We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our favorite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Antiche Mura in mid-March. From the welcoming/helpful front desk staff to the lobby bartender, everyone was so nice. The breakfast had a huge selection. The rooms were comfortable. The best part was the location, which couldn't have been better. It was right off the main square, close to shops, restaurants, the marina, the terraces overlooking the ocean. It was also great how they had different happy hour specials each night to enjoy in the lobby bar. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Sorrento. It was so reasonbly priced for the quality and service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwestie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,833
    318
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
501
1,199
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I and another couple started our 10 day trek across Italy in Sorrento. We stayed at the Antiche Mura for 2 nights. Their location is great. Everything is within walking distance - shopping, sightseeing, the train station and of course the great restaurants. The staff was very helpful from the time we were picked up at the Naples airport until the final day we checked out. The breakfast was great...the pool area - fantastic. This is the place to stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RubenCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
322 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Luigi welcomed us all. And although 3 of my children left their passports in Naples, a quick call by Luigi, solved the problem right away. What a way to welcome! It was excellent.

The facilities are not 5 star but it is the service that counts. I was experiencing a slow down in my internet (yes you do need an internet to keep your reviews fresh) at 11PM. The receptionist did something that no night shift receptionist in the world does - he reset the router! One will normally get the night shift receptionist to say, "I will have the technician look into this tomorrow morning." But not this one - he was the technician! For those of us familiar with wifi we know it is not rocket science. And of course, voila, the problem was solved.

The location is perfect, and for breakfast, you have a nice patio to relax amidst the orange trees. The breakfast buffet is generous, and the maitre d' is very attentive and helpful.

It deserves the excellent rating and should be recommended to all who come to Sorrento.

Room Tip: The room we had was overlooking the gorge and had a nice balcony. Ask for the "x01" rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel. As we were preparing for our trip, Michele was very helpful answering many questions about attractions and getting around the area. When we arrived, the staff was so friendly and helpful. Theroom was clean, the beds were very comfortable and the view from our balcony was so enjoyable. Breakfast was fabulous and the breakfast room and garden area were so pleasant. There was a happy hour each night at the lobby bar and the drinks and treats were so good - and by the way, the bartender takes great pictures. He took the nicest picture of my husband and I. The location is very centrally located. We would return to this hotel again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We were on the ravine side and liked that view and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking Surrey UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this gem. Location is great and service from all the staff was fantastic. From the moment we arrived and left they were so helpful and friendly, I cannot fault them at all. We stayed in their standard double room which whilst small was clean, lovely furnishings and the bed was so comfortable. The electronic shutters are brilliant no need to fight with curtains at night! There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but the bar near the reception serve tea and coffee with biscuits. Breakfast was great, fresh wth lots of choice - beware the cakes and biscuits are all fresh and yummy so not good for the waist line!
We would definitely stay at this hotel again but would upgrade to a room with a view.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gibson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Enjoyed a very pleasurable 4 nights at the Antiche Mura , the hotel is located in a quite wonderfull location looking over ancient ruins and having a large terrace populated with a swimming pool and Lemon/ Orange trees and only a minutes walk to the main square in Sorrento.
The hotel building is a reall classy place and the Hotel rooms extremley comfortable.
The service was second to none and the hotel Staff had that wonderful Italian ability to deliver just the perfect amount of service without being intrusive.
Over

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a nine night stay at the Antiche Mura, choosing this hotel based on location, price and reviews from trip advisor. Since we did not have the use of a car in Sorrento and were dependent on public transportation (why would anyone drive in this region?), this hotel is perfectly located for connections to the bus, train and ferry. Just be aware that in order to get to the docks, you have to walk down 137 fairly steep stairs to get to the harbor. Bus transportation is available, but it is unpredictible. There is a lift, but it is a bit out-of-the way to find. The bus on the way back from the harbor is easy to use, since at that point, you are not in a hurry to catch one of the ferries. We liked the hotel's location right near the town square - some people might prefer to be located at one of the hotels further from town, overlooking the waterfront.
We booked one of the hotel's standard rooms, which had a french balcony. The room was fairly small, but was quite attractive. We were prepared to pay for an upgrade, but upon looking at the comfort rooms, we didn't feel that there was that much of a difference. My only complaint was that we overlooked an apartment building, but then, I guess someone has to! We noticed that there was no alarm clock or kleenex in the room - bring your own!
As previous guests have mentioned, the public areas of the hotel are beautiful! I have nothing more too add - can just repeat that the breakfast and pool areas are lovely. Can think of no nicer way to start and end the day. The pastry chef does a beautiful job every morning!
Special thanks to the wonderful staff at the hotel - particularly the cheerful breakfast wait staff, who truly starts everyone's day with a big smile.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanleymaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
1.0 km away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing