We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“La Tosca Capri, very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Tosca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Tosca
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“La Tosca Capri, very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Location is very good, clean rooms, the owners are very kind, good value for money. It is just a little hard to find it if you follow directions given in the site.
I definitively recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozibaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    120
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
119
408
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Hotel Tosca is ideally situated at a fraction of the cost of so many of the surrounding hotels. The décor is clean & simple. On arrival we appreciated the welcoming complimentary beverage on the patio & the opportunity to take in the magnificent view.
Ettore thank you so much for adding to the pleasure of our 1 night stay in Capri (Sept. 30th). We sincerely appreciated the time you took to map out suggested hikes & sights that we may have otherwise missed during our short stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1moreoffthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Thankyou Ettore for making us feel so welcome and for making Capri possible on a budget. This place is simple but relaxed and made us very happy. Our room had a sweet little balcony with a glimpse of the sea, and we ate breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine. Plus our host was a mine of insider information: how to eat, drink and hire a boat on Capri without bankrupting yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koshkalila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

It was in a pretty good location, very clean rooms, extremely nice staff, and resonable price.
Was a little bit tough to find when we just arrived in Capri but when we called Ettore he explained us in details.
I understand why people gave such a good review on this hotel. I would love to stay in Hotel La Tosca next time I visit Capri.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariayeasong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at La Tosa for 3 nights in a standard double bedroom.

We had been upgraded to this room from our smaller room on the basis that this room had a sea view. I had no complaints since we effectively got a larger room for the same price. However the room was near the reception (again I sleep soundly so noise isnt an issue for me but may be for some people) and the view was one of Capri with a sliver of a view of the sea. I dont expect a customer paying full price for a sea view would be pleased with this. In our case, we didnt mind given the upgrade. The room was of a good size as was the bathroom and was spotlessly clean. Shampoo, towels, hair dryer, etc were provided. The airconditioning worked well and the shower had decent pressure with plenty of hot water.

The breakfast was sufficient - croissants, toasted bread, capuccino. Nothing to write home about but friendly service and plentiful amounts. I asked for more toasted bread, butter and jam and this was never an issue and staff were obliging and friendly.

The hotel is more like a simple B&B but what truly elevates this hotel is Ettore's service. He is friendly and knowledgeable. He gave us plenty of guidance for walks and restaurants. He always took the time out to explain things to us patiently and asked how our day went. From arranging for the porter to carry our bags on departure to giving us beach towels for swimming, he anticipated our needs and was always ready to assist. His helpful, engaging manner is what elevates this hotel to a 4 star experience.

The hotel itself is well located. Close to town but tucked away down a charming street which is peaceful. Its right next to the Augustus gardens (which have lovely views and are quite peaceful esp if you visit them towards the evening when the day trippers have left) and next to Via Krupp from where you can walk down to the lovely beach. We thought the hotel was fairly easy to find. Its worth requesting the porter service to pick up your bags when you arrive. I had mistakenly omitted to do this and we were quite tired lugging our bags to the hotel! The entire trip from port to funicular to hotel was easy though. Also request the porter service in advance if you want them to pick up your bags on departure.

In terms of restaurants - we thought the food at Bucca di Bacco and Da Gemma (esp the Sicilian raviolo with smoked cheese and aubergines) was good as was the friendly service. The gelato/dessert place close to the Ferragamo store was excellent - I particularly liked the coffee icecream and the biscuits with whole almonds.

We rented a boat from Banana boats (Ettore helpfully supplied us with lots of information on boat rentals) for 3 hours and went around Capri and swam near the grottoes. It was a wonderful experience.

We also went on several long walks kindly suggested by Ettore. The Arco Naturale walk was lovely as was the Arc itself. We took the series of winding steps from the Arc that led to the Faraglioni and the views were breathtaking - including a view on a platform just before you get to the Faraglioni and private beach - the view made you feel like you were standing on the edge of a cliff looking at the Faraglioni - we returned there to watch a sunset. We also used the private beach for a few hours (and negotiated the rate down accordingly) and swam around. At that stage we hadnt discovered the Via Krupp beach or done our boat trip. In retrospect one could always use the free public Via Krupp beach to swim and view the Faraglioni.

We also took the chair lift up to Mount Solare - it was great fun. We then took a walk down the mountain suggested by Ettore. Some of the views was terrific but I would STRESS that this walk is a moderately difficult one (it is more of a wild path down the mountainside and at times you have to use your hands for support as well) for experienced hikers. I dont fall into that category so found it very hard going. I would also recommend you take a torch. The walk takes 1-2 hours but the chairlift stops by about 5pm or so. In the event you attempted the walk and it started getting darker (and you couldnt return to take the chairlift) you would definitely need a torch. I understand there are supposed to be red paint markers on stones throughout the trail but we found none. Luckily we did have internet/google access on our phones so could map our trail. Having said that, at one point on the trail you get a 360 degree plus view of the island and sea all around - its quite lovely. Dont do the walk if its been raining because its hard enough without contending with slippery mud!

Prior to Capri we had been in Positano which I didnt think much of. I expected Capri to be even more touristy. During the day hordes of tourists come in. The advantage of doing the walks is that most day trippers dont have the time/inclination to do them and for most part you bump into relatively few people during the walk. It makes you feel as if you have the island largely to yourself. It was quite wonderful walking past villas with orchards full of lemons, peaches, oranges, flowers etc - a slice of heaven we thought.

Ettore is a great guide and gives you tons of information and assistance. He makes everything easy for you and is the reason La Tosca has its high rating!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BombayGlobetrotter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

There is nothing missing in this little hotel. Absolutely fabulous location in Capri with charming immaculate renovated rooms. A friendly and caring staff who have lived on Capri all their lives offering suggestions for meals and things to see and do that were ideally suited to our interests. A great value, wonderful capuccino, sun filled rooms, lobby and terrace! Pick a room with a covered terrace as it feels more like an apartment than a hotel room. With so many shops to buy wine and beautiful foods to take out a refrigerator in the room and a bistro table on the terrace for an intimate dinner party was a wonderful way to spend out last evening on this gorgeous island! Our time there was short but so memorable we shall definitely return to Hotel la Tosca.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at La Tosca from September 23 to 29 and loved it. Although with high expectations, because of the many good reviews, the welcome and room we were given were more than expected. The room was light and airy, very clean and with modern furniture and with a balcony (on request) with a lovely view over the town of Capri and the sea with the famous landmarks of Capri! We loved having our breakfast on the balcony every morning with that stunning view. The hotel must have been recently renovated as the room and other areas looked better in reality than on the online photo's. The bathroom was also modern and very clean. We found the hotel quite easy to find, we followed the instructions and checked our route a couple of times and within 10 minutes easy walking you are there.
The location of La Tosca is excellent and the famous Krupp walk is starting right around the corner. The isle of Capri was also amazing: so lush and green and full of flowers everywhere - and very peaceful at this time of year (except from the day trips). There is no traffic noise to be heard which is so amazing!
Ettore was very friendly and helpful and full of information on what to do around the island. He showed us the many walks and other things you can do around the island, how to get from A to B and when to do them and had good suggestions for lunch and dinner.
The other staff members were also very friendly and welcoming. All in all: a real gem (even moreso considering the prices of the other hotels Capri) and we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.7 km away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 41 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 km away
La Minerva
La Minerva
#1 of 41 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#6 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Hotel Gatto Bianco
#9 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tosca

Property: Hotel La Tosca
Address: Via Dalmazio Birago 5, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Capri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#3 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#3 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quite and simple atmosphere and the warm hospitality are the main characteristic of this small, cozy hotel that it has been completely renovated and equipped with new comfort. From the wonderful terraces that overlook the ancient Monastery of St Giacomo, you will have an impressive view of the Faraglioni rocks and a completely relaxing holiday. Located in Capri center.Free wi fi and free use of Ipad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Tosca Capri
La Tosca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing