We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,065)
Filter reviews
1,065 results
Traveller rating
502
339
128
57
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
339
128
57
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews converted monastery bay of naples pool area roof garden restaurant terrace pool closes unique hotel funicular railway spanish quarter seventh floor overlooking the bay small pool jacuzzi bath mini fridge mount vesuvius superior room loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,065 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018

The hotel was originally a convent built into the top of the hill. The front of the building has the hotel rooms with views down into Naples and the bay (though our room had very high windows, so you had to stretch for the view). Be sure to spend time exploring all the mysterious nooks and crannies - a cross between a treasure hunt and a museum. The pool area on top is gorgeous with a small pool built into a rock and a separate area in a cave. Get there early: it closes at 5 PM, and is open only during certain months - it's not heated. The restaurant has amazing views and excellent food. Our room was comfortable with a bathroom that had luxurious appointments for a prior era - still nice, but not sleek. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The location is a bit off the beaten path, but it's easy to go up and down the mountain by taxi, foot (a hike up!) or funicular.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank westchestercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

What we liked: We had a room with a big terrace offering fantastic view of the city of Naples, only wish we had more time to enjoy it. The restaurant on the terrace was a floor below us and we enjoyed the view while having dinner and breakfast. The hotel is on a hill which to us is much better than down in the city where it was quite chaotic and filthy. During our stay there was no conference and so it was nice and quiet. Shutters in the room did the job and kept the light out.

What we were not so sure: The hotel was converted from a 500-year old convent so the corridors were a bit dormitory-like. Inside the room everything worked except that the air-conditioner was in a peculiar position. There was no electric kettle even on request, there were no cups provided in the room either. Beds were made in the old-fashioned way, with everything tightly tucked in. They could have made the housekeepers' job easier by using duvets that don't need tucking in, like some of the modern hotels.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms with balcony, it's not that much more expensive and worth it if you spend enough time on it
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

We are on a tour with a company that booked this hotel for us. We thought it would be pretty exciting to stay in a former convent in Naples...boy were we wrong! The hotel management booked some kind of conference that had loud music and a ton of loud people to go until MIDNIGHT on a freaking Thursday night that was right outside our door. You’re probably imagining that I’m exaggerating, but sadly, I’m not. After a call to the front desk to ask that they do something about the noise, we were told it was just a meeting and there was nothing they could do. By the time all the stragglers left and the staff finished banging tables and chairs together for their tear down, it was past 1am. Top that off with the air conditioning that blows at the floor and cools a few tiles instead of the whole room like it should and the dirty floors, and we would never stay here by choice. If you’ve booked and it’s too late to get out, make sure they don’t put you on the 3rd floor. You won’t get any rest.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bedofroses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Right my say on this hotel. The breakfast is great, ample for the day ahead. The position is fine, up a hill a good walk through the Spanish quarter. Or the Funcilar at $1.10 one way. Once you get your bearing coming out the hotel turn left, cross the road and go down the second set of steps, turn left, then right, walk straight ahead downhill, 10mins you are in the Historic centre with many bars etc. A taxi will cost about 10-15 euros back, its a lot when added up. The 4th floor restaurant is lovely and we ate one night, pricey but worth it. The 7th floor pool area is great, free towels, the pool is small but when we were there is was quiet, 10 people would be too much at once in the pool. The view form all rooms and the 4th and 7th floors cant be bettered. The staff every where were fantastic and dealt with a taxi to the airport at fixed cost of $27.5. A bottle of 33cl beer was 6 euros, mini bar it was 7 euros, long drink on the 7th floor 12 euros, getting pricey. Free safe in the rooms. We were in room 42 and the A/C didn't do its job and was on constantly but was inefficient. The public areas are good and merit the 4 star rating. Room 42 didn't merit 4 stars, at best a 3 star. I cant say about any other rooms but tired and shabby around the edges, I am aware its themed on a Monastry as this what it was in an earlier life. My wife's view differed she thought the rooms were 4 stars. Would I stay here again? Not in room 42, or Naples as once have been some where I tend to visit new places, life's too short. maybe a better room perhaps. But this is just my opinion this hotel has lots of 5 star reviews.

Room Tip: Not room 42
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a week and absolutely loved this hotel. So peaceful and tranquil. We were in room 33 and had fabulous views over Naples. The hotel is full of history, nooks and crannies and secret staircases! You must explore every floor- it's fascinating... The staff were incredibly helpful, right up until departure. Couldn't fault anyone. All fabulous- particularly the evening waiter. A true gentleman and extremely courteous. Food was super, though it was the same menu every evening. We were on half board so it did get a little tedious, but we couldn't fault the service or the quality of food ever.
The pool area was incredible. An absolute gem and a fantastic place to unwind after a morning of sight seeing. Even better views up here, as stated by many other reviews. A pity it closes at 5pm though.
The area around the hotel was not really nice enough to walk around in the evening, but we hopped on the funicular and went two stops up to Vomero. Lots of bars and nice shops here...
Yes our room was a little shabby in the bathroom, but it's a very old building, steeped in history and so I guess it added to the charm! It certainly didn't spoil our stay. The safe in our room was faulty on arrival, but by the end of the day the staff had replaced it. So efficient.
Negatives? Not a great deal of storage space for clothes (maybe we took too many!) and a little more information as to towel hire and changing facilities etc on floor 7 would be useful. No other moans at all...
We thought we would be clever and get the shuttle bus from the airport to Naples and a taxi from the city centre. Not worth the hassle as the hotel arranged a taxi back to the airport and it was as cheap as our journey on arrival (having been ripped off by local taxi guy!!)
Naples is a crazy city but well worth the visit. Pompeii was amazing and Sorrento beautiful. The hotel - superb. We loved it. Thank you

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews