We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Staff, Small Room, Excellent Breakfast, Wonderful Roof Top Terrace”
Review of UNA Hotel Napoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Napoli
Ranked #19 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The title of my review says quite a bit. The staff was superb, especially Sergio and Rosella. Excellent English. Sergio was a real help in all areas. The real negative, which is also a positive, is the location of the hotel across from the Central Station. This area is convenient to the local metro system and train for trips that we made to the nearby Roman ruins and the Amalfi Coastline. It is however a bit distant from the historical center, Luongomare and other areas. But the metro does take you to most places with the addition of a cab for some. Also the area just a few blocks away deteriorates into a population of migrants and transients. The same area has one of the best restaurants that we ate in: "Mimi Ferrovia." Also the room that we thought we had booked was much smaller than we thought it would be. But the closet and bathroom were huge. The hotel was fully booked and although they showed us several rooms we decided to stay where we were. The balconies are really just juliette types and unless you face away from Piazza Garibaldi you wouldn't want to stay out there anyway because very noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces away from Piazza Garibaldi to avoid noise but you give up a view.Corner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto N, Direttore at UNA Hotel Napoli, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. This will help us to monitor the quality of our services.

We have noted that, in general, your comments were positive. However, we were pleased that you also pointed out some elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards. Your comments have given us the opportunity to continue to improve our services in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied the next time you choose stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you again soon as our guest,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 1,902 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Great location across from the railway station from which to explore Naples itself and travel beyond. Gorgeous rooms, nicely decorated with style and class. Great bathroom. Breakfast is continental with some hot choices. Rooftop terrace gives amazing views of the city and the staff here and in the restaurant were so professional, kind and knowledgable about food and wine. They even put the Scotland game on for us! We only ate in the restaurant one night but the food was delicious. Main areas around reception were also very nice though staff were a little slow here. Despite that, a marvellous place to stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Favouriteword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto N, Direttore at UNA Hotel Napoli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking time to review our hotel. This will help us to monitor the quality of our services.
We are pleased to see that you have a favourable opinion of our Hotel and that we have managed to satisfy all your needs. This is very rewarding and gives us an incentive to go on improving our services.

Hoping to welcome you again soon as our guest,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Though near to the railways station, access to it is a pain due to bizarre pedestrian ways... especially if you are dragging your luggage. Along with the local authority management of pedestrianised areas and the god almighty chaos of traffic that Napoli suffers from..... It seems it is a requirement to live at the opposite side of the city in which you work and what with the daily siesta... it requires 4 trips per day across the city blasting horns and if you are on a scooter.. weaving like snakes through ever static traffic, bleating and buzzing and death defying...

The hotel is 80s tired... the staff, 80’s rejects... sorry to start off so negative but as a former UNA customer, I was anticipating far better and lead my partner to expect as much. What has happened to this once bright brand of Italian modernity.

The hotels own shortcoming where exasperated by obstructive and over dramatic staff determined to make your mole hill into their Vesuvius...was it the proximity to it or just far too much coffee..heaven forbid I suggest they take to tea... being British, that’s were most of the fun began. A simple request for a kettle was reasoned away as impossible and to instead head to the restaurant for any beverage requirement day or night. Charges of 4 euros per cup, (and I mean, weak, luke warm thimbles), where not mentioned!

What ensued was back of house and front of house fall outs.... not even to our bemusement...followed by 3 separate visits to our room with apologies whilst the 2 main culprits remained elusive.

They still could not deliver the tea.... in this day and age.... so not an international hotel brand after all.

The breakfast were poor. Bland products, poor service with staff always on the point of petulant breakdown. Lots of shouting, 3 people required to do any 1 thing. Yes they did their level best to add to the chaos that is Napoli.

Rooms decors were oppressive with little windows red / orange decor to all walls. Twin beds were double was requested... each day upon returning which were separated by cleaning staff. The stupidity of the fixtures and fittings included large soffit area that had not been cleaned for months. Typical style over substance throughout. Suspect it was an architect on a jolly rather than a designer with operational experience who put the project together.

The towels were at least soft.... and better than average....the scrambled eggs ok....but that was really it.

Napoli’s apparent grunge is interspersed with the most decadent of jewels and detail where you least expect it and it certainly grew on us. I am sure we will return.... but not via UNA!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ianbigblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This is an amazing hotel in a unbeatable position. Staff is superb and the rooms are really nice, spacious and very clean!! They do have as well an amazing rooftop, really great!!
I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto N, Direttore at UNA Hotel Napoli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking time to review our hotel. This will help us to monitor the quality of our services.
We are pleased to see that you have a favourable opinion of our Hotel and that we have managed to satisfy all your needs. This is very rewarding and gives us an incentive to go on improving our services.

Hoping to welcome you again soon as our guest,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We were in room 109. This was a spacious corner room with two large windows and Juliet balconies overlooking the main square containing the main rail station - Garibaldi - and most routes in the city lead here. The hiotel is modern, clean and very central, staff are fantastic and breakfast is good. The big feature for us was the roof terrace with extensive views of Naples. Noise from the square below was a drawback but the free mini-bar was a bonus.
The immediate area is somewhat chaotic and local markets leave a great deal of rubbish in the nearby streets. Crossing the roads is at the least exciting and made even more scary by the local building works and excavations for the new leg of the metro sytem. Be warned that there are pickpockets working in this area.
The Circumvesuviana train taking you to all stations to Sorrento is just a 5 minute walk away and stops include Herculaneum, Pompeii and Vesuvius, providing opportunities for great escapes and adventures.
The port is well organised and only a 30 minute walk from the hotel and a boat trip to Sorrento takes only 35 minures. Boats also go to Capri and Ischia. We had a great day out to Ana capri via the funicular , chair lift and a nice walk down. The Vesuvius bus at Pompeii station is only a 7 euro return trip - pay on the bus - but there is a 10 euro ticket entry to the park where the volcano is situated. Be prepared for a steep walk up and wear appropriate footwear.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto N, Direttore at UNA Hotel Napoli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to share your experience with us.
We really value our customers' feedback as it allows us to do always better.
We regret to read what you think about the area around the hotel. However we can assure you that despite the negative aspects, Naples is famous for its famous monuments, beautiful landscapes and good people who love tourists.

Once again,thank you for choosing to stay at UNA Hotel Napoli and we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel was really nice. Rooms were stylish. The restaurant was great for dinner and breakfast. The area is a little outside of the main touristy area but we made it work. Also the area is a little shady. Some sketchy people but if you’re a confident/aware traveler it shouldn’t be an issue. Also do not park your rental car on the street directly behind the hotel. The next morning when we went to the car a pop up market built up around it and we couldn’t leave until it was over.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto N, Direttore at UNA Hotel Napoli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. This will help us to monitor the quality of our services.

We have noted that, in general, your comments were positive. However, we were pleased that you also pointed out some elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards. Your comments have given us the opportunity to continue to improve our services in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied the next time you choose stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you again soon as our guest,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Great great great hotel for such a close proximity to the train station. Wonderfully pleasant staff and the included breakfast was delicious, fresh and attended to quickly. Was surprised by the rooftop bar & views of the city. We used this hotel as a 1-night base to get to Positano and we were very happy with the say.

Room Tip: Great amenities, free mini bar goodies, fantastic rooftop bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto N, Direttore at UNA Hotel Napoli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to leave us Your opinion. This will help us to monitor the quality of our services.
We are pleased to see that you have a favourable opinion of our Hotel and that we have managed to satisfy all your needs. This is very rewarding and gives us an incentive to go on improving our services.

Hoping to welcome you again soon as our guest.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 186 in Naples
1,083 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#10 of 186 in Naples
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#6 of 186 in Naples
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Napoli

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 9/10, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Naples
#10 Family Hotel in Naples
#12 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $137 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Napoli 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A six-story historical building in a central position opposite the railway station, accurately restored to its 19th-century grandeur. The interiors, recalling local traditions - decors, rough tuff stones, Pompeian red, Pulcinella shapes - with impressive architectural design, give life to 89 well appointed rooms, a bar, and a restaurant on the panoramic roof garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your UNA Hotel Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing