We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to stay”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My daughter booked this hotel for our vacation. The staff was wonderful and the location was great. It is located up the block from the town center . Everything in walking distance.

The breakfast was delicious. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricia56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at the Plaza for several days in mid-April and can honestly say that it was one of the best, and nicest, hotels we've ever stayed at.

The location is unbeatable – just a minute or two’s walk from Piazza Tasso, the main square, and a few minutes from the railway station (trains to Naples), but without the noise that usually goes with such a central location.

From our first arrival we were given a warm welcome, and looked after exceptionally well by all the staff. The Reception staff were all friendly and helpful, as were the two waiters serving breakfast.

The room was spotlessly clean, and of a decent size. The bathroom was spacious, and as well as the standard overhead shower there was a very useful hand shower - why aren't all hotel showers designed as well as this? It was a proper, spacious, walk-in shower with a door, too - no tacky plastic curtains. There was a very good hairdryer, also in the bathroom, as well as a bidet. The eco-friendly toiletries were replenished daily.

Along with the rest of the hotel, the bedroom and bathroom were stylishly and sensibly designed. The balcony was a great advantage, overlooking, as it did, the road at the front of the hotel. Street noise? Not a bit of it - the double-glazed sliding doors provided total soundproofing, and the room was absolutely quiet.

There was interesting art on the walls of the bedroom and throughout the hotel, and the whole place had an air of cool, stylish calmness – a very far cry from the impersonal chain hotels that are so prominent everywhere now.

The infinity pool on the top floor of the hotel was beautifully set, with stunning views across to Vesuvius. It was clean, with plenty of chairs, and a real pleasure to use on a warm sunny day. We stayed from 16 April, and were delighted that the pool was already open.

Breakfasts were a positive joy - we stayed for 11 nights, but even at the end of the holiday we were still enjoying them. Rarely do you find such a wonderful selection of freshly made cakes and pastries (really fresh croissants, for example – a rare delight in hotels these days), along with all the other things you’d expect from a quality hotel, including, perhaps unusually for Italy, bacon, sausages, scrambled egg and beans. The cold meats and cheeses, tomatoes, salad etc are all there, too, but a bacon and egg breakfast is always a great start to the day. Great coffee, too, and you can even make your own vegetable/fruit juice in a juicer from the ingredients provided. A lot of thought went into making this such a good breakfast, with so many options, and it typifies the way in which the Plaza obviously tries hard to keep its guests happy.

The two waiters provided efficient, very helpful and friendly service, working together extraordinarily well as a team. On our last day they even went to special trouble to make sure that we managed to get breakfast before a particularly early flight - nothing was too much trouble for them.

Finally, the free Wi-Fi provided in all the bedrooms was really appreciated and extraordinarily useful - a really nice additional touch, and a refreshing change from some of the outrageously high prices charged by some hotels.

You’ll find a decent-sized room safe, all the usual room facilities, and a clever little system which illuminates a small display outside your room to show whether you’re in and whether or not you want to be disturbed – no more knocks at the door from cleaning staff when you’re still getting dressed!

Civilised, stylish, well-designed, calm, efficient - these are the words that immediately spring to mind about the Plaza, along with the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff. If you’re looking for a really great place to stay in Sorrento, look no further – I guarantee you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShingleStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

I am currently waiting to depart Hotel Plaza to go home. I am sad as this stay has been amazing and everything I wanted from a honeymoon. The decor if the hotel is modern, clean, comfortable and simple. When we arrived our room had no balcony so I asked if we could be moved and this was done immediately. All the staff are so knowledgable and friendly. Our room was not huge but had everything we needed and was cleaned daily. Breakfast was lovely and had lots of options, even though I do wonder who would eat cake for breakfast! The rooftop terrace is amazing, with its pool and beautiful views of Sorrento it is a must. Free WiFi helped us stay connected with home and is a bonus when other hotels normally charge. The location is right next to the main square so perfect for making the most of Sorrento. Everything about this hotel made our holiday easy so we could concentrate on having fun.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaime222red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have stayed at many different hotels in Sorrento by now, and I must saw Plaza Hotel is definitely on my shortlist for future references. What i like most is that the staff don't really notice you. You're in, you're out, and no one gives a hoot. I also like it that everything is newly renovated - clean and neat. I was upgraded to a very nice room (possibly one of the the best rooms) during shoulder reason so I have nothing to complain about. I imagine that some other rooms may be a bit small, though. I loved my balcony. I also think that there is a tiny bit of mildew smell that may be due to the hotel being closed all winter.
Now onto my favorite thing: the breakfast. I read some bad reviews about its breakfast while booking through an online agency but it does not deserve the bad reviews. The breakfast was fabulous. Lots of fresh ingredients and the best? A fruit juice bar with all sort of veggies as well to make the best concoction. I loved it. They even had fennel. I extended one more night because I liked the hotel...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Plaza Hotel in Sorrento is perfectly located, just off the main square on a quiet road. The hotel is small, but elegant and beautifully decorated. The rooms are comfortable. The staff were wonderful and so helpful in recommending transport options, tourist attractions as well as lovely restaurants. The bartender in the bar downstairs made the best martinis and strawberry caprioskas. We had a lovely time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

An excellent hotel! Great location! Everywhere was clean & fresh. Wide choice at the breakfast buffet. I would certainly stay there again, as would the rest of the group.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coachhousesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Plaza recently and we were very happy with the location, the modern amenities. Yes the room was small but that seems to be the norm in Italy. Unfortunately as it was April the rooftop pool was not open. The hotel is steps away from main square where there are many fine restaurants. Really a beautiful stay at a gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,317 reviews
0.4 km away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
617 reviews
0.1 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.2 km away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $183 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing