We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
260
285
113
34
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
285
113
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolpiazza tassothe main squaretrain stationstarters and main coursesnice balconyfree safeevening mealgood sizehalf boardperfect locationrisottoair conbit datedbuffet stylerooms are largeminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 704 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

We loved staying in the Cesare Augusto. It is a very grand hotel with a lot of wood features in the reception and huge lounge.
The service at reception was fabulous - special mention to Paulo who went above and beyond to help us when we arrived.
The bedrooms are spacious and nicely furnished with high quality wooden chairs and wardrobes. Our room had twin beds and this appears to be the norm. Nice bathroom with a lovely (rainforest) shower.
There is a great balcony that looks out over the gardens and, in the distance, towards Napoli.
We ate in the hotel restaurant. The service in the restaurant was excellent - kind and attentive staff who serve starters and main courses at your table. (Don't miss the risottos for starters...delicious!). Desserts are a self-serve affair which means that it is very easy to over-indulge. The tiramisu is just wonderful as was the apple tart. Some of the desserts have alcohol in and weren't to my particular taste. However there is something for everyone, including fresh fruit, so you won't be disappointed.
The rooftop pool and bar is a nice place to chill in the Sorrento sun. Lovely sun loungers and complimentary towels, together with fantastic views, make using the pool a must.
There are some lovely, well-kept gardens to sit in and the garden swings are a lovely way to relax in the shade.
The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento (Tasso Square) which makes it the perfect location.
We loved our time at Cesare Augusto and we are sad to be leaving. We will be returning.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank SunshLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

The hotel is ideal for the centre of Sorrento ,just a 3min walk to the square. Nice hotel with spacious rooms ,kept very clean . Has a lovely rooftop bar ,pool(small) and sunbathing area with beautiful views over the coast line. When we were there it was not busy at all so plenty of sunbeds. Food on the whole was good and each room given a designated table for dinner which was waiter served and chosen from a menu which was different each evening . Only downside for me was that I had booked this holiday 11months before and requested a sea view room on a high floor as it was a 50th birthday present for my partner , I emailed again before we left requesting this again but sadly this was not accommodated . Disappointing to say the least . I would probably consider using this hotel again but only if we could have sea view room (unable to pay extra for these as its not an option) Apart from that and the decor being a bit dated I could not fault the hotel or its position.

Room Tip: High floor room with sea view (although we did not receive one!)
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mtchlljoyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018

5 minutes from Tasso Square. Small Roof-Top Pool . Dining room with Water service? 20 mins to wait for a 1st course then slightly less for 2nd course, Sweet course self-service. Qaulity of food poor ?
4-Star Hotel never.

Room Tip: not applicable, busy road on all 4 sides
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbike91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a family wedding. This hotel for us was fantastic. You don’t go to Italy to sit in your room admiring the furniture you go to view the sites of Italy. The food was plentiful and very tasty. Fantastic breakfast. Staff absolutely amazing and couldn’t do enough. Ugo was great on the roof top bar. Very chatty. Towels provided, centrally located for the town. What more can you ask for. Well done it was a pleasure to stay with you xxxx and €3 a peroni wowzers xx

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Talpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. It is well located for the town and 5 minutes away from the train and bus station. As others have said the public rooms are dated but the bedrooms are large with good air-con, fridge and safe. Everywhere is clean. The breakfasts are a bit basic but evening meals were good. We had room 504 which had a sea view and afternoon sun.
If you are planning on day trips and want to walk into town each night it is a good choice. Sorrento hotels can be very expensive so this hit the spot for our needs it offered good value for money. The only negative we found was the wi-fi, it was very patchy and we were unable to access it for several days.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews