We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't praise it enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Can't praise it enough!”
Reviewed 10 September 2006

Fantastic hotel!
Sea - view room a must with spectacular panorama of Bay of Naples .
Nothing too much trouble for Maitre d' and will adapt menu to suit you. Im vegetarian and no probs at all. Our waiter Francesco was wonderful.
We came here 8 years ago and will not wait so long this time to come back.
Hotel is on very steep hill but worth it for views. Thare's a courtesy bus service which is great. The Amalfi Drive is a must but we'd recommend getting the public bus there ( so easy) and the boat back to Sorrento.

  • Liked — Fantastic views and staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for table in dining room next to patio doors for great views.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubylito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    371
    144
    54
    39
See reviews for
151
689
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2006

Myself and my boyfriend had a fantastic holiday at this hotel. Nice and clean friendly, you have to arrange your trips around the shuttle bus but they run quite regularly so its not too bad. Food very nice good staff. we would go back!!!!

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkviks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

the staff in the dining room are very friendly and helpful and the food is very good; the views are fantastic and offer a sweeping panorama of the Bay ; the main problem is accessibility to Sorrento as the hotel is up a very steep hill and located on a very narrow road. There is a shuttle bus at various times but this bus can get very full. A walk after dinner is not possible unless you catch the 20.30pm shuttle bus to Sorrento and then return by the same means at 23.00 hours. Our room was very small but had a balcony and a sideways on sea view. This hotel is a good choice if you are physically fit and willing to walk down a very steep and narrow road to Saint Agnello and Sorrento or wait for the shuttle bus. For the views, the very helpful dining room staff and very good food you have to accept limitations on freedom of movement outside the hotel.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — limitations on movement outside the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — book a good room with views
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank davidevans741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2006

I must admit I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews posted on this website but the moment I got to the hotel I loved it. The entrance hall, dining hall, bedrooms...everything was clean and comfortable.

Our room was perfect and it was worth spending that little bit extra to be guaranteed a room with a view because the views are spectacular. Our room was cleaned every day and the air conditioning was fantastic especially having being out in the sun all day every day.

We stayed on a half board basis and the breakfast and dinner time meals were lovely. The Maitre D Giuseppe was very helpful and all the waiters were poilte, friendly and very funny.

The complimentay bus service was very good and we were given the bus times into Sorrento and back. If you are quite fit the hill is walkable but the bus only takes 10 mins. If you are going on an excursion for example and need to meet your coach then Bruno arranges for the bus to take you to meet the coach even if its not one of the set bus times, so its very easy to get about.

I recommend this hotel as I loved my stay here and would definitely come back here again.

  • Liked — Location - the view was breathtaking
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay to get a room with a sea view balcony - well worth it!!!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2006

We have just returned from Sorrento - after reading some of the reviews I was a little concerned. The decor in the reception is very modernist (lime green and brown leather sofa's and chairs). The first room we had was very poor, but we did get moved to the 4th floor with wonderful views of the mountains and Sorrento Bay. The breakfast is buffet style with lovely fresh bread, dinner was fine. No nightlife at the hotel but the hotel bus was available 6 nights a week.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank redducati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2006

Our family had a lovely holiday in this hotel. The staff were all considerate and helpful. The food was good. the Maitre D was helpful and friendly. the sunsets were breathtaking. The courtesy bus was well run and Mario friendly.
Only downside was unable to go for a stroll in the evening. My children aged 10 and 13 enjoyed playing in the pool and table tennis. The room was very large and clean.

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
8 Thank Katie Morag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2006

This hotel is not grand or a paradise. Only stay here if nothing else is available. Basically, it serves large tour groups and a few, uninformed independent travelers like us. Location and views from rooms facing the front are beautiful. Rooms facing the rear are small, dark and gloomy. Front rooms are large and have very big patios. Furniture and atmosphere come right from 1950.
For eating you can choose the dining room or go several miles to Sorrento. The free bus service at night is very inconvenient so you are forced to drive or take a very expensive taxi. We arrived late the first night and ate in the dining room. Overpriced food. Canned fruit cocktail, overcooked pasta, bland main courses, soggy dessert, etc. It reminded me of food I had in Oslo (sorry Norwegian readers).

Hard to find even with local maps because of incorrect street name on Expedia. The hotel’s web site looks nice but failed to accept my email request for more information about directions. When I mentioned this to the manager, he was not interested. Why should he care? Tour bus drivers know how to find the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank crushdummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.7 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,110 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,307 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,377 reviews
1.4 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing