We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
231
259
96
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
259
96
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemon grove roof terrace evening meal train station air conditioning basic hotel other guests minute walk excellent location bay of naples head waiter night porter towels changed daily half board balcony room town centre piazza tasso
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 636 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

The hotel room Was typical of Italy but the staff were rude and not helpful in getting restaurant reservations etc. We had friends staying in another hotel in town and they were stopped in the lobby and not allowed to come to our room. Weird. I would never go back because the staff was terrible.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank X5634TWjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta_pizzella, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Dear Mr John,
it seems so strange your review about my staff as you can see in all other guests' opinion, our staff is always available and helpful with guest's request, about reserve a table in one of Sorrento restaurant, calling a taxi and giving any kind of information. I suppose that you asked to book a table in a restaurant where is not possible to do it.
About your reclaim regard what happened with your friends, is very important in our job for the safety of our guests that the concierge staff allows access to people not housed after having checked the documents, because under italian law, it is not allowed to people not registered in the hotel, access to the rooms.
I am very sorry for your disappointment but my staff acted using due caution.
Best Regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

We booked the hotel as a package with Thomsons-now TUI. Excellent value for money as the cost included flights transfers and half board at this hotel. This is a good 3 star hotel and the rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had an ensuite shower with bidet and wash basin. Lovely white towels which were replaced each day. Our balcony provided a lovely view towards Vesuvius and Naples. The Flat screened TV had mostly Italian channels and only CNN in English, however this didn't bother us as we were out most of the time. There isn't a pool here but there is a fabulous roof top terrace with far reaching views towards Naples. Breakfast was the usual continental offering with the addition of scrambled eggs, bacon and the cocktail type sausages. You had to share a table, although we shared with a lovely couple and enjoyed exchanging views about our experiences and generally putting the world to rights.
You had to choose you dinner menu at breakfast time. Slightly of putting at first but we soon got used to it. A good choice of pasta or soup to start with -both were delicious and a choice of meat or fish for main course, usually of a very good standard and very enjoyable. The hotel is perfectly located if you are intending to use the train or ferry to get around and for exploring Sorrento itself. Both the station and port are within 5 -15 minute walk. Top tip -if you're wanting to do Pompeii and Herculaneum you can buy a 3 day Artecard for 32 euros from the shop at the front of the station. This gives you 3 consecutive days of travel (train or buses)between Sorrento and Naples and entry into 3 museums or sites. we used it for Pompeii, Herculaneum and the Archaeological museum in Naples. It also saved us queuing for train and bus tickets.

The hotel staff were lovely and very friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again due to the standard of accommodation and location.

Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: We were in room 325 which had a great view and no doubt higher rooms may have an even better view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Jenniferedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta_pizzella, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Dear Mrs Jennifer,
we are so proud for such an overwhelmed review!
Thank you also on behalf of all my staff for your nice words about them, our centrally location, our clean rooms, and, as you wrote, fabulous roof top terrace.
Thank also for useful typs for other guests!
We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest in a not so distant future!
Kind Regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Once you get off the disgraceful railway from Naples you can go left or right at the main street. Left you end up in the noisy part of Sorrento with all the restaurants and shops.Turn right and things are much quieter and within 10 minutes we were at the hotel .

Very helpful staff, large room, balcony and big bathroom.View overlooking lemon grove and lemoncello tasting area. Make sure you get a bottle from a bottle shop and ask for ice each night for a nightcap as there is no fridge in the room.

The breakfast area was very modern and gave us a good enough breakfast to get us through to dinner. Staff were very attentive and professional.

The view from the roof was great so make sure you go up for photos.

As long as you do not mind a 15 minute walk to the restaurants this is great accommodation.Of course within 5 minutes are some smaller bistros and ample places to buy take away alcohol.

Room Tip: HIgher the room better the view, but if are sitting in your room you are missing the delights of the coast.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta_pizzella, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Dear Mr David,
we thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted for your comment about our staff, our breakfast and view from roof top terrace.
We hope to see you again as soon as possible!
Best Regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Clean
excellent location for trains buses shops ferry
Reception staff very helpful and friendly nothing too much trouble for them
Roof top scenery superb, chairs and tables to enjoy the sun sets . this replaces lack of pool and indeed is a feature to brag about

Food mmm good and bad
choice of meat vegetarian or fish each night always take salad or pasta starter the pasta is excellent
fish soso with bones
Sweets okish ... left overs very often offered next day at breakfast
breakfast .... well you can make something out of the offerings which are self serve
Head waiter can be intimidating seems to want you to have wine with meal and coffee with breakfast Being on medication i could not please him..you can buy water at 2euros and tea available on request
Overall a clean well located hotel with pleasant staff..be prepared to share a table..we were lucky with our guest but it could have been different
Tourist tax payable in cash..obviously this is a unwelcome addition to your bill but not the fault of the hotel .. the italian government must think it will encourage us tourist!!!they are Italian after all!!!
The receptionist are extremely friendly and helpful nothing Being too much trouble
The cleaners unobtrusive and excellent
The position excellent for transport and ferries.and shops
Overall especially with the rooftop lounge
Excellent value
Forgot shower tiny but works room
on the small size but adequate with enough storage

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Margb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Felt that although this hotel was adequate, I wouldn't recommend it to others. Firstly it was inconvenient that the receptionist would only let us have 1 key so we had to go everywhere together and couldn't charge anything electrical unless we were in the room. The window shutters were very difficult to operate and needed a lot of strength to pull them up each day. Breakfast was disappointing as only choice of 2 cereals, 1 sort of milk but several flavours of yogurt in containers. Most days only 1 type of meat and cheese. Juice had to be drunk from disposable plastic beaker although thankfully there were glasses at dinner! Would have preferred to have had a small break between the 3 courses at dinner and a bigger choice of desserts. One night my fresh fruits choice consisted of a smal bunch of grapes. I also consider that all hotels, no matter what their star rating, should have hot water 24/7 but this is not the case at La Meridana. We had to get up early on our day of return and the water wasn't even tepid. This was the same for other guests when they tried to shower early in the morning before going to Rome for the day. The staff are very friendly and we still had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors, especially those with balconies, have good sea views and not quite so much traffic noise.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Pandahooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews