We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$459
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$734
US$710
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$462
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$564/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ulisse Deluxe Hostel(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$406
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$428
US$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$519/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$456
US$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1,587
US$1,047
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,884)
Filter reviews
1,884 results
Traveller rating
1,397
426
46
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,397
426
46
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolrooftop barthe main squaremodern hotelpiazza tassogreat hotelpastriestrain stationperfect locationcomfort roomhotel barbreakfast buffetamalfi coastwould definitely stay here againour honeymoonbalcony roomstayed here for a week
Filter
Updating list...
1,182 - 1,187 of 1,884 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We enjoyed a fantastic 2 nights at the very lovely Plaza Hotel using it as a base for a day trip to Naples by ferry. The location was perfect - a 5 minute walk to the Port & beach, and perfect 2 minute wandering distance to Sorrento's main street. Rooms were very clean with new furniture and fixtures and a lovely bathroom. Decor in the lobby and bar was gorgeous. We used the parking with no problems at all, a great service. Breakfast was fantastic & extensive although we didn't try the hot meals - there was so much choice with the balance. Staff were helpful providing ferry times & directions.

Our only minor comments would be that there was some noise from neighbouring rooms but nothing that seriously compromised our enjoyment of the room. Also we were completely unaware there was a rooftop pool!!! Since returning home we have seen the gorgeous photos and wish we'd known about it via the hotel's literature, signage of front desk staff. I put this mainly down to our own fault for not asking!

In conclusion this is a lovely hotel in a perfect location - I couldn't recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bon_vivant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Plaza Hotel was perfect in every way: location, delicious breakfast offerings ( 7 yr old especially enjoyed creme caramel for breakfast)

Excellent staff, spotless and modern room furnishings, free wifi

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed in this hotel late September as part of our month long Honeymoon trip. Overall we were happy but we had quite a few issues with our room/service, which was a little disappointing.

Pro's:
The Location is perfect; it doesn't have the views of the ocean like some of the other hotels, but its only around 50m walk to the main Tasso square. We loved this area and would stay there again.

The price is reasonable for the location and quality of the hotel.

The Hotel and rooms were very modern and new in appearance, which we both loved.

We've stayed at many hotels over the last few years for comparison, but have to make special mention to the girl on the front desk with name Stagnista (excuse the spelling if wrong), she would have to be the nicest and most helpful hotel staff member we have ever come across.

As we were on our Honeymoon, the hotel delivered a couple of glasses of Sparkling Wine and some canapés to our room shortly after check in. This was really thoughtful and much appreciated.

Free wifi

Breakfast was great, good spread of pastries, fruit and cakes. The bacon and sausages were best to be avoided. Fried eggs or omelettes were only available with an additional surcharge of 3 or 4 euro from memory. Hot chocolate was pretty tasty. The selection might feel a bit repetitive on longer stays.

Con's:

We requested a high room on booking around 6 months prior, but unfortunately got a room on the lowest floor despite the hotel not appearing to be full. We booked the more expensive Comfort room double room. A shame, but not a deal breaker. We were on the front of the building and the windows were well insulated, so no street noise. The room we had was small, not really any bigger than what you expect to get in Paris.

The room itself had paper thin walls, we could hear people walking up the stairs, and we weren’t even close to the stairs. We could hear our neighbours showering, toilets flushing and people walking around on the floor above. The most annoying of all was the constant slamming of doors. Some people have no intelligence at all. You would think when you leave your room and notice the door makes a loud bang you would make an effort to close it softer next time you leave your room. The first few days it didn’t bother me, by the 3rd and 4th night, it started to get irritating.

The shower; very small to say the least, appeared to be around 60cm x 60cm. The base was one of those fibreglass trays. We had to report it to maintenance, the drain couldn’t keep up with the water flow, and after around 3 minutes in the shower, the base was full of water and wanted to start flowing on to the tiles. They said they fixed it the next day, but it kept happening. It was annoying having to turn the water off regularly to allow the water to drain.

They serviced our room one day and replaced our two towels with just one. We could share a towel, but for close to 200Euro a night, we shouldn’t have to. Housekeeping brought another.

They gave us the login details to the Wi-Fi, but although we were staying 5 days they only gave us access for 4 days. They were happy to extend access, but it would have been more logical to allow 5 days in the beginning.

The un-eaten canapés they presented us on check-in took 3 days to be taken from our room. Surely they didn’t think we would still want to eat them days later?

Our air-conditioning stopped working one evening. We reported it around 11pm, and were told maintenance would be to our room in around 5 minutes. We changed out of our pjs, and waited around 45 minutes. Wanting to go to bed, we called again. They said they will look at it tomorrow. A courtesy call would have been nice, rather than us having to follow-up up on it. It was unpleasantly hot that night, and it was the worst night’s sleep we had in our whole trip.

So some pro's and cons we are un-decided if we would want to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AussieTraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Plaza Hotel was perfect in every way: location, delicious breakfast offerings, personable staff, spotless/modern room furnishings, free computer/printer use, etc.
However, what launched this Hotel to the top of my all-time-favorite list is that they completely surprised me with an afternoon room service delivery of a chocolate/strawberry/whipped cream mini birthday cake and champagne! At first I thought my husband had ordered it or mentioned that our romantic Sorrento visit was a birthday celebration...but when thanking the desk staff, they told me they routinely scan the guest list for birthdays--noted on the passports we submitted upon check-in! So very thoughtful and memorable. Thanks!!

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room with a view, and we had a lovely view of the port from our 5th floor window.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eager_Traveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in September for our first anniversary and couldn't have picked anywhere better! The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were efficient and friendly, and the breakfasts were excellent. The location of this hotel is arguably its best feature. you are literally a 30 second stroll from the Piazza Tasso, and numerous eateries. We returned to the hotel bar every night after dinner out for a quiet drink, and noticed that many of the other guests did the same.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews