We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Canasta!”
Review of Hotel Canasta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Canasta
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Have been to Capri every summer for 15 years, this past summer was my first time I had the pleasure of staying at this charming hotel that felt like home. The location is perfect...it is a very beautiful short 5 minute walk to all the shops & restaurants in Capri. The hotel has a chic feel to it that is kept up to the highest standards. The pool area is so relaxing....it is surrounded by wood decking and grass with very chic furniture under a canopy of high trees (plenty of sunshine) and a view of the sea. The vegetation is like nothing I have seen. I must say one of my favorite things about this wonderful place were the equally wonderful proprietors husband and wife Pietro & Paola D'Emilo along with Oksana whom served us breakfast among lemon trees (amazing as well) every morning. We truly LOVED them all! So very helpful with all things Capri! I can honestly say I would stay here every time. Capri is my favorite place in the world and during the day can be a bit busy....this hotel was the perfect spot for a little alone time during the hot of the day to just hang by the pool and chat with other guests.... Cannot wait to return :) Thanks again for the beautiful memories! xo

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aciotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed with Pietro D'Emilio, proprietor of Hotel Canasta, during our honeymoon and had a terrific stay. Pietro was extremely helpful with travel tips and local restaurant recommendations. The breakfast spread was tremendous - do not miss it! Very nice hotel with clean accommodations in a quiet part of the island. We hope to return someday soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Wow. What a chic, stylish, spotlesss hotel. The gleaming white-patterned tile interior is enhanced with large windows with views of the welcoming and beautifully kept patio, and our room had French doors opening to a terrace which overlooked Marina Piccola. The room and bath were spacious even by American standards. The room was bright, pristine, with ample closet space, a full bath, and comfortable beds. Breakfast was delicious, with a wide variety from scrambled eggs to homemade pastry, and I wish we'd stayed longer than 2 nights, so will have to return! I would have expected to pay much more for much less. An excellent choice for anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martha_KNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Great hotel, wonderful staff, clean and comfortable room. Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: patio very nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Capri was one of the stops in our trip in the Amalfi coast and we debated whether we should come for a single day excusion (as most travellers do) or stay a few nights. we decided to go for a 2 nights stay. This proved to be the best decision ever, especially after arriving to the hotel and entering our room (#15).
It has a beautiful garden and it is overlooking the sea. it is the best place to catch some rays during the day and was the best selling point for us.
In addition, the room is decorated well with a local charm.

Pros:
Location - 5 minutes walk from the main piazza and close to everything else you might need.
Room - spacious, clean, mini fridge, beautiful garden, great shower with hot water, comfortable bed, safe.
Staff - extremely friendly and kind, gave good recommendations for restaurants and sights.
Breakfast - included and satisfying.
WiFi - in lobby

Cons:
WiFi - no reception in the room, but they did try to fix the issue.

Bottom line:
If you are in Capri, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room vith a view to the sea. room 15 is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david_amir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Hotel Canasta is not a big mega-resort, and fit our needs perfectly.

The rooms are fantastic, with gorgeous tile throughout the room and large bathroom. A moderate sized pool perfect for lounging in the afternoon sun with a fantastic view.

Hotel Canasta is close to everything in Capri. (I guess it's a small place, it's all close) and the service was great. The man at the front desk was much more friendly and helpful than the woman.

The breakfast buffet and service is top notch. With a great price, service and location you can't go wrong with Hotel Canasta.

Room Tip: If you want a patio with a view make sure to ask. We had a nice little patio that overlooked... the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank home2daygone2morrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here for four nights as part of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. The pool area and the outside breakfast terrace are both absolutely beautiful. Breakfast itself was fantastic and the waitress incredibly friendly, it’s also served later than most so you can enjoy a lie in!

We had a standard room which was pretty basic and quite small but had everything you needed, including a very pretty outside terrace. The decor won’t be to everyone’s taste but I loved the 50s styling and beautiful tiles. The double bed was two beds pushed together which wasn’t ideal but everything was spotlessly clean. Great, central location and free wifi in public areas (shame it didn’t stretch to room though).

It’s an intimate family-run hotel so if you’re looking for a large all-singing property with a concierge and proactive/outgoing service you won’t find it here. The reception staff didn’t tell us much when we arrived but whenever we asked a question or needed anything at all they were always very helpful and friendly. Canasta is discreet, quiet and beautiful and we found it to be simply perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel 4 Stagioni
Hotel 4 Stagioni
#19 of 40 in Capri
350 reviews
1.2 km away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
1.1 km away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 40 in Capri
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
1.4 km away
Hotel Palatium Mari
Hotel Palatium Mari
#32 of 40 in Capri
137 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 40 in Capri
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canasta

Address: Via Campo di Teste 6, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#5 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#6 Family Hotel in Capri
#13 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $185 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canasta 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Canasta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canasta Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing