We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
174
23
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
23
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 199 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I spent 2 nights at this friendly bed and breakfast in October. I slept well, the double bedroom was quiet, the welcome was friendly and the breakfast was ok. The view, of course, is amazing. However, two words of warning: the single room on the street side is noisy and gets no view, in the double room at the front we had to close our window because of the smell of rubbish coming up from the city below. This is, of course, a problem in all of central Naples, but I am sure some locations are better than others in this regard. All in all, the view is wonderful and the people very friendly - but one can get a more recently decorated room with its own bathroom and a more central location for the same price.

Room tip: The double with the view, but not in summer because of the smell of rubbish and heat!
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piplarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casachiara, Proprietario at Casa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile signora
grazie per aver scritto una recensione su Casa Chiara
Mi dispiace che lei sia stata disturbata dai cattivi odori che certamente non potevano essere di spazzatura. E ormai molto tempo che la raccolta dei rifiuti a Napoli avviene regolarmente.
cordiali saluti
Rosa Bossa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We picked this B&B based on all the great reviews, and we were not disappointed. Mrs. Rosa was not there for the first 3 nights we were there, but Constantina was very helpful. We got to meet Mrs. Rosa on the return trip, and she's a sweetheart. The views from the rooms and the roof are spectacular. The only complaint my husband and I had was that there are not a lot of restaurants nearby (Regine is pretty much it). The building is close to the Funiculare station, so it's not a huge pain to find places to eat, but you do feel like you're a bit far from the city.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poochiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casachiara, Proprietario at Casa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013
Google Translation

ringrazio i miei ospiti
Spero che la mancanza di molti ristoranti vicini a Casa Chiara vi sia stata ripagata dalla tranquilla quiete dovuta alla lontananza del caos del centro cittadino.
Cordiali saluti
Rosa Bossa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My young adult daughter and I stayed for 4 nights to Casa Chiara before traveling to Rome...our stay has been the highlight of our vacation so far. For someone like me who is a student of the Italian language and interested in the culture, Casa Chiara was the perfect place. I felt like I was staying with family...Rosa is very warm and extremely knowledgeable, not only about the typical tourist sites, but about the history of the area...she was very patient with me and would repeat things I didn't get the first time, reverting to her basic English as necessary. The house itself is magnificent, molto tranquilo, with an amazing view from the terrace, as mentioned by other reviewers. The Neopolitan coffee was the best I've had; she also made green tea, from the leaf, for my daughter, who is not a coffee drinker...I hope to return to Italy one day to explore further south. If I do, I know my first stay with be at Casa Chiara. Grazie mille, Rosa! A saluti, Biagio

Room tip: There are only two rooms; you really can't go wrong.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blazjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casachiara, Proprietario at Casa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie Biagio per la bellissima recensione.
Mi scuso per il ritardo con cui rispondo, ho avuto molti impegni anche familiari.
Sono veramente felice che abbiate goduto del soggiorno a Napoli che , malgrado tutti i suoi difetti,
si fa sempre amare
Con simpatia. Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent the first weekend in July in Casa Chiara cause we had a wedding in Naples. Although we did not have a room with a view we enjoyed very much our time there. Rosa is a fantastic host, giving us tips on Naples and making us feel very much at home. Her breakfasts are simple but superb, with amazing coffee and the most delicious lemon jam. I was very very lucky she shared the recipe with me! Her home made limoncello is to die for too!! All in all a fantastic experience even without the views. Thanks to Rosa, Chiara, Bianca, Nina... for your hospitality, we'll be back!! Rosa, grazie per il vostro incredibile regalo!!!!
Sami&Simon

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lunitaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casachiara, Proprietario at Casa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie ai miei gentili ospiti.
Mi scuso per il ritardo, ma ho letto con vero piacere la vostra recensione.
Spero possiate venire una prossima volta e dormire nella camera con vista sul golfo
Affettuosi saluti
Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Casa Chiara for 3 nights in late May, 2013. Our hostess was the proprietor of the house, Rosa Bossa. Casa Chiara doubles as her residence, a stately multi-story house on a hill that overlooking the beautiful Mediterranean and so many other key Neapolitan sites.

What made our stay particularly special was the presence of Rosa Bossa, a highly educated and cultured native Neapolitan, whom we were able to converse with in Italian (although she also knows French). She even accompanied us to a church in the city on Pentecost Sunday. When we parted, she made a point of telling us all the places that we ought to go to in that area.

The breakfasts were deceptively simple: bread, cheese, coffee, and jelly. But having said that, the cheese was local. The bread was local, and of a sourdough variety, which, as an amateur breadmaker myself, I absolutely loved. And the lemon and orange preserves were made by the propriety herself. Apart from the intrinsic pleasure of her company and conversation, Rosa Bossa also was full of good advice regarding not only Naples but our side trips to Pompeii and Capri.

Beyond that, you will have a lovely view of the city, and you are a block from the key funicular. Having said that, if you are in a group, a taxi may not be as inexpensive as you think, if the distance you are traveling isn't too large. Because the B&B is on a fairly important street, most cabs should be able to find it quite easily, though you may need to tell them that it is near the Hotel San Francesco---a hotel, which, though in a historic building, offers no better a view but costs several times as much.

I have stayed in everything from five star hotels to hostels. The key is hospitality; Rosa Bossa made us feel at home in every way. When we left, we missed her breakfasts, but we missed her, too. This place is a real find.

Room tip: There's only one room I'd pick--the double with a view. Not only because the view is stunning, but because it seems wifi was a bit weak in the other rooms.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaglehaslanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casachiara, Proprietario at Casa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie ai miei colti e simpatici ospiti che hanno apprezzato la cultura e le bellezze di Napoli
Per me siete stati uno stimolo per approfondire le mie reminiscenze di arte e di storia
Ho trovato la vostra compagnia gradevole come dei vecchi amici
Un saluto affettuoso
Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews