We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely roof pool, noisy slamming doors!”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Just come back from my honeymoon today.

We stayed at the Plaza Hotel in Sorrento from 23-30 September 2011.

Upon arrival we were met by a friendly gentleman (didn't catch his name) and given the swipe card to our room. He provided us with complimentary sparkling wine and canopes.

The room was small but neat enough with tv, fridge/mini bar, wardrobe including safe with charging point. Bathroom comprised of shower (no bath) and hair dryer as well as other obvious stuff ie toilet and sink!

On the roof there's a fantastic two tier sun deck with plenty chairs and loungers. Higher up is another sun deck with a pool, flush with the roof (my wife tells me this is called an infinity pool), overlooking the Piazza Tasso, albeit obscured. There's a good view of Vesuvias from here. There's also a snack bar here although it can be hard to catch the barman in attendance.

The restaurant (only serves breakfast) was clean and nice enough. Breakfast comprises cereal, croissants, toast, yoghurt, fruit, cakes & muffins, cold meats and cheese. The hot breakfast selection was for me (as an Englishman) awful. Oily sloppy bacon, half decent scrambled eggs and awful hot dog style sausages. The breakfast was pretty much the same every day.

There is speedy wifi available throughout the hotel which I made good use of. It works great on the roof area too.

The big downside to this hotel for me was the rooms. The walls were paper thin. I could hear adjacent rooms constantly rearranging furniture by scraping them about on the wood floors. I could hear my neighbours on the loo and sneezing. Worst of all was that the big heavy doors to the room slam shut if not held by the occupant. I blame the hotel design in part and I also blame some selfish occupants also. How hard is it to slowly shut a door. Not so bad during the day but doors were slamming at 1am and 6am. This constantly woke myself and my wife up. The noise and the vibration sending shockwaves through our room.

Ok, I could have complained and asked for another room but after unpacking all our stuff it seemed a bit deal especially as I reckoned all the other rooms would be the same. I spoke to some other guest and they had similar problems. I've read another recent review here on TA that says similar. In the end I had to find a Farmacia to buy some earplugs!

It's a shame because other than that it's a nice hotel. Great location right next to the busy Piazza Tasso, literally 1 minute walk if that. The first bar/restaurant you'll come to is the very popular Fauno Bar. Noise from the street was not heard from our room on the fifth floor.

So book if you're a heavy sleeper/deaf. Otherwise avoid/take some earplugs!

Ciao, grazia!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without slamming doors nextdoor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chembleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

Just come back from a short break with friends. The major plus is that the hotel is very central, near to shops, restaurants and the train station. Rooms are clean, smart and comfortable and the breakfast is more than adequate, with a range of hot food, fresh fruit and lovely pastries by their own chef. There's a rooftop pool which is small and not deep but lovely for cooling off and gazing over the bay. The staff were helpful and friendly too, so while not super-luxurious, it is well above average and we'd happily stay again.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony facing the bay! Ours had one, but our friends' didn't....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear guest, thank you for your review! It is nice to know that you would stay at the Plaza again on a future trip to Sorrento. That is the best compliment we could hope to get!
Thank you too for mentioning our rich breakfast and the fact that our rooms are smart and clean. Looking forward to your next visit, receive our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Had the pleasure of staying one night at the Plaza and was exceptionally pleased with the accommodations, service and staff. I want to especially make a mention about Cinzia. She was the person at the front desk when we arrived, under not so pleasant of circumstance. She went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. Look forward to revisiting soon, this time for a longer stay.

I hope everyone has a Cinzia welcoming them no matter where you are.

Mille grazie, Cinzia. Ci vediamo presto!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear guest, "exceptionally pleased" is a beautiful way to describe your stay at the Plaza. Thank you for the nice comments about our accommodations, service and staff. Cinzia has appreciated your kind words and can't wait to welcome you again soon.
We look forward to your "longer stay" in the near future!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The staff were welcoming, the rooms were quiet and clean and the hotel is in the perfect location. The pool area is quite small but we managed to get sun beds.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshBeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to write a review and post beautiful pictures too.
We look forward to you next visit!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Clean and central, staff were friendly and the pool was great. It was an oasis of calm... quite expensive but worth every penny!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aisha_Singleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We booked Sorrento as the first stop on our honeymoon and as Citalia messed up our booking, we ended up here very last minute. Ending up in the crowded Sorrento centre was not what we had hoped for so we weren't expecting great things... Hotel Plaza cheered us up though. Whilst the booking was messed up this was not the fault of the plaza and what we found was an immaculately clean hotel with polite, friendly staff in a location perfect for those wanting to see the sights of Sorrento. Our room was pleasant (although the double bed was two singles pushed together - kind of a trend in Italy we have noticed) and we had a good sized balcony. On the top floor is a great oasis of an infinity pool with a few sun loungers and a nice bar which serves lovely food up until 2pm. NB: Be quick with the sun loungers as there aren't too many...
There is a nice spread at breakfast to set you up for the day and the bar downstairs offers a great setting for a nice glass of wine before dinner.
All in all, it wasn't what we booked but it was what we got and whatever we thought of Sorrento town, this is a great hotel so would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelpPillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in Sept 2011. The hotel is a short walk from the train station, just off the main road in Sorrento and off the main square. It was very convenient for walking to restaurants and down to catch the ferry to Capri. Room was quite large, as was the bathroom. We were next door to the elevator, so there was a little noise from that, but nothing that woke us during the night. Windows were thick so no street noise when closed. The pool on the roof was beautiful as it overlooked the Bay of Naples with Mt. Vesuvius in the distance. There is a large deck on the room with a snack/drink bar. There were only a few lounge chairs directly next to the pool, but lots of lounge chairs nearer the bar. The breakfast was very nice, with a huge spread of pastries, cereals, yogurt, meats, cheeses, rolls, etc. Overall, a good place for its location and pool. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank visitingfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0.4 km away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
0.1 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 km away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $178 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing