We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you like staying near a slum”
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #52 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Penang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Stay here if you like staying near a slum”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Over the three nights we stayed here I tallied up a number of negatives about this hotel. However after reviewing what we had paid for our stay, I stand by you get what you pay for. If u like to stay close to the train station then it is good. However if you would like to go out to dinner or see a more civilized side of Naples don't stay anywhere near this area. Thin walls and dirty stained towels topped off our stay

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
We're sorry that your stay wasn't good!
Usually, station area is a strategic point of view in order to experience the city
we are desolate for dirty towels,it was really strange!our staff is always careful and ready to resolve any problem, but anyway I hope that you come here and try again our hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    505
    300
    74
    31
See reviews for
270
436
86
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirksville, Missouri USA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Grand Hotel Europa, is a very clean and very well kept hotel, near Naples main train station. They offer wonderful themed rooms. I stayed in the San Carlo Room and it was very clean and quiet. The hotel staff is very kind and courteous. The breakfast was fantastic. Many varieties of food. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: The San Carlo Room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlocB9030VZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Ulisse12,

thank you very much to write a review and to define Grand Hotel Europa a gem!

We are really delighted that you had great stay with us.

See you soon in Naples!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed here with our 2 sons aged 9 and 12 for one night. For the price we paid our room was perfect and spotless. The staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was lovely and had everything we could want. The hotel is close to the station which was perfect as we went to Pompeii for the day, came back and collected our luggage (which was stored free of charge) and then caught the train to Rome. On the night we arrived we caught a taxi from the airport which cost 19 euro. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinwkids14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Guest,

good morning from Naples!

Thanks a lot to write a review for us :)

It's a big satisfaction to receive the best rating by an expert reviewer. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay at Grand Hotel Europa and we look forward to welcome back you in Naples!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel in Naples was a great find. We weren't for sure what we were walking into, but the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the location was great. But the best was the restaurant. It was so good that I think we'd go back to just eat there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penni_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Dear Penni Farmer,

our sincerest thanks to write a review for Grand Hotel Europa.

We really appreciate your positive comments, this is the best reward for our work and we wait you here in Naples, our chef will be very happy to pamper again your palate :)

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I have used the hotel several times and will continue to do so - extremely pleasant and helpful & ideally placed for station & airport bus and walking through Napoli.

It provides a near perfect location for the working visits in which I am engaged - and also as a place in which to relax and spend time exploring the city and surrounding places.

The work presently continuing in Piazza Garibaldi has completely changed the area by the station - and I rather miss the wonderful Neapolitan 'character & bustle' that existed there - but I am sure this will make the hotel even more acceptable for the tourists that wish to have visits made as smooth (and dull) as possible.

I am now looking forward to my next visit & to see how the nearby Piazza develops once the metro work is completed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Dear Ian B,

good morning from Naples and thanks a lot to write such a nice review for Grand Hotel Europa.

At the end of renovation works Garibaldi square will be very modern and more functional, as the works involves especially Naples subway.

By the way it's a real joy for us to be chosen by a foreign traveller as favourite hotel since long time and we look forward to welcome back you in your Naples house :)

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel was definitely worth its high rating on TA. Clean and friendly English speaking staff. Room was good for price paid. Breakfast included cereals, croissants, fresh juice, coffee, ham, cheese and hard boiled eggs. Good location for close proximity to Garibaldi station (main station for access to in particular Sorrento, vesuvius, Pompeii, Herculaneum) but far away from nicer parts of Naples (i.e. Santa Lucia). Would stay in again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Need_M0re_H0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Dear Guest,

good morning from Naples.

Our sincerest thanks to write a review for Grand Hotel Europa.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you in Naples again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Having never been to Naples before we booked this hotel due to it being close to a main train & bus station & were not disappointed with the booking. The hotel was very clean & the reception staff very pleasant and eager to please. Its location is perfect if you want to avoid the local taxis & if you wish to be bold and strike out onto the local transport. The tourist information center inside the main train station (just around the corner from the hotel) is a great place to seek advice on travelling around or even the hotel reception staff (who have a plethora of leaflets & maps to assist you in your holiday). Some have mentioned that the area is seedy, but although it has a roughened look we had absolutely no hassle or trouble walking around this area in both day and night times. If I have a return trip to the area then I would not hesitate to seek out the hotel & book another stay in it.

Room Tip: Ensure your room has an ethernet point (if you need access to the internet) as the wi-fi only covers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DYardEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your nice feedback.

It's always a pleasure for us when turists debunk the myth that want Naples a rough city. This is a wonderful place, full of history and traditions, and our staff is constantly at guests' disposal for any information or tours.

We are delighted that you would like to come at Grand Hotel Europa again :)

See you soon in Naples!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 186 in Naples
898 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#21 of 186 in Naples
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#5 of 186 in Naples
1,068 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#42 of 186 in Naples
617 reviews
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#54 of 186 in Naples
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Property: Grand Hotel Europa
Address: Corso meridionale 14, 80143, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, just a few hundred metres from Garibaldi train station and Naples historical city center; ideal location from which to explore the city and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes. Offers all the services of a superior three star hotel with 84 rooms and suites, a restaurant, a bar, a theater and several meeting rooms. The sandard or superior rooms are spacious and are equipped with thoughtful amenities to make your stay comfortable, including air conditioning and heating, satellite television, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Are spacious and have those services necessary to make your stay comfortable, such as air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Its central location is ideal for exploring the many attractions of one of the most beautiful Italian cities of art! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing