We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming it is not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charming International Hotel
Ranked #155 of 190 Hotels in Naples
New England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming it is not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Neither charming nor attractive, but it is an excellent location if you are catching an early morning flight. As it is in an area that does not feel at all safe, being able to walk through the well lighted car rental lot at 5AM to get to the airport was a comfort. The airport is also the only place to get dinner and breakfast. Old, tired but clean enough and it is right next to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank webaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    14
    19
    14
See reviews for
13
21
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Our family of 4 (kids 10, 12) stayed at the hotel in August as we had a very early morning flight to catch and hoped to squeeze in a bit more sleeping time by staying overnight near the airport. We took the Alibus to the airport and then walked 10 minutes to the hotel (it's just past the rental car parking lots) so it certainly is close. It also has a small pool area which is nice on a hot afternoon though bring your mosquito repellant because they were swarming during our visit. The hotel is clean, but somewhat tired and a bit old-fashioned. Moreover, we paid a hefty sum for a quad room which consisted of a queen bed and double hideabed. I'm always a little resentful when that happens as the sleep quality on a flimsy mattress is usually poor. When we got to our room we discovered that the staff had turned off the air conditioning and opened the windows until we arrived. Not a problem since the A/C came up quickly except that there were no screens on the window and several mosquitos had made it into the room. We all awoke with multiple bites the next morning which was very annoying. The hotel also lacks a restaurant. The staff directed us to a nearby place for dinner, which was very inexpensive, had good food and a great view, but sadly required wading along a worse-than-usual (which is saying a lot in Naples) garbage strewn street to get there. You're better off going to the airport and paying a higher price for food there. That way you'll still have an appetite when you arrive. If we had it to over again, we'd stay downtown at a newer, fresher hotel. We would have paid more for a taxi instead of the Alibus, but traffic would have been minimal early in the morning and we would have had a much more pleasant overnight stay. If you need a basic hotel to stay overnight in order to catch an early morning flight then this hotel fits the bill. Or if you're arriving late and will be picking up a rental car to drive and you don't want to start off in the dark, the hotel is adjacent to all the rental car companies so you could save an overnight's car rental cost by picking up your car in the morning and leaving in the morning. Otherwise, the "Charming" hotel isn't so much charming as much as it is "adequate."

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indy_working_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We chose this hotel because it was the only airport hotel in Naples and we had a 6:40 am flight. I knew it was not in a great neighborhood and would be a marginal hotel. In retrospect, I wish we never stayed there. Yes the hotel did back up to the car rental return and it was beyond convenient for us but that is as far as it goes. In my opinion, the neighborhood is beyond scary. When we got to the front door of the hotel it was locked and you had to be buzzed in. In its heyday this was probably a cute hotel but it has not been updated in a significant period of time. Room was large but dated. Cleanliness was okay but not good. Plumbing was marginal and didn't work well. Thought there was a pizzeria next door which there was but it was closed. We had not eaten all day so hotel staff directed us to another pizzeria about 5 blocks away - it was a frightening 5 blocks with more trash than I have ever seen in a city in a developed country. I felt unsafe and out of place. Pizzeria was inexpensive and actually very good but not worth compromising my safety. Would never stay here again - if ever again, I would stay in sorrento and get an hour less sleep and stay in a quality establishment.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colleen_M_Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

It takes literally 3 minutes drive from the airport, parking was free and easy to get to on hotel grounds. Rooms very basic and slight problem with air con unit but with small baby couldn't be bothered to move. They brought a crib when we asked but forgot sheets..! Overall it's good enough if you want a stop off for airport transfers etc but would never stay here other than that.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarikwindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

As everyone says, very convenient for early flights and dropping off the hire car.

Don't however accept a room at the front of the hotel. Very very noisy plus road vibration so request a room at the back and you'll probably be fine.

Decor is dated, must be 10+ years since the last redecoration and room smelt musty. A real shame as this hotel could make a fortune due to it's location near the airport and lack of any competition.

Staff were very nice and make the best of it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pullsomestrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

A short 10 minute walk to the airport and they often have airport carts outside so you don't have to wheel all your suitcases. The staff are so nice and helpful. The rooms are fine and the beds are comfortable for an overnight stay. Most won't be spending a week there. The pizza restaurant chose by is an excellent option, but be careful of the mixed salad - they put salt on the lettuce. We highly recommend the Charming and have no complaints. It is right next to the car return place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

The hotel is within walking distance to the main airport terminal but the main problem was not the noise of the aircraft but the fact that the building and everything in our bedroom shook whenever a lorry drove past. The road runs in front of the hotel and while you can deal with light and noise by wearing eye shields and ear plugs, there is no defence against vibration. A terrible night compounded by the state of the bathroom - the shower was in a sordid condition and we did not dare use it. The breakfast was pathetic too. The price of this - just under £100! How do they get away with this and who gave this hotel 4 stars?

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianrowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naples
0.2 km away
Millennium Gold Hotel
Millennium Gold Hotel
#140 of 190 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.5 km away
Luxor Hotel
Luxor Hotel
#1 of 8 in Casoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Cheminee Business Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Kleopatra Hotel
Kleopatra Hotel
#112 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.2 km away
Buono Hotel
Buono Hotel
#77 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Joyfull
Hotel Joyfull
#74 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming International Hotel

Property: Charming International Hotel
Address: Viale Comandante Umberto Maddalena 35, 80144, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Charming International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charming International
Charming International Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing