We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I wouldn't stay here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mamela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mamela
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed here for the first, and last time, a few weeks ago. I had three teenagers with me, and we were with another family with two teenagers. The location is just ok....be prepared, as someone else said, to take your own luggage up. The elevator only fits about 3 people in it, and takes absolutely forever. We ended up walking up 3 flights of stairs most of the time instead of waiting on the elevator. My room was somewhat comfortable temperature-wise, but the kids' room was quite warm the whole time. The air vent in my room above the dresser dripped water the entire time. My shower stopped up everytime I used it. Each day, I asked for someone to take a look at it. Each day I was told someone had fixed it. Never was I offered another room....they eventually, on my last night, told me that it couldn't be fixed, that that was just the way it was. The beds are horrible....it would have been more comfortable to sleep on the floor. Only one of the front desk staff was helpful....the others were quite aloof. The breakfast, however, was delicious, and the breakfast staff very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvhrsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    61
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
88
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We have stayed at the Mamela hotel on Capri at least 5 times and iot continues to impress me. Very clean and very friendly. It's location is perfect...close enough to the action but far enough away to be private. Great views!!!

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rfed8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

My Husband and I stayed at the Hotel Mamela for the first half of our Honeymoon. We had a deluxe suite and couldn't have been happier. Our view was breathtaking and the service was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone enjoying a quiet romantic getaway! PS. The pool was great!!!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenSig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

The hotel is a lovely 4 star hotel, within a short walk from everything in Capri.
Nice terrace and pool area, and the lunch area has a great view and a decent lunch at reasonable prices (for Capri).

The hotel has a policy of not allowing children under 14 in the pool after 1 pm. In all fairness, this should have been made clear to us when we made the reservation, including a 7 year old boy. This is also not clear from the hotel website. We complained, and the rule was changed while we were there.

It is a bit pricy, but then again - this is Capri.

Other than that - a nice hotel, with a friendly staff - including the room maids - and is clearly under excellent management.

Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

I stayed here with two girlfriends this summer, it was my fourth trip to Capri but the first time I had stayed at the Mamela.

I really can't say enough good things about this hotel, the location is excellent, 5 minutes walk from Via Camarelle with all the main shops, resturants, bars...

The staff were all lovely, the hotel does not serve dinner but the lunch was divine, served in the resturant on a terrace (book a table at the edge to make the most of the view), the swimming pool is a great size, always an attendent present, always enough sunbeds.

The breakfast included in the price of the room is coffee, fruit & crossaints, plus eggs dishes at an extra charge.

The only downside (and not the hotels fault) was a few loud Americans whose voices could be heard constantly at breakfast, lunch, the pool... but perhaps that is just due to the time we visited. But in summary, lovely hotel, and I shall return!

  • Liked — Everything... location, pool, food, drink
  • Disliked — Checking out
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

Hotel Mamela was the most pleasant stay we had while traveling in Europe. The staff was great (especially Nadine at the front desk) and went above and beyond to help us with converters, directions, restaurant reservations, boat tickets and luggage. We had only wonderful things to say and no complaints. The room was spacious and VERY clean, the complimentary breakfast was great, the pool is gorgeous and the hotel is in a great location. I would, without a doubt, stay there again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoWindyCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel the first week of Sept. for our honeymoon. The hotel room was beautiful and the view from the balcony is great. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially the bartenders. One night they were closing the bar, but opened up again when we showed up for one last drink.

Our shower was clogged the first night, but after we told the front desk they had it fixed right away, and we had no other problems.

The breakfast isnt like America, just pasteries, friut, and coffee, but that is what is normal in Italy. You can buy omelets and other breakfast if you wanted. The coffee was great, and so was the wine and limonchello! The pool was very clean and we always had a chair to sit in.

Overall we had a great time at this hotel and would definitly come back again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Clogged shower
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrscress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#26 of 41 in Capri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel La Vega
Hotel La Vega
#30 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#15 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Hotel Gatto Bianco
#9 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#22 of 41 in Capri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamela

Property: Hotel Mamela
Address: Via Campo di Teste 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#23 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mamela 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mamela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamela Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing