleaners were superb. Friendly, attentive and lovely. Everything you'd expect from Italy.

There is plenty to commend about the hotel. It is superbly positioned for views and Corso Italia (the busiest road). The pool area was lovely. It was very clean. As mentioned, most staff were good. The lunches were good and the occasional dish was excellent.

Beyond the main cot grumble I would add that the pool was very nippy in May and so few people went in (could have been heated). The breakfasts (much raved about here) were fine but no more. The evening meals were nice but it was odd to have food arrive on plates covered by cloches, only to have the 'big reveal' to uncover a plate of chips! I also would expect a fitness room (others like the Bristol next door, do have one).

We spoke to other guests who were rebuffed when they felt their room did not meet the booking. Again, it seems that the management were uninterested.

Overall, if you're heading there next week and you like the room that you're given and don't have kids, then you should enjoy it. However, if you want the management to respond to you then you may be disappointed. That may be fine for a tupenny B&B, but it isn't for an expensive four star hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view are truly stunning.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank maneatshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    527
    151
    66
    42
See reviews for
430
1,334
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have just returned from Sorrento after celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary last week and have to say the hotel, staff, service and views were outstanding. From the moment you arrive you are treat as a valued customer. we decided to pay for a sea view with views over looking the bay of Naples, Sorrento and Mount Vesuvius and i have to say paying the extra was well worth it. The hotel is a short walk to the town where you will find some lovely restaurants, bars and café's. The views from the hotel dinning rooms are also spectacular and the service and food choice is first class. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Sorrento

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spider124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great location, great views...basically GREAT! Spend the weekend with some girl-friends at the hotel. Fantastic views from the terraces and a great place to chill with a beer/glass of wine. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom larger than most you would find. Overall condition of the hotel was clean and well maintained. Staff at the reception were always helpful and the waiters were very pleasant and attentive without having the smothering effect! The food was ample and traditional. The hotel is within walking distance to the town...and there are lifts available to all areas of the hotel. We had a wonderful time and would return for sure!!

Room Tip: We did not have a sea view...but we overlooked a well maintained rockery to the rear of the hotel wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshTraveller1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

How many wonderful things do we have to say about this hotel? We booked it, having read other reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. The location is by far the major highlight of the hotel. It is set up on a hill, about a ten minute walk from the city center, overlooking Sorrento, Mount Vesuvius, and the bay. (Make sure to book a room with a view!). The five-tiered pools afforded spectacular views, and the lounge chairs were perfectly placed so that you could take in your surroundings.

We were also extremely happy with our room (Premier Sea View room). We found it spotlessly clean, updated, with lovely linens, towels, and toiletries. The hotel service was excellent, and the concierge was very helpful. The included breakfast buffet each morning was delicious and bountiful, served in a gorgeous open air terrace overlooking the city and bay.

A few side comments: we spent the extra money and hired a private chauffer to drive us down the Amalfi Drive (state road 163). We requested a convertible. If you are going to do this, make sure to request a convertible as it affords you breathtaking views of the tops of the cliffs, as well as the sea below. Otherwise you will miss half the scenery!

Having stayed at various 4 and 5 star hotels across Europe, we can assure you that this 4 star hotel is truly one step away from being 5 star. It lacks perhaps the more "luxurious" surroundings of a 5 star, but if we had to choose between this hotel and the top rated hotel in Sorrento, we would come back here again without question.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist2012_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Would recommend this hotel in heart beat, it's rated 4star but more 5 star, staff was great, breakfast everything you could ask for. Great ocean view, beautiful pools. Close walk to town.
Hotel is very well staffed, free wifi and always something going on in lounge at night, me and my wife had wonderful time and would stay there again when in sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We paid for the premier room and the view was outstanding. The hotel is the first hotel leading up the hill from the city of Sorrento and overlooks the entire town, the water and the mountains. The location was perfect as it was only a three minute walk down the hill to the town itself. The hotel staff was pleasant and accommodating throughout our stay.

The hotel promotes a tour to Capri which both my husband and I would NOT recommend. The hotel gives you a flyer at check-in describing a picturesque day tour to the island of Capri by boat. Be aware that it is more of a small barge than a boat. They company will pick you up out front of the hotel and whisk you away by coach bus to the marina where you will find your "boat" awaiting. They then cram about thirty five people into a tiny boat that is enclosed where you will sit on a bench for two hours while they take you half away around the island. The one nice thing about the tour was that they do make a stop at the Blue Grotto where you will have the option of paying to see the grotto (recommended, but look into a different way of doing this). Once you arrive at Capri, they let you spend 5-6 hours however you would like. Be aware that Capri is mostly a tourist trap. I would recommend a half day visit to the island at most. The food prices are about double that of Sorrento. Also, if you are looking to shop, most of the stores are Designer stores, so make sure you have some money. If you plan to swim at the beach, think again. The beaches are very small and rocky. They are OK if you want to lay out, but the waters are filled with Jellyfish.

In regards to the hotel itself, I would recommend that If you stay here, walk to Sorrento for your meals. Also, cocktails are about 12 euro a piece and were usually made incorrectly. If you decide to eat at the hotel, just know that you will be eating over priced meals that are sub-par. We did pay for the included breakfast buffet which was nice. They had a wide selection of foods to choose from including hot foods such as scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and an omelet station. If you prefer egg whites, this is not an option with the omelet station as I was told the eggs are a "premix". My husband and I also prefer healthy foods and they did have oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, bread/toast, milk, coffee and tea.

Room Tip: The premier room is a splurge, but the view is absolutely breathtaking and well worth the extra mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,273 reviews
299 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This really is a grand hotel, perched on a hill overlooking Sorrento and the Bay of Naples.

Uncharacteristically, I opened my wallet quite wide this time and I'm glad I did.

The room they gave me was beautiful, large with a big bathroom (#314). Okay, it overlooked the driveway but I wasn't paying the really big $$$ (I booked through hotels.com and got a good deal).

However, while tiled floors may look and feel nice, they can be absolute hell when your room is below the restaurant and people drag their chairs back and forth all through breakfast and all night during a wedding reception.

I quietly mentioned this to the senior manager the next morning and was moved to a room overlooking the pool with a balcony and a spectacular view. I found out that this room cost about €150/night more than the room I paid for while being half the size (#936).

There's free WIFI in the rooms, free English movie channels, five swimming pools (albeit unheated which was a bit of a shock), terraces everywhere with fantastic views...really, everything you would wish from a 4-star hotel.

The included breakfast is truly spectacular. There's a fellow whose sole commission is to make an omelette to your exact specifications before your eyes. There's also a chance to spot the rich and famous; I sat at the next table from British TV historian Simon Schama & family.

The coolest thing are the blockout shutters, activated by the press of a bedside button. They come down like roller-doors to cover the windows. Then this black scrim shoots up, quite unexpectedly, from below and totally blocks out all light. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.6 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.9 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing