We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - comfy, clean and in an unbeatable location”
Review of La Magnolia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Magnolia
Ranked #38 of 143 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My friend and I went to Sorrento for 5 nights primarily to attend a wedding there. We booked Magnolia after trip advisor reviews and I am so glad that we did.

It was good value compartaively with other accomodation in Sorrento, the room was comfortable and roomy with a great bathroom and the location was unbeatable.

The room has very efficient air con with a control panel in the room which is a must in the Sorrento summer. It was beautifully cool all the time. The fridge in the room was also a real bonus. Carlo was a very welcoming host and helped us with booking trips and ideas for where to go when we did a little exploring. His tips were all fantastic. He spoke good English.

Breakfast each morning was laid for us on the terrace outside our room in the shade. the coffee is great. The OJ, pre-packed biscottes and croissants were fine as well. We bought fruit to eat for brekky too from the shop outside the entrance which was lovely.

La Magnolia is in an unbeatable location. Many other wedding guests were further out of town and moaned about the pain it was getting to town. Here though we were right on the central piazza tasso with easy access to shops, bars, restaurants, bus stops and the station for trains and also buses to the airport. Getting about was a breeze. Despite being in the heart of things, La Magnolia is up a gated cobbled pathway so you don't get any noise from passing people and it is very quiet indeed. So best of both worlds!

This provided everything we needed in our accomodation and exceeded our expectations. Top tip - go on the boat trip to Capri carlo reccomends - probably one of my lovliest days ever! Ask him and he sorts it all out for you. I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelqueenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

My wife and I (over 55) just spent a wonderful week in Sorrento, where we stayed in the Hotel La Magnolia. It is a 10 minute walk to the Circumvesuviana (don’t be intimidated by what you read about this) station, a 5 minute walk to the old town, a 15 to 20 minute walk down to the port, and a 10 minute walk to a wonderful park overlooking the Bay of Naples with Mt. Vesuvius prominent in the distance. We made early reservations, on-line, which we were able to confirm with the owner (Carlo) by email and then phone as our arrival time approached. We found the room charming, clean, and just right. While the room faced a relatively busy street, which could be noisy, closing the shutters and window solved that. Opening the window and shutters in the morning brought us a wonderful view of a waking and soon to be lively town. By the end of our stay, we were waving to the locals who we came to know.

Finally, we can’t praise Carlo enough for his attention to our comfort at the hotel, and his interest and patience helping us with our questions about our visit to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast. On our arrival, the hotel grounds included a garden that wasn’t quite ready for use. Carlo was apologetic about that and vowed to have it ready by the end of our stay. True to his word, he personally prepared our breakfast in the garden on the last day of our stay. We were speechless at his thoughtfulness, and we, too, vowed to return. After only a week, we felt we were leaving a friend.

The hotel is a great value in a great location run by wonderful people. By the way, the Wi-Fi worked great in our room.

RnR

Room Tip: Contact Carlo and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RnRpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Carlo runs this wonderful little hotel. The rooms are very clean and have tv, fridge, air con, hairdryer in the bathroom.
Breakfast was served outside on the patio area and nothing was too much trouble.
I would recommend anyone to visit this beautiful part of Italy and the Magnolia is walking distance to the main piazza and beach.
Thanks to Carlo, I will definately be going back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mytess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We arrived in Sorrento early and were unable to enter the hotel as they are only there until 11am, which we did not know at the time. We found the lady at the shop just outside the entrance very helpful as she called the owner and he showed up a few minutes later. He seemed somewhat put off by us having called him as we arrived early, but it was just because he wasn't prepared and really didn't want to keep us waiting. The rest of the trip he was very helpful and friendly.
Great location, as it's close to the shopping, marina, train station. The room was clean, roomy, had a large bathroom. The only downside was there were no windows, aside from one in the ceiling.
They have free wifi but it doesn't work very well in the rooms so you have to sit near the door or in the bar area of the entrance.
While we would not return to Sorrento, as it was not for us, if we did we would definitely stay here again. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMandaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

When staying in Sorrento with my boyfriend, we chose La Magnolia. It is right in the heart of the city, around all the night life. It was a short walk to the water/beaches and close by to some delicious restaurants. The breakfast every morning was great, the service was okay although the language barrier made things a little uncomfortable, but that is just as much our fault as the inn keeper. The B&B is located amongst many lemon groves which made it very scenic and beautiful. At times, it was a little noisy. Overall, a great place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megank88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Spent 5 nights at La Magnolia....and would go back in a heartbeat! Easy short walk from the Sorrento train station, about 1/2 block from Piazza Tasso which is the heart of town. Easy stroll to old town without having to drag your suitcase thru the busy, narrow streets of old town! Very nice antique-looking wood furnishings, wood floors, newly tiled large bathroom with a clear glass circular shower, comfortable bed, very clean. Charming terrace to enjoy your continental breakfast of cappuccino, croissants and orange juice. Hostess Jenny took very good care of us and is so pleasant and friendly. Host Carlo is very friendly too, and both of them made us feel very welcome to their town. We found this to be the perfect location! Short walk to the train station for a day trip to Pompeii, short walk to catch the bus down to the port for a day trip to Capri, & a stroll down the hill to Marina Grande. Walk 1/2 block to Piazza Tasso so you can stroll thru the town in the evening eating your gelato. Great restaurants in the old town, especially Gigino's! Be sure to take a look at the ruins in the little valley right across the street from La Magnolia. I highly recommend La Magnolia for your stay in Sorrento. Jenny & Carlo.....we hope to come back to Sorrento and we'll definitely stay at La Magnolia again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I stayed at La Magnolia with my mother on a 5 week trip to Europe. We thoroughly enjoyed Sorrento and La Magnolia. Carlo was a great host - very gracious and helpful. The hotel is in a great location with a fruit shop right outside and only a minute's walk from the centre of town. Great shopping and right near the port and train station - definitely recommend traveling via train as the port demands a good hike up a hill ( via many stairs) or a taxi ride with suitcases. We had a room with a skylight window which initially was a slight dissapointment, as you always hope for wonderous views etc as a holiday maker, however the room was great otherwise and the lack of views were very much compensated for by the excellent standard of the room and bathroom (large by Europe's satandards, well appointed, including charming wooden inlaid panelling in the doors and furniture which the area seems famous for, plus was very clean) and the great patio/balcony which we made good use of in the afternoons to blob and write diaries and read the local magazines and guide books from the hotel reception. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Magnolia to anyone. Carlo is a very thoughtful and helpful host. He kept an eye on the weather forcast for us when we wanted to do a day trip to Mt Vesuvius and even provided crockery and glasses for us to enjoy our takeaway pizza and local wine with on the patio...perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovedEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
707 reviews
1.3 km away
B&B Il Roseto
B&B Il Roseto
#8 of 143 in Sorrento
892 reviews
0.3 km away
Relais Villa Angiolina
Relais Villa Angiolina
#22 of 143 in Sorrento
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#15 of 143 in Sorrento
178 reviews
0.4 km away
Magi House Relais
Magi House Relais
#4 of 143 in Sorrento
853 reviews
0.1 km away
Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magnolia

Address: Viale Enrico Caruso 14, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: $82 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Magnolia 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Magnolia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing