We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,470)
Filter reviews
1,470 results
Traveller rating
531
556
262
76
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
556
262
76
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus bay of naples sea view pool bar large pool tour group waiter service large hotel reception staff tinned fruit buffet night plenty of sunbeds half board mount vesuvius amazing views twin beds restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 1,470 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2017

we had a room overlooking the bay of Naples. Beautiful view. The dinners here are also excellent. Only downside is it's quite a way from central Sorrento, takes about 30min to walk, although there's a bus.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the bay rather than of the mountains, which is really a concrete wall
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank leic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino F, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Vesuvio, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for reviewing us, we're glad you had a nice stay at Grand Hotel Vesuvio Sorrento! As you said there's an amazing view which we have only because we're on top of the hill of sorrento city-center...and although the walk is very nice, we always have regular and free shuttle bus service: in 5 mins you're in the heart of Sorrento!
Kind regards and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

Amazing view. Very large room actually an anteroom as well. Comfortable bed,very clean. Did I mention the view? Great terrace, not a balcony but a terrace. The restaurant service could be better but the room more than made up for it. It was about 15 minute walk into to town. A very scarey walk but typical for southern Italy. They do have a free shuttle service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino F, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Vesuvio, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Dear cathy,
we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel clean and comfortable. As you have seen we have a free shuttle service running regularly from our hotel to Sorrento centre in no more than 5mins.
We hope to have you back here in Sorrento!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommended. Fabulous rooms with view of Vesuvius. Great staff and enough of them. Great breakfast. Pool not too crowded and clear. Great poolside bar and very relaxing evening bar on first floor. Ideally situated just 10 minutes from Sorrento town centre. Free shuttle from hotel is excellent. Great service. Would come back to this hotel no problem.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank simlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino F, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Vesuvio, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

dear Guest,
thank you for your review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with ulooking forward to see you back here at Grand Hotel Vesuvio in Sorrento,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017

This hotel was the last stay on our Italian tour, and it was by far the best. The view from the room was stunning and the room itself was clean and spacious with very comfortable beds. Sorrento was charming and our only disappointment was we didn't stay long enough. We will be back.

As we arrived in Sorrento, our tour guide informed us we would not be back in Rome until Sunday about 8:30 pm. In the itinerary, it stated we would be back to Rome by the afternoon. Unfortunately, this was not the case, and we found ourselves with tickets to the opera and no way back to Rome. I could tell from the look on Jovy's face (tour guide) we were on our own to find our way back to Rome, and we never heard from her again. However, to our rescue came Isabella on reception at the hotel. She was exceptionally helpful. Isabella took us behind the counter, helped us purchase train tickets to Naples, and then to Rome, all the while searching for the best seats and price. She printed our tickets and assured us we would make it in plenty of time. A really great customer service experience.

The food was also superb. I am a foodie and have written a cookbook - I would fly to Sorrento again just to have the cheese crepes again! Kudos to the chef.

It is a 1.5 km walk to town and because there are no sidewalks and the roads have blind curves it can be dangerous, but the shuttle is regular (every 15 minutes) and quite convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alicia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino F, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Vesuvio, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and everything -at least!- went well for you...
We wait for you to come back in the sunny Sorrento and to Hotel Vesuvio..maybe you'll taste something new you hadn't time to enjoy this time :)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

The reason for the header is that this Hotel is different from the normal holiday location.
The hotel is out of town and it is isolated due to the roads being narrow. You literally take your life in your hands if you are going to walk into town. To compensate for this the shuttle bus runs on a regular basis and quickly gets you into town.
The rooms are spotless, large and well maintained. We had a room with a sea view so we were facing the sea and Mount Vesuvius. We could enjoy this wonderful view by sitting out on our spacious balcony.
The staff are friendly and helpful but sometimes the fact that my Italian is non existent I could not communicate well with them. Having said that, the staffs English is excellent and we could always get what we want.
As in many reviews, the main issue was the evening meal. I salute the Hotel for serving a three course meal every evening except Thursday and Sunday, but this is not what the customer wants.
Having said this, the food is of a high quality.
For us we chose to swap our evening meal for lunch. This allowed us to get on the shuttle bus and spend the evening in Sorrento finding some excellent restaurants.
Recommended for a chilled relaxing holiday

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 402martinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino F, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Vesuvio, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

dear Martin,
Thank you for your review!
Yes, Hotel Vesuvio is a little bit out Sorrento city centre, but i'm sure you experienced our stunning view on Vesuvius and all the coast!
I'm glad you had a nice stay with us and hope to see you back here in the wonderful Sorrento for another chilling holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews