We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but too dated for a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

The staff was very nice and welcoming. We had a problem with our airconditioning and we were relocated to another room. however the facilities are way too dated. All the furnishing is almost 20 years old and need some serious restyling. The breakfast buffet was good and cheap (10 euros per person), but we could not stay on the terrace because there were too many wasps flying around the food. Same with the pool, the views are great but everything is screaming for an update.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the sea, because otherwise you will be facing a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_28006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarantinoGiovanni, Direttore at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear sir , sorry for the wasps we can't do noting you are to sweet ..
The Weber Ambassador is a 5 star hotel and not 4 star.
Of course if you book the less expensive room you can not have the best.
Any way like every every year We will renew some of rooms.
G.Tarantino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The room had many deficiencies and was very noisy as it was directly under the restaurant. The front dest clerk was rude. My wife provided a feedback on TripAdvisor on the second day of our stay. The hotel management called on her and requested a meeting with her. In the meeting they requested that she removes the negative feedback in exchange for free accommodation. The offer started with 50% discount and increased to free stay plus an extra free week for a future trip. They were extremely rude and pushy and intimidating to my wife who did not accept their various offers and refused to remove her feedback. They threatened her that she does not know the Italian laws and false reviews will be prosecuted with threat of jail time. If this sounds silly it off-course is and we knew that it was an idle threat. However we were concerned of what they may be capable of doing and many negative thoughts went through our minds and ruined the remaining portion of our stay. We were in a foreign country and were dealing with a potentially dangerous situation.
In response to her feedback, the hotel manager responded and falsely accused us of harassing the desk clerk. His remarks are false, hurtful and slanderous. Unfortunately the only way to remove the untrue and slanderous remarks of the manager is to remove my wife’s entire review. As a matter of principal my wife will not remove her review. Shame on the management of this hotel for their false and hurtful remarks!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AliYazdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarantinoGiovanni, Direttore at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Sir,
we did not say that your old lady harassed our employee, we just told your lady that you bother our employees and if you still were there we would have been forced to live the hotel.I see that you were worried because also in Italy, whoever annoys a woman you can have problem, at our employees do not care about family issues.
The rest is all fantasy, fantasies invented by you and you should be ashamed for that.
You are young, nice looking guy and in the country you come Iran,do not bother married ladies!!
Dear Sir, this is the reply we posted to your first review:
"We inform all our potential guests to not make any proposals to our girls at the reception.
Our girls are married or engaged and they have a dignity.
The hotel does not have any prejudice, but our guests must know that our employees receive a salary and even with the threat of being fired
they don’t like to be ladies guide at night, do not want to go out with men, and do not accept any proposals of gifts to be a company for women and men.
I want to inform this writer that we will not fire Alfonsina.
Thank you."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Visited this hotel for a long weekend with my girlie friends. The trip was amazing from start to finish. On our first night we were not 100% happy with our room so the hotel manager changed it first thing next morning, no fuss or stress involved, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and tidy with towels and toiletries refreshed every morning. The staff were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough for you. The food at the hotel was brilliant. We stayed half board so breakfast and dinner was included, the hotel was very flexible you could swap your evening dinner to a lunch (as long as you informed them the day before - which is reasonable) lunch and dinner was from a set menu which had plenty of choices which differed daily and portion sizes were very generous. Drinks are not included as part of the deal but all drinks were available and reasonably priced.
The free shuttle in to town every 15-20 minutes was a real bonus and for 5 Euros per person to the port was perfect. However, I would recommend the open top taxi's at least once.. very decadent.
if you get the opportunity to do a boat trip around the island then go for it. The hotel will organise it for you. We chose to book a private boat at 130 Euros between us, so well worth it. Gino was fabulous, a real character with in-depth knowledge of the island and the sites.
I have already recommended Capri and the Hotel Weber Ambassador to my work colleagues. An amazingly beautiful place to visit with real character and charm and the same goes for Capri itself. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarantinoGiovanni, Direttore at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear lady,
I and all my staff thank you for your wonderful review you wrote for our hotel.
We all hope you can get back to our hotel for next year or soon possible.
We send you our greetings from Capri.
Giovanni Tarantino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The views clearly override services and amenities here. The rooms were clean and very simple yet the views were amazing. The pool was a little dated and service there was not the friendliest in comparison to other areas traveled (4 star hotels).
The hotel front desk was amazing! Suzanne especially - she recommended great restaurants and was very helpful in planning our boat trip for the next day. 5++ TO her!
We only stayed one night in Capri and looking back would have loved at least 2, if not 3.

Room Tip: I would not suggest staying in no view rooms- under the pool area in a dark spot. Worth it to pay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarantinoGiovanni, Proprietario at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Sir,
you did not have so much money and you preferred a standard room overlooking the sea and the fantastic bay of Marina Piccola. But after one month you complain and you say that the room was basic!!! But for a 80 Euros You pretend a palace?
The pool was built 5 years ago.
We are wait for your next year but please bring with you little more money , so we can give you the best.
G.Tarantino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of September for our honeymoon. The hotel is very dated and could do with a refurbishment, however the views were amazing. We experienced 2 days of bad storms in which caused the hotel to have a power cut and our room also had no water from the taps in the sink or the shower for 24 hours. When we went down to reception to reception in the morning to let them know that we had no water they replied in a very abrupt manner and said 'Do you mean no HOT water' however I didn't mean this, I explained that we had no water at all, no hot or cold water. Not once were we given an apology and the staff were extremely rude. I asked if we could have a bottle of water to brush our teeth in which the person at the pool bar wanted to charge us for by asking us for our room number.
We went out for the day and returned at 6pm to find still no power or water and still no apology from staff. Luckily it came back on around 7pm.
We went to eat in the hotel restaurant one night in which we queued up for 15 minutes to be seated. Once seated we waited another 15 minutes before I had to get up and ask one of the waiters if we could have menus. To which we still had to wait another 5 minutes before anyone came over with menus. By that time we didn't want to eat there anymore and therefore got up and left.
The only positives about this hotel are the views and the shuttle bus which was regular into Capri town. I would never return to this hotel. As it was our honeymoon it was a special occasion and this hotel ruined the experience.

Stayed: September 2017
4  Thank KateR1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarantinoGiovanni, Direttore at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Our guest has stayed 5 days at the Weber Ambassador.
At that time a landslide felt down on the south part of the island hitting a house 500meters far from the hotel killing 2 people.
The local police cut the zone off the electricity for 5 hours for the survey, but our generators worked for the all 5 hours.
We gave our customers an open bar, but this customer took 3 bottles of an expensive wine away from the dinner room, that's why the waiter asked him for the room number.
The following morning this guest did not want to pay all the stay for 1600 Euros threatening to write a bad review.
The management agreed to let him pay only 4 nights and we give the authorization for the bad review.
We are very sorry but we will be always fully booked for your second honeymoon.
Sometimes some people exploit even the misfortunes for a little money without even having respect for deads!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Wow the amazing view you get when you arrive at the hotel. From the marina, they can pick-you up for a small fee but then you have access to the shuttle for free every 20 minutes to go in the city. A very short walk from the beach where you can relax. The view from the restaurant is just breathtaking...I will come back for sure!

Room Tip: best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rainmelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarantinoGiovanni, Direttore at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Mr. Rainmelk,
I and my whole staff thank you for your wonderful review you wrote for our hotel.
We look forward to your next stay and we send you our greetings from Capri.
Giovanni Tarantino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Love love love it!!

Cannot fault this hotel, we are here right now and have been looked after from the moment we checked in. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here they cannot do enough for you.

Food is fab, rooms are spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped, any extras you need will be delivered in a flash.

The hotel grounds are kept spotlessly clean and no matter what we have eaten either in the restaurant or pool bar has been fantastic and compared to other European hotels is also very reasonably priced.

I absolutely cannot fault this place, the views from the hotel are breathtaking and Capri is a delight.

Very very happy customers

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank somervic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarantinoGiovanni, Direttore at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear lady Somervic,
I and all my staff thank you very much for writing a wonderful review of our hotel.
We will remember her as our Vip customer, hoping to see her again and she will know from November 24th I will be the new General manager of the Grand Hotel Ambassador in Paris.
The G.M of the Grand Hotel Weber Ambassador
Giovanni Tarantino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
1.2 km away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
1.2 km away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 40 in Capri
848 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#28 of 40 in Capri
730 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#14 of 40 in Capri
746 reviews
1.2 km away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri

Address: Via Marina Piccola 118, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Price Range: $179 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weber Ambassador Hotel is a four-star luxury Capri hotel, right on the beach of Marina Piccola, the nicest of Capri Island. No beach in Capri isle and in the world is more fashionable and exclusive than Marina Piccola. This hotel is ideal for those who are looking for a totally relaxing holiday, in perfect harmony with nature and the sea, in a location well away from the bright, noisy and some time problematic Piazzetta, a very crowded place where all discos and night clubs are, and where thousand of young people spend the night in gangs. Although this is only metres away, and can be reached using our free shuttle service, which runs every 5 minutes throughout the day and until 3.00 Am. We won't offer you "3 for 2" or "5 for 3" nights like some Capri hotels do and in which, when you book and stay only one night because the place isn't inhabitable, they make you pay for the whole stay. You can book a room at the Weber Ambassador through our booking system online ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing