We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here for the second half of our honeymoon. I'm really not sure why there are any moans, the hotel views are stunning, as is the pool.
The staff were brilliant, and polite, one even giving us a lift up the hill when there was a mix up on transport with a tour we'd booked. (another company, not the hotels fault).
The shuttle bus runs regularly, and on time, and the food is simply brilliant. Myself and my partner simply cannot praise the hotel enough. It is one hotel we shall definitely return too.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lady_toxica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Lady_toxica,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
This is very much appreciated, I hope to welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit to Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    370
    144
    52
    39
See reviews for
150
684
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

this was an excellent modern hotel with friendly helpful staff,the courtesy bus to and from the centre of Sorrento is punctual and at very good times, hotel clean, food of a decent standard waiters usual Italian friendly.Reception staff very obliging.Only down side was finding this hotel up a very narrow hillside road,not unusual for Sorrento,but still awkward to find.Overall would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.not the ones under the swimming pool,it gives a better view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear MR David P,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I do have to admit that the road is steep, but once that you reach the hotel, you can enjoy the best view over Sorrento Coast.

Hoping to welcome you again at Gran Paradiso, I am here to send you my best regards,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We arrived at the Grand Paradiso Hotel on a rainy day in late october 2011. the general outside appearance and lobby was dated and unattractive.
the hotel sits on top of a hill which is quite a walking distance up through an unattractive, depressed looking, narrow road from the main street. the hotels staff were very nice and tries their best to be accommodating. however, the hotel itself including the lobby area and elevator are tired looking and old fashioned, our of the 50's.
at night you constantly hear dogs barking and church bells ringing every 15 minutes, if you keep the doors open as we had to, since the air-conditioning was shut down and the air in the room was stagnant.
while we did not use the pool it looked very attractive and modern with a negative edge quality. the pool area overlooked sorrento.

the room & hotel was kept nice and clean. the shower was terrible with only a trickle of water. towels were badly dated.

i must say their buffet breakfast was very nice presented in a large room overlooking the pool area and the skyline of sorrento. eggs were available but not cooked to order.

a nice quality of the hotel is the shuttle service to & fro the main square of town on a pre-set schedule.

I think this hotel to be a 3 star hotel nothing more as it stands now.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bigsteven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear bigsteven1,

Thank you very much for posting your point of view on our hotel.

I remember personally when you arrived at Gran Paradiso in a rainy day of the end of October.

As you might remember, you asked to see if a suite was available, and we showed to you, as you wanted to stay relaxed in a big room for the 1 night stay.

We told you that it was possible to allocate you in this suite with a supplement. But you did not wanted to, that is why now the shower is small and the air conditioning (set to hot temperature) was stagnant, but for sure not shut down as we do provide hot water with the AC engine.

I also remeber that you wanted to change 3-4 times your plane ticket because you wanted to have the best seat available in the plane in middle row, burt with a space between your two seats in order to have more space during your flight, so we worked hard for you in order to call the plane company and set your seat at pay line that costed you only 3 Euros.

In Italy churches are one of the most impressing tip to a holiday, and also you need to be aware that in our area there is a incredible concentration of Churches, fro example in Sorrento there are 10s of churches, so the bell ringing are almost impossble to avoid.

In case you will be back to Sorrento for 12 hours, I will do my best to book a Suite free of charge for you even if you have paied for a low cost room.

Thank you for choosing Sorrento for your stop over.

Yours sincerely,
Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I wanted to celebrate my 60th with friends and family and I am so glad I chose this hotel again. I had stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and found they are so helpful, friendly glad to see that even some of the same staff are still there. It was clean, comfortable and with that fantastic view from the balcony we all had agreat time everyone wished they could of stayed longer than the 5 days and all of us want to come back and stay here again. So a big thankyou to all the staff there for making my 60th so special.

Room Tip: Must have a sea view room with a balcony to make this extra special
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busylizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear busylizy ,

Thank you for coming again to Gran Paradiso, to celebrate your 60th anniversary!

It has been a pleasure for us to have you here, I hope to welcome you again in the next visit in Sorrento.

Yours sicerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a five day stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso in Sorrento, and have to say that this hotel exceeded my expectations! Our room although fairly small was more than adequate for our needs. Our terrace was wonderful with fantastic views of Capri and Vesuvius. The service throughout the hotel was magnificent and cleanliness was of a very high standard. Breakfast and dinner was top class and prices were reasonable in the reataurant and bar. The free shuttle bus service to and from the hotel was brilliant although to walk from hotel to Sant Agnello train station is a pleasant 10-15 min walk downhill but a little longer when walking back uphill. I would definitely recommend this hotel and am looking forward to returning next summer, 2012! Thank you to all the staff for their help and for making our stay perfect!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodsFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear WoodsFlo,

Thank you So much for your comments!

We are glad you have enjoied your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you again in the future.

I wish you a wonderful day,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

we have just reurned from a short stay of 5 nights in this lovely hotel.our room was very large on the first floor and had a superb view of vesuvius and capri. we had a huge bed,must have been super king size plus.the room was cleaned each day to a very high standard.there was a safe in the room costing 1 euro each day.
the pool was large and easily swimmable in,not overcrowed and plenty of sun chairs/loungers available.beach towels supplied are free in each room,a charge of 20 euros made if these are not left on departure
wi fi available after asking at reception for a code.the recption people speak excellent english and are very helpful
a superb buffet breakfast was available each day until 10am.full english or continental ,plenty of fresh fruit,cold meats,yoghurts,rolls,tea ,coffee,juices etc
lunch was available ouside on the terrace until 3pm and consisted of pizza ,panninis etc.a piza cost6 euros.
evening meal started at 7pm which we found rather expensive at 25 euros each.this was a set menu and rather unimaginative unless you like artichokes that is.we ate here once only .there needs to be an ala carte menu available.this was our only criticism of the food
from the hotel a courtesy bus runs almost every hour to and from sorrento train/bus station a trip of 5 mins which is very necessary as the hotel is situated at the top of a long, rocky, narrow windy road. From the bus station a short walk of about 5 mins takes you into Sorrento where there are numerous restaurants,bars and cafes

the courtesy bus starts at 07.45 from the hotel so if you have an early flight back to the uk as we did a pre booked taxi at 6am will cost 35 !!! euros to the bus/train station a journey of 5 mins.
the courtesy bus runs each hour until 6pm and then stops until 9pm and this is the last one into town.
the return trip to the hotel is from the bus/train station until 9pm where pick up changes to the road opposite the supermarket on the outskirts of sorrento which is very isolated as it is dark and all the shops have closed at 8.30pm.ideal targets for robbery especially if you are on your own.there is also a last bus at 11pm from here
when we arrived at naples airport we were worried about getting to this hotel by ourselves but we needn't have been.across the road from the airport are the bus stops and at one of these there is a bus/coach to soorent obus station.the trip cost 10 euros each and took about one and a half hours .each bus is air conditioned
i forot to mention that the hotel does not do any transactions in cash.all drinks food etc are signed for to your room no and you pay your bill on departure.
overall a wonderful hotel and we will almost certainly be going back and have reccommended it to our family and friends

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ist floor overlooking the poolwith a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackrussellmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear jackrussellmabel ,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just returned from a brilliant week at this hotel. The views from the terrace and our room 208 were fantastic over the Bay of Naples.
The breakfasts and dinners were delicious and the house wines excellent and very reasonably priced.
The service in the restaurant (and other areas) was superb.
I agree with some reviewers that the exterior of the hotel is a little' past it's best', but with the superb location this is a very minor criticism which I have been informed is being addressed.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view so it is worth paying the extra and waking up to the lovely vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear jcheshire,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am so glad your enjoied your stay in Sorrento and at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are preparing all the authorization in order to renew the facade.

In any case for 2012 we have plenty of new surprises for our Guests.

I hope to welcome you again at Gran Paradiso in order to show it to You.

With my best regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.7 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,097 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,290 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
470 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,369 reviews
1.4 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing