We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveller rating
972
217
43
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
217
43
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay of naples rooftop pool via capo fantastic views attic room wine waiter mount vesuvius breakfast and dinner sea view top floor busy road half board minute walk into town my husband and i have just our honeymoon large terrace up hill
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2018

We spent a wonderful week in Sorrento staying at the Hotel Minerva and really I cannot praise this hotel highly enough, the location, staff and food were superb. On arrival do not be put off by the road level entrance as it is a bit dark but once you get the lift to the fifth floor this is the reception, terrace and restaurant level with exceptional views over Sorrento and towards Naples. We were traveling with Tui on a half board basis. The hotel provides a continental buffet breakfast and will cook bacon and eggs to order. The evening menu was exceptional, a buffet salad bar to start and five choices for the first and second plate with another four choices for sweet. I must commend the chefs as they provided dishes from every province of Italy. The restaurant overlooks the bay of Sorrento an exceptional setting for eating. It would be difficult to give a review without mentioning Nino the head waiter as he was able to explain every dish on the menu and really did look after you in every way. Some other information about the hotel is that the pool is on the seventh floor with a small bar serving drinks and food, again with fantastic views over Sorrento.
Top Tip, the harbour below the hotel has various boat trips on offer and a few seafood restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rayferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoniettaAcampora, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Minerva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Dear rayferry,

Many thanks for reviewing us in such a kind way: we're glad you enjoyed every spot of Minerva and the stunning views over Vesuius and the enture bay, glad to read you enjoyed our varied meals...we try to fit any taste ;)

The antire staff is thankful for your words.

We look forward to seeing you back again!

Kind regards from sunny Sorrento

Hotel Minerva - Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

We have just returned from our 10 night holiday at the Minerva. The hotel room was a very generous size with balcony which gave us outstanding views of Sorrento and Mount Vesuvius which were stunning both day and night. The room was cleaned to perfection daily. Nino welcomed us every morning to a lovely breakfast and evening meal, nothing was too much trouble for him and his lovely staff. Food was good throughout our stay. Rooftop pool was a delight which had a lovely ambience, the service from the pool bar was always excellent. The hotel had a friendly personal feel about it and all this added up to a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony, well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoniettaAcampora, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Minerva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Dear Michel,

Thanks for reviewing us.

it's very nice to read such lovely words from you, and we're really glad you felt very welcomed in here and had an amazing stay!

We look forward seeing you back again should you come back to Sorrento.

Kindest regards,

Hotel Minerva Sorrento - Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

The restaurant had Excellent food and you sit on the balcony, our room was a good size and plenty of cupboard space the pool had lots of sun beds
Very helpful and friendly staff
Excellent place for the places to visit ie:- Pompeii,

Room Tip: 502 to 509 but it has a supplement
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoniettaAcampora, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Minerva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Dear Bobjul,

We're glad to read you enjoyed an excellent stay at Hotel minerva and that everything fitted what you expected from your stay in sorrento!

Should you visit Sorrento back we hope you return to Minerva.

Kind regards,

Hotel Minerva - Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Minerva in Sorrento! The hotel met (exceeded) all of our expectations -- beautiful views, excellent service and an unbelievable rooftop pool. Nello's customer service was on another level. He made us feel so welcome and really added to our stay. Nino took excellent care of us every morning at breakfast and Stefano took great care of us at the pool. Thank you, thank you.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank beckybiniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoniettaAcampora, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Minerva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Dear guest,

Many thanks for reviewing us!!!

We're glad to see that your stay here got over your expectations and you enjoyed an outstandinbg stay in Sorrento!!

Hoping to see you back again at Minerva

Kind regards

Hotel Minerva - Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018

My wife and I went to Sorrento on the 28th May 2018 for two weeks, we stayed at the Minerva Hotel which overlooks the bay of Sorrento.
From the moment we entered our room on the 5th floor we were just knocked out with the view towards Vesuvius.
We were here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary so I wanted something special for my wife and this just ticked every box.
The hotel is well run and everyone is so friendly always willing to help out and offer sound advice.
The restaurant is run by head waiter Nino and he is just brilliant, we were there on half board and I have to say the meals were outstanding, Nino was always there to explain each dish with a smile making everyone feel relaxed and comfortable a real credit to the establishment.
We did all the trips including looking inside the crater over Vesuvius a definite must for anyone it's only once in a life time so it has to be done.
You have to do the half day train ride to the limoncello sampling it's real fun.
The icing on the cake was the Saturday night 12 days into our holiday a barge pulled up in the bay directly below our balcony and we had without doubt the best firework display ever so the higher the room the better.
The only downside I could mention was that the traffic can be noisy so take sleep aid tabs or good ear plugs.
Overall, the holiday was fabulous thankyou Minerva thankyou Sorrento.

Room Tip: Highest rooms are best
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cousie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews