We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Capri”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The pool are was great- very quite and relaxing. It was nice to have breakfast included. The location is perfect and the hotel itself was very beautiful. Capri is an expensive area so I think you get a little of what you pay for. Very friendly staff. I would not suggest booking a ferry, etc at the front desk. I think it would save you money to book it on your own- if you are looking for a better deal vs most convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaryninSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

What a gem of a hotel. Central, spotless, charming decor and fabulous grounds and pool to boot. The owner, Gianpiero couldn't have been any kinder or more helpful. We had a lovely double room with spacious bath and balcony for around 170 euros a nite. A steal for high season. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laitalia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

It was a last-minute decision to include Capri in our honeymoon itinerary... after rave reviews of this island we chopped 2 nights off Positano and given the time of year, there weren't many hotels with availability. The San Felice came back with a Deluxe Room at E220, which we thought sounded reasonably given it's seemingly great location. We booked it!

Upon arrival in Capri (amazing views of the island as you come in towards the harbour on the cat) we took one of those funny open air stretch Fiat cabs up to the top of the mountain - the centro - which is where every vehicle on Capri has to stop. There is only foot traffic beyond a certain point, which is fabulous. We dragged our cases through the main piazzetta and after asking a friendly waiter where our hotel was located, we tootled down the other side of the square along a gorgeous cobble-stoned "street", past some amazing shops (I managed to get my husband back there later in the day!), up a little pathway and voila - there was our hotel, tucked neatly behind the piazza at the junction of the high end designer stores. What an amazing location! It was literally a five minute walk from our cab to the hotel!

We checked in and were a little jaded with the standard of our room. It would be fair to say it was the shabbiest quality of all the places we visited on this trip, however we decided we'd only be there to sleep so it would be fine. It was big enough, and had a large terrace (although the outlook was to the side of an apartment block!) which we utilised on the balmy evenings for pre-dinner drinks, but it was certainly nothing flash. Not to worry, we'd be just fine. The pool area was nice for a bit of cooling off late afternoon too.

So we set off exploring the beautiful sprawling, winding laneways of Capri - it's so much fun getting lost and finding your way back to the piazza again, you get to see so many gorgeous buildings and somehow find yourself discovering a little trattoria under some grape vines, munching on a margherita pizza and a sipping on a beer! A beautiful little town and one I would love to visit again (for a few more days next time) in the near future.

Make sure you catch the bus (a bit of a hair-raising experience given the narrow road, but well worth it!) to Anacapri, which takes maybe 20 mins, and catch the chairlift to the very highest peak of the island - the views are just breathtaking, you can see forever! One other "must do" is a limoncello in the main square.... it's not a cheap exercise, but it's soooooooo Capri!!! :-)

At the end of our first day in Capri we headed back to our room for showers and found the bathroom to be a bit of a shocker.... I've had a better shower from a garden hose!!! The pressure was apalling and the shower head obviously in major need of replacing. However we were so hot and filthy that anything was pure bliss, so it didn't really matter in the end. I wouldn't have enjoyed it if the weather had been cooler though....

The biggest "must do" is of course the Blue Grotto. It's VERY touristy and we had to cringe at the level of exploitation, but I suppose Capri is known for this one natural wonder so they would be mad not to take advantage of it, particularly in the height of summer. So this particular day we took the furnicutar down the hill to the port, clambered into our little wooden motor boat with maybe 20 other people and had our little Italian driver take us around the island, showing us places of interest and feeding us local info, ultimately getting us to the Blue Grotto. It's here that you experience some mayhem - there are up to 10 other boats like yours sitting there all waiting for the same visual treat, BUT before you get inside they have to put you into little row boats, and each one only takes 3 or 4 people! Our turn finally came around, and it actually was quicker than we'd original anticipated when we pulled up. You have to lie virtually flat in the row boat and between waves crashing in they quickly whisk you through the incredibly narrow rock opening into the enormous cave that is the Blue Grotto. You sit up and are just gobsmacked by your surroundings. The glow of that water is so amazingly blue/turquoise - it's so irredescent and really is indescribable, I was totally blown away by how beautiful it was. The guys rowing the boats all start singing at the top of their lungs which of course bounces of the rocky cave walls - lots of fun and an experience I'll never forget. I'm incredibly happy to have finally seen this infamous Blue Grotto. You MUST do it!!

As opposed to other reviewers, we had no problems with check-out at the San Felice. We found the staff to be a bit indifferent, but otherwise had no problems. The breakfast is a bit light-on, but again we didn't really mind - it was just a stark contrast after the feasts we'd had every morning in Positano for the previous five days!

All in all I thought the San Felice was worth the money. Every hotel on the island is expensive, some crazy-expensive, and when you're only using your room to sleep in I don't see the point getting something too flash. The location of this place is its best feature, and I would recommend that someone looks at their shower heads ASAP....!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank julesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

Like all hotels on Capri, this one is extraodinarily expensive. I had a single room, and it was almost like a spacious prison cell. It was long and narrow and so bare that everything echoed. The single bed was small and not especially comfortable. The sink was a basic basin with no counter. There was no internet service. The only windows were at the end of the room, so it was always dark.

Capri is somewhat delightful, but I don't think the cost was worth the stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Andri07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We stayed at the Villa San Felice for three nights the last week of September and enjoyed it very much. The location can't be beat. The hotel is in a quiet walkway just a few steps from the Quisissana, where all the action/shopping is. We booked a junior suite which was actually a bedroom with king sized bed, a living/dining room with daybed and table for two for breakfast and a private patio, which we really didn't use much. The bathroom was very large and modern with marble top sink area which provides plenty of space to hold toiletries and a tub/shower with shower doors. Good water pressure, plenty of hot water. Breakfast was just ok, average croissants and not-so-good coffee, but one doesn't come to Italy for the breakfasts anyway. The staff were great at organizing a private boat trip for us, which I would highly recommend. They also have a nice pool with crystal clean water and you can get drinks and paninis or salads from the bar there. There is no sea view, but the hotel is surrounded by lemon trees and flower gardens. I would recommend this hotel to those who want a quiet place in a great location at a fair price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LillOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Some friends and I recently stayed at Villa San Felice and were fairly happy with it until it came time to check out. Upon checking out they proceeded to tell us we owed 950euro more than we should have. This was especially frustrating as the bill was settled the day before. They then said they couldn't change the bill because the manager wouldn't be in for another 2 hours. I couldn't help but feel like they were expecting us to pay because we had a ferry and plane to catch. lucky for us we had time to kill.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank durm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2006

The San Felice is an excellent location very close to the piazza. When we first arrived, we were a little disappointed, our room was on the small side and the bath towels were paper thin. Also, on the first day there was no hot water. However, after a day or two we were used to the towels (which actually dried you off pretty quickly) and the hot water returned. Breakfast is basically a croissant and coffee (which is fine by me). The pool area is very nice and the water temperature is perfect - not too cold like some other places. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. Since it is in the city center there are no sea views. All and all not too bad.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sbm0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.3 km away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#28 of 40 in Capri
728 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
264 reviews
1.0 km away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.9 km away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 40 in Capri
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sanfelice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sanfelice

Address: Via Li Campi, 13, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Capri
#9 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#12 Family Hotel in Capri
#16 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $153 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sanfelice 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Felice, situated at the heart of the island just a few minutes from the famous "Piazzetta," reflects the characteristically simple yet elegant architectural style of Capri in every minute detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Sanfelice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Felice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing