We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of La Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We spent two nights at La Minerva and loved it. It is a small, family-run boutique hotel with 15 rooms. We had a room on lowest floor, with our own large balcony. The room itself was well designed, like the entire hotel. It has a wonderful terrace we breakfast is served, and a pool including a small bar. Above all the loved the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and the entire staff - truly unique and amazing. A home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhinelandAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    41
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
105
707
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Capri in early April and stayed a couple of nights at La Minerva. I speak for both my boyfriend and I when we say this is the best hotel, we have ever stayed at, in our lives, ever. The hotel is immaculate and decorated just enough decadently, just enough cozy and just all around perfect. The owners and the staff treat you absolutely amazing from the front desk, to the pool, to the breakfast staff. If you needed any sort of recommendations on what to do, where to go and especially dinner they guide you to the best places. One of my favorite features was the turn down service where they give you a whole menu of items pertaining to the next day which included a famous Italian quote, the weather, things to do, etc. I really can't say enough great things about the people and the places....you just must go and experience this for yourselves. Thanks La Minerva! Best, Ana & Stuart

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amijich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at La Minerva for three nights in mid-April. We had a wonderful time. It was the most caretaking experience my husband and I have ever had at a hotel. Here's the back story. We arrived in the middle of a mini-cyclone. We weren't even sure the ferries would be running that morning. Fortunately, the large car ferry was still operating out of Sorrento. The weather was terrible when we got to Capri. Torrential rains and high winds. Umbrellas were of no use. We got to La Minerva around 10:30 in the morning and looked like drowned rats. The owners (brothers) were incredible. They immediately took our wet coats and offered us tea and coffee. Then, they said that breakfast was still being served upstairs and why didn't we go up and have breakfast while they checked to see if our room was ready. We couldn't believe it. We hadn't had breakfast that morning, because the electricity had gone out at our vacation rental in Positano. So, wet and bedraggled, we had the loveliest and most welcome breakfast ever. It was our first experience meeting Kamal, who would continue to take wonderful care of us each morning at breakfast.

After we ate, we found that our room was ready. We promptly got into the incredibly comfortable king size bed (a rarity in Italy) and fell asleep. We awoke refreshed and ready to explore the enchanting island of Capri.

Our room was just beautiful with a large bed, small sofa and large doors that led out to a lovely terrace. The terrace overlooked an umbrella pine and a distant view of the sea. The bathroom was spacious with pretty, bright tiles, and two sinks.

What made this hotel so remarkable were the brothers, Luigi and Antonino, and Kamal, the breakfast man. Both Luigi and Antonino were genuinely welcoming, but also wonderfully funny! They took wonderful care of us and are clearly committed to providing excellent service. We enjoyed the great breakfast buffet and talking with Kamal. He always encouraged us to try something interesting from the buffet or a crepe or other treat from the kitchen. What a delightful person!

We could go on and on. My husband and I are seasoned travellers and have stayed at many hotels in both the U.S. and Europe. La Minerva is one of the most delightful hotels we have stayed at. Our sincere thanks to Luigi, Antonino, Kamal, and the housekeeping staff. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Just got back from four amazing days in Capri and it was paradise. La Minerva went above and beyond in making our stay perfect. Anything you need is delivered within minutes and Luigi and Antonino were very friendly and helpful. My husband loves his coffee first thing in the morning and within 2 minutes of him calling for coffee, it arrived. Hands down the BEST hotel we have ever stayed at. We had a superior room with an amazing balcony with views you cannot describe until you have seen it with your own eyes. Thank you La Minerva for making our stay in Capri definitely one to remember. I was not looking forward to turning 40 but Capri made this birthday unforgettable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdelaney72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I just got home from a once in a lifetime trip to Capri. It all started with arriving to LaMinerva.
The staff is so informative, welcoming and always first class service. We will visit again and definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view! Try to get a higher level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We just completed our two night stay at this exemplary hotel-the location is perfect, exceedingly clean, the friendliness and knowledge of local hotel management is beyond anyone's expectations. The property is rated four stars but is more like five!! Luigi and Antonino, the managers are so friendly they make you feel like you are the most important person on vacation in Capri. The room was large, very well appointed and what a view from our balcony, facing the ocean. We highly recommend this property to others and it was a delight to receive such outstanding value from our choice!! We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and even my extra request for flowers in the room was fulfilled at very reasonable cost. Outstanding hotel-outstanding people!! Thanks. Diana & Parker Knox, Canada

Room Tip: We especially liked the double deluxe facing the ocean with large seaside balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We just spent four days at La Minerva as part of our honeymoon. Beautiful setting and we were happy that it was slightly off season so the area and surroundings were not as busy as the normal season. All of the staff are very helpful, friendly and will go out of their way to be of assistance when they can. The rooms are clean and spacious with beautiful bathrooms. The deck from our room was relaxing with a nice view looking around the surrounding area. They leave a daily summary of what the day ahead brings from the weather to what will be served on the menu for breakfast to the best place to see. Once you depart the ferry take the funicular up to the main square and then it is a 5 minute walk to the hotel through pretty cobbled stone streets. We asked to have our luggage picked up and brought direct to the ferry when we were leaving for an extra €10. It's definitely a place to consider if you're looking for a smaller more intimate hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.9 km away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.3 km away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
0.3 km away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Property: La Minerva
Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
#4 Best Value Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your La Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing