We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ROOM WITH A VIEW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

we have just reurned from a short stay of 5 nights in this lovely hotel.our room was very large on the first floor and had a superb view of vesuvius and capri. we had a huge bed,must have been super king size plus.the room was cleaned each day to a very high standard.there was a safe in the room costing 1 euro each day.
the pool was large and easily swimmable in,not overcrowed and plenty of sun chairs/loungers available.beach towels supplied are free in each room,a charge of 20 euros made if these are not left on departure
wi fi available after asking at reception for a code.the recption people speak excellent english and are very helpful
a superb buffet breakfast was available each day until 10am.full english or continental ,plenty of fresh fruit,cold meats,yoghurts,rolls,tea ,coffee,juices etc
lunch was available ouside on the terrace until 3pm and consisted of pizza ,panninis etc.a piza cost6 euros.
evening meal started at 7pm which we found rather expensive at 25 euros each.this was a set menu and rather unimaginative unless you like artichokes that is.we ate here once only .there needs to be an ala carte menu available.this was our only criticism of the food
from the hotel a courtesy bus runs almost every hour to and from sorrento train/bus station a trip of 5 mins which is very necessary as the hotel is situated at the top of a long, rocky, narrow windy road. From the bus station a short walk of about 5 mins takes you into Sorrento where there are numerous restaurants,bars and cafes

the courtesy bus starts at 07.45 from the hotel so if you have an early flight back to the uk as we did a pre booked taxi at 6am will cost 35 !!! euros to the bus/train station a journey of 5 mins.
the courtesy bus runs each hour until 6pm and then stops until 9pm and this is the last one into town.
the return trip to the hotel is from the bus/train station until 9pm where pick up changes to the road opposite the supermarket on the outskirts of sorrento which is very isolated as it is dark and all the shops have closed at 8.30pm.ideal targets for robbery especially if you are on your own.there is also a last bus at 11pm from here
when we arrived at naples airport we were worried about getting to this hotel by ourselves but we needn't have been.across the road from the airport are the bus stops and at one of these there is a bus/coach to soorent obus station.the trip cost 10 euros each and took about one and a half hours .each bus is air conditioned
i forot to mention that the hotel does not do any transactions in cash.all drinks food etc are signed for to your room no and you pay your bill on departure.
overall a wonderful hotel and we will almost certainly be going back and have reccommended it to our family and friends

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ist floor overlooking the poolwith a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackrussellmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear jackrussellmabel ,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just returned from a brilliant week at this hotel. The views from the terrace and our room 208 were fantastic over the Bay of Naples.
The breakfasts and dinners were delicious and the house wines excellent and very reasonably priced.
The service in the restaurant (and other areas) was superb.
I agree with some reviewers that the exterior of the hotel is a little' past it's best', but with the superb location this is a very minor criticism which I have been informed is being addressed.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view so it is worth paying the extra and waking up to the lovely vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear jcheshire,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am so glad your enjoied your stay in Sorrento and at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are preparing all the authorization in order to renew the facade.

In any case for 2012 we have plenty of new surprises for our Guests.

I hope to welcome you again at Gran Paradiso in order to show it to You.

With my best regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 night break staying at this hotel. It is faultless -surely it has got to have the best position in Sorrento for views? Our room was huge (room 125) and looked over the pool and coastline - pure bliss. The staff were extremely helpful, courteous and always asking us whether we were having a nice time. I can thoroughly recommend the boat trip organised through the hotel (thank you Ricardo for the most hair raising car journey in my life!) - the day trip to Capri was one of the best days of my life and the boat was just beautiful. The cocktails were sublime. Just be a little careful of the sunbeds around the pool - you need a degree to work out the positioning! Thank you to everyone at this hotel (including the lovely waiters - superb!) for ensuring our first trip to Sorrento was magnificent. We will certainly return - ciao xxxxxx

Room Tip: Room 125 was excellent - certainly a room overlooking the pool and the coastline is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Sally-Anne L,

Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad you have enjoied your stay with us.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future at Gran Paradiso, with some brand new sunbeds on the pool.

Sincerely Yours,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

It was our 4th holiday at this hotel and will not be our last.
We had a full sea-view and it s amazing!
It was my birthday whilst staying here and on return from a day out in Amalfi , found a bottle of champagne on ice in our room!The staff are a real credit to the hotel , nothing is too much trouble. A special thanks to our waiter Ciro and to lovely Guiseppe.If you want a relaxing holiday this is the hotel for you. The courtesy bus in to Sorrento is wonderful. We had lunch at the hotel most days and it was always excellent and good value, especially with the stunning views.
We have come back so relaxed and would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubylito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear rubylito,

It is always a pleasure for us to have you here at Gran Paradiso for the 4th time.

I hope to welcome to you this time personally here in Sorrento,

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is great hotel high on a hill looking out over the bay of naples with veiws to die for, mountains,sunsets,and of course the sea. The hotel was kept spotlessly clean the food was better than a lot of 5 star hotels we have stayed in around the world hot fresh and plently of choice. Now the best bit all of your staff are a great credit to you always cheerful, polite, and willing to help when we asked for a fridge in our room one was there next day with a smile thanks, with a special thanks to Ciro in the resturant a great waiter always willing to please, people like him make your hotel a place we would recommend to all. The free mini bus to and from town makes life easy as you can go to the busy town and return to peace and quiet and we mean quiet.You dont have to go to town for a cheap drink as the bar is on a par with the bars in town We have travel around the world and stayed in many hotels and yours is on our list of the ones we would be happy to return too sean francis

Room Tip: pay the extra for a sea veiw the veiws are breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

As everyone says, the views in this hotel are fantastic. But there is no shortage of breathtaking views in Sorrento or the whole area. Contrary to what many reviews say, there is no need to obsess about getting a room with a sea view because, frankly, unless you plan to spend most of your time in the room (why would you?) you're going to get an ample fix of the fantastic bay of Naples anyway.

The real plus point of this hotel is the standard of service and the food. We stayed on a half board basis expecting to do our fair share of eating out but the variety and quality of the food on offer was so good, we ate at the hotel every night of our fortnight stay.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and any queries were dealt with efficiently. Our room was basic but very clean. No fridge, though, which was a shame.

The pool area is very pleasant and there wasn't the made rush to reserve sun beds like you get in some hotels.

The bus service means getting into Sorrento and back is easy.

I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neville P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Neville P,

thank you So, much for posting your point of view on tripadvisor.com!

I would like just to let you know that next year all the rooms will have a brand new minibar filled with fresh beverages.

It will be my pleasure to welcome you again personally to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso if you are planning to come back to Sorrento for the next year,

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday to Sorrento - our original flight was cancelled due to industrial action and the hotel worked hard to re arrange our booking (many thanks to Massimo for that). The hotel has been upgraded in the last couple of years and is clean bright and welcomimg. Our room was 3rd floor corner which gave us breathtaking views! The food was very nice and breakfast on the terrace each morning was a delight.
The location is perfect to escape the hustle & bustle of Sorrento particularly the relentless traffic. we regularly used the shuttle bus which was a real bonus. Did all the usual sightseeing including Capri, Positano, Amalfi and my favourite Ravello. will surley be back and would stay at Gran Paradiso again just one word of warning - the sun beds here are lighweight aluminium and need to be used with care a visitor had a VERY nasty accident he trapped & crushed 2 fingers when the bed collapsed backwards (a regular daily occurance usually met with laughter) there was little concern from the management which was noted by other guests. This aside we had a lovely, lovely holiday.

Room Tip: If travelling independently request a front/side view room packages I would assume you dont have a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Goaaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.7 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,241 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,030 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
1.0 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 km away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $156 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing