We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

In June of 2011 my daughters and I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel del Mare in Sorrento. It truly was a great experience. We shared one of the rooms on the upper floor, with view to the ocean. The room was incredibly clean and inviting. We also were able to step outside to a wonderful open air balcony that all hotel guests shared and enjoy our wine, bread and olives. While the shower was tiny, it was ours. The breakfast was yummy and presented beautifully in the basement "cave" of the hotel. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcome. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do not have a good view. Ask for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfRobinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

Excellent service. All staff friendly, welcoming and giving helpful advice how to get around.
Beautiful view in the bay of Napoli and the small harbour. Rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. Located in quieter area of Sorrento but with easy reach to the centre: There is a 15 min walk through the old Sarrento or you can take a local bus.Some really good restaurants just by the harbour, below the hotel to satisfy the palate. Definitely to be recommended

Room Tip: Room with view on the small harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineE11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This was our second time at Hotel del Mare. We love the location. The staff at the hotel are lovely very friendly and most helpful. Rooms very clean. Hotel in such a good place we had wonderful meals at the restaurants on the Marina. The breakfasts at the hotel very good. We would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: In our opinion all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Rooms were clean. Within a 5 minute walk to the beach which included several restaurants. Great breakfast included in price. Staff was extremely helpful with requests. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I spent four nights here in Sept and had a 2nd floor room with a balcony. I can't say a bad word about it!! I had a few worries beforehand from reading some of the reviews, but shouldn't have worried. My husband is 6ft plus and can be a grump about small rooms etc but he actually complemented on what a lovely sized room we had. I was dubious about having the balcony instead of seaview but am glad I did. We had no noise from the boat builders opposite as some mentioned and there was minimal road noise aswell, we slept with the door shut and shutters down and aircon on which was fantastic. Our room was right next to the lift but we didn't notice any noise from this. The cleaner came in everyday and did a superb job and was really friendly. All staff we came across went out of there way to be very friendly and where always helpful and polite, especially the young lady on the front desk, no question was to daft and she answered them all for us. The roof terrace was a real gem as its got lovely views and while we where there it was empty. The breakfast was lovely and consisted of pastries, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, meats and cheeses, toast, eggs etc. We spent the day on the hotels boat which was fantastic value and had a personal touch compared to other excursions. The manager skippered the boat and was very accomodating to all needs. This trip was the highlight of our holiday. Will definitely come back with our children after seeing how the hotel treats them.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

NIce hotel, nice location, very friendly staff. Our choice was a room with balcony, which gave some traffic-noice. Free wireless internet. Absolute outstanding breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asjdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were impressed by the cleanliness of this hotel. Although the view from our room (160) was up the steep street, it was sheltered from that blazing sun allowing us to sit on the balcony in the afternoon. The room was cool and comfortable.

All the staff were cheerful and helpful. The room maids always had a smile and word for us. A few yards from the harbour. A walk up to Sorrento provided good exercise, either up the steps from Marina Grande or up the road (right out of the hotel). The area is expensive so be prepared, loads of tourists, scooters and traffic jams.
We hired the Hotel motor cruiser to go around Capri and Nino took us to some good swimming locations, caves and good views.

We are indebted to Nino one of the family owners for borrowing his friends car to take us to the coach/train station when our taxi failed to turn up. Making it one minute before the coach left.

Yes, we would stay again at this hotel with pleasure.

Room Tip: 14 and 141 on the roof have a good sea view. The roof is tiled and has loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,243 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
483 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,383 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $132 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing