We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, great value - enjoyable stay in Naples”
Review of Hostel Mancini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Mancini
Ranked #5 of 184 Speciality Lodging in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, great value - enjoyable stay in Naples”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Two uni friends and I stayed at Hostel Mancini at the end of September 2010. Originally booked for 2 nights, we ended up staying for 3 and the staff was able to accommodate us.

We were three in a room which had two single beds and a bunk bed, and ensuite bathroom. The room and bathroom were perfectly clean, beds were comfortable, and the room had a small terrace/balcony with french doors that opened up so that we could get a nice breeze.

The owner was fantastic, very friendly and more than happy to give us a suggested itinerary for our stay. He pointed out great restaurants (including the nearby Da Michele, birthplace of pizza and featured in Eat Pray Love - super cheap, and fantastic! Worth a visit!) and was also sure to warn us of the potential dangers of pickpockets/drive-by thieves on mopeds etc. Being three girls, he made sure that we weren't carrying handbags (thieves on mopeds slice the straps or the bottoms of the bags, grab your bag/stuff and speed off) and that we weren't out too late at night. At his suggestion, we went to Capri for the day and had a fantastic time.

The concerns that people have mentioned regarding the location are fairly accurate. While I wouldn't call it "ghetto", as someone did below, I would say it's not the greatest. But that's also in keeping with Naples as a whole - run down, not well lit, and lots of groups of men sitting on doorsteps after dinner talking about football together (and whistling/chatting at girls who pass by). I was never without my two friends, and together we felt safe. We never brought more than 50 EUR at a time with us, and kept our cameras (which aren't great anyways) attached to our wrists the whole time. I wouldn't recommend a solo female friend to go there alone at night, but I'd say the same about the city as a whole (not just the hostel) and during the day she'd be fine.

Free Wifi/WLAN was an added bonus. Breakfast, included, wasn't much but was better than nothing (bread/toast with jam, cereal and milk, coffee).

The one downside was the man who watched the front desk at night - he was rather strange (but since we were always three together, he didn't make us feel uncomfortable) and watched movies on his tv at very high volume. Our room was right across from the desk, and we could plainly hear every word of the movie from our room with the door shut. Thankfully, we'd all brought along ear plugs and were able to get to sleep without a problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    101
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
19
30
137
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

I had a really nasty experience with the owner which stayed in my mind up till today. I booked this hostel on hostelbookers.com based on the feedback of the customers and I still can't figure out why anyone would write positive comments of the friendliness of the staff.

My partner and I arrived late by train from Milan and checked in. Thereceptionist at the counter was friendly enough then. My partner, a Chinese national and I (a Malaysian) were really hungry and most restaurants were closed by then. We decided to pack a pizza back to the hostel and eat at the hostel kitchen. However when we got there, the kitchen (with only 4 or 5 chairs) were totally occupied so instead of telling them to move (which we politely declined to as we didn't want to tell anyone to leave), decided to eat on the only available sitting place i.e. in the staircase landing of the hostel. Eating in the rooms was a no no as we didn't want to leave smells in the rooms either.

We were hungrily eating our pizza when a man came and told us off saying "What do you think you're doing here? Are you crazy? This is not the place to eat." We told him that there was no place in the kitchen and explained the situation. He was still cheezed off and went on and on about how we were spoiling the reputation of the hostel. We were dumbfounded as to who this hosteller was and later on to our amazement found out that this was the owner of the hostel.

I was already tired and irritable by then and told him that this was no way to show guests of the hostel this kind of treatment. If he were sincerely thinking of the guests comfort, he would have found a chair or two more for us. We were already trying to accomodate to the hostellers and hostels the best we could and instead was rudely treated in a condescending way. He went on to reply to me "I don't know what country you are from, China, Thailand or Vietnam but this is not what we do in our country , eating wherever we like"

This remark stank of racism and to this day I remember it. I was wondering if I should leave the hostel as the owner implied I should but I had to stay the night as it was already 12 midnight and the area around the hostel was quite dodgy due to being near the trains station and cheap motels.

Apparently this owner also runs another hostel in Napoli which I do not remember the name. If I did remember it I would warn all travellers of this hostel. Pensione Mancini is definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank fwmching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelmancininaples, Proprietario at Hostel Mancini, responded to this review, 30 April 2015
Google Translation
La struttura ha cambiato gestione nel 2011. La recensione pubblicata appartiene a una vecchia gestione, pertanto ne chiedo l'eliminazione.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2007

Getting to the hostel from train station couldn't be any simpler. The exact location is 40°51'7.00"N, 14°15'58.00"E.

There is no pick-up service from the train station so you will have to walk. Always be cautious if you arrive late at night, and EXTREMELY cautious especially during day time.

Staff was quite friendly. I've met the over-friendly staff. We were served a tiny glass of his grapefruit juice upon our arrival. Showed us most of the attractions right away. Be sure to check out the world's first pizza store nearby! It'll worth the time!

We felt quite safe to stay in the hostel. A huge iron gate with buzzer for the entrance to the building where the hostel is.

Walls are too thin, paper-like... that you could hear people talking from other rooms.

One (or two) Shared toilet/bathroom. I don't know if there's en-suite rooms.

Breakfast is served! One tiny cup of cappuccino and one small plastic-packed croissant... delivered to your door. Like room service!

Had initially planned to stay longer but a pickpocket ruined our day and trip and we had to get out of the city asap. All in all, I'd say this hostel is a great place! But the city is not that great.

  • Liked — It's very close to the train station
  • Disliked — I only have issue with the city of pickpockets, Naples.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seferisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelmancininaples, Proprietario at Hostel Mancini, responded to this review, 30 April 2015
Google Translation
La struttura ha cambiato gestione nel 2011. La recensione pubblicata appartiene a una vecchia gestione, pertanto ne chiedo l'eliminazione.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2006

The hostel itself is quite safe and secure and reasonably priced, but the area where it is situated is an absolute ghetto. There have been very few places in the world where I have been more afraid for my safety. If you don't plan to venture out from the hostel after dark, then you might CONSIDER staying here, but otherwise, I'd definitely NOT recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelmancininaples, Proprietario at Hostel Mancini, responded to this review, 30 April 2015
Google Translation
La struttura ha cambiato gestione nel 2011. La recensione pubblicata appartiene a una vecchia gestione, pertanto ne chiedo l'eliminazione.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 November 2004

We had originally booked for 4 nights at Mancini. Ended up not liking Naples as well so we decided to move on 2 nights early. The staff was completely OK with this and in fact, booked our next hotel for us at cheaper than one in the same area (we checked)! Also very helpful with what transportation to take, what's worth seeing.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelmancininaples, Proprietario at Hostel Mancini, responded to this review, 30 April 2015
Google Translation
La struttura ha cambiato gestione nel 2011. La recensione pubblicata appartiene a una vecchia gestione, pertanto ne chiedo l'eliminazione.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#45 of 186 in Naples
899 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#52 of 186 in Naples
1,197 reviews
Hotel Lento
#66 of 186 in Naples
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
480 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#18 of 186 in Naples
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mancini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mancini

Property: Hostel Mancini
Address: Via Pasquale Stanislao Mancini 33, 80139, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 184 Speciality Lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Mancini 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Mancini Naples is a small and central located hostel in Naples, Italy, renewed in 2011. It offers many types of accommodations ideal for individual travellers and also for families, groups and erasmus students. Hostel Mancini is located right in front of Napoli central railway station and local trains to Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Pompeii and Sorrento. Few minutes from the hostel is also located the harbour where you can pick the ferry boat to reach Capri and Ischia. We will offer you a free city map at your arrival to show you how easy is to reach the most important city touristic attractions with no worries and how to make easy and cheap day trips to Napoli surroundings. The hostel is 5 minutes walking from "Pizzeria da Michele", the most famous pizzeria in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Mancini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing