We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Nearby Hotels
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
US$267
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$584
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$325/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$473
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$326/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$452
US$438
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$313
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$698
US$481
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$576/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1,510
US$1,465
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,350)
Filter reviews
1,350 results
Traveller rating
481
516
241
70
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
516
241
70
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busbay of naplessea viewtour grouplarge poollarge hotelpool bartinned fruitreception staffsky tvmount vesuviusplenty of loungersamazing viewswaiter servicehalf boardpastriessalad bar
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,350 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Stayed here for a week 2nd week of September and the hotel was full to capacity.
Staff were great and very helpful. I was a but concerned by previous reviews and did consider changing hotel but I'm so glad we didn't!! The food was fine, nothing like what some people seemed to experience, and the portions were more than enough. The starters are huge, especially the pasta dishes. I wouldn't advise walking into Sorrento if your not quick on your feet! The shuttle bus is free and runs frequently with a break from 1-4pm. There are plenty of sun loungers so no rushing out early hours to put your towels out! We would certainly return to this hotel on out next trip to Italy.

Room Tip: Book a sea view, the view is amazing!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DSARMSTRONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

The view of Vesuvius and the bay were fantastic, the staff very helpful and efficient the rooms were very reasonable but the food was very disappointing. Considering there was plenty of fresh fruit in the shops why did we almost always have tinned fruit.

Room Tip: Room with a view of Vesuvius a must.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

This hotel is situated high above the Bay of Naples with a splendid view of the bay at the front and a very pleasant view of olive tree groves at the rear. Rooms are spacious (ours was a rear facing room) and clean. I believe that all rooms have a private balcony. The down side is the lack of tea/coffee making facilities but a cheap portable kettle sold in the UK solves the problem. There is a fridge though with a mini bar. We were part of a group of 20 and we were advised to use bottled water here.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and well decorated with 3 lifts (plus one for the pool area) and a large reception with friendly staff. The bar area was spacious with tables and very comfortable chairs/sofas. Comfort guaranteed with a drink and entertainment every evening. The entertainers were varied from singers to some excellent guitarists. One of them played on our last night (Monday) and he was brilliant! The waiters were very efficient and sociable so, all good.
The dining room was run with high efficiency by an army of workers some of whom I believe never slept. One particular fellow was there for every meal we had. I'm a little fussy about food but the group seemed happy so all was well. The two head waiters (Mario and Luigi) kept the place flowing and the wine bottles emptying. My main gripe is about breakfast where only scrambled eggs were on offer. I can't believe a good chef can't fry an egg!
Lunches can be taken at the pool terrace and the menu was very good. Mario and Luigi supervised this area as well. As a tour base this hotel is perfect with a regular shuttle bus transporting us to and from Sorrento. However, for solo travellers without a car, I think I would stay a little closer to town. But some of my fellow travellers walked to town (and back again) some days so, if you're fully mobile and fit, then this hotel is a very good place to be.

Room Tip: Views of the bay at the front.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

We stayed at the Vesuvio for a week at the end of september. The location of this hotel is lovely with the most amazing views across the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvios. The room was lovely (434), we paid extra for a sea view and it was very well worth it. The room was clean and very comfortable. We arrived just before midnight and we had a meal put into our room which consisted of cold meats, bread and fruit which was a very nice touch. The towels were changed every day and overall we were very pleased with the room. The restaurant was very big and the waiters were very friendly but the food wasnt all that good. Breakfast was okay with quite a bit of choice but dinner is usually a set menu with no explaination of what the food consists of. We had a buffet dinner on one of the nights which was really good but the set menu dinner lets the food down. The hotel itself was lovely with a nice pool and plenty of sunbeds. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. We used the shuttle bus to take us down into Sorrento which only took 5 mnutes, we would have liked to walked but there is no pavements which makes a walk very dangerous!
Overall we had a lovely holiday and would probably stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor with a sea view, its well worth paying extra for.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

We visited Sorrento, as part of a tour, which had included Naples and Pompeii, earlier in the day. The scenery is stunning - so stunning that you cannot take enough photos to capture its beauty. Our coach wound its way up the hill and through the quaint and narrow streets, delivering our fellow tourists to their hotels and my sister and I, together with about a dozen others, were the last on the coach. When we arrived at our hotel, the Grand Hotel Vesuvio, our jaws dropped with the breathtaking scene before us! The gardens were beautifully and elegantly landscaped in the Italian style, taking into account, every fine detail. The property has an elevated position overlooking the Bay of Naples and across the bay, was Vesuvius.

The hotel foyer was elegant and the staff very friendly and immensely helpful. The smooth ride up in the lift, took us up to our floor and our room, with its marble floors and pristine white and turquoise decor, which led out on to our balcony, with its share of the same view of the Bay of Naples and the mighty volcano. Breathtaking, jaw dropping scenery, which left you feeling tranquil and not wanting to go home!

We stayed in September, as touring Italy is better when the weather is not too hot, however, Sorrento would be an ideal place for a summer holiday, with its beaches, not to forget the pool in the grounds of the Vesuvio. :)

Dinner was in the restaurant/dining area downstairs. The portion sizes were generous and the menu offered an ample selection, to satisfy the palate of anyone! Restaurant staff were charming and eager to please.

Breakfast the next morning was an equally pleasurable, dining experience, with great service. :)

My sister and I were so delighted by the location, facilities and our stay there, that we are planning our next visit to Italy and plan to base ourselves at Grand Hotel Vesuvio, IF we can get a room.

Thanks to all the staff for their care and warm hospitality.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, to ensure you can be accomodated.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews