We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Naples
from US$11.50
More Info
from US$18.50
More Info
from US$10.40
More Info
from US$10.40
More Info
Reviews (2,048)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
183
152
53
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
152
53
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle walls degree view short walk to the castle actual castle modern art museum great view of naples bay of naples funicular railway entire city vomero hill follow the signs cable car awesome views worth the effort via toledo sunny day worth the trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

best place for photos ,selfies etc...do not miss it...use the teleferic to go up [ Montesanto train station - no metro station ] and you can walk the 500 stairs or more to go down ..

Thank ilias i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for the view, which is simply superb. There's also a museum that we did not visit. The castle is at the summit of the Vomero hill. There are three funicular railways running up this hill from various directions.
The castle is large and imposing, and the view from the top alone is worth the trip. Evidently like others there, we spent over an hour on the roof. There is an excellent 360-degree view over the whole of Naples and surrounding areas, across the bay to Capri. There are lifts to the top.

Thank BaruchBarryPinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You can reach St Elmo either by the Funicular or by Metro Line 1 to Vanvotelli followed by a short and pleasant walk as we did. On Tuesday tickets are only 2.50 Euro each (5 normally) but the gallery is not open. There is an entrance lift to courtyard height but steps to the tops of the walls where there are brilliant views over all parts of Naples. While there are a few information boards the main feature is the views. There are modern toilets inside the castle. Worth seeing.

1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The views from the castle are the reason to visit. Absolutely amazing views of the Bay of Naples, the islands and Vesuvius. We skipped the museums in favor of watching the sunset. So worth the visit.

Thank Z0siaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yes, it is great views. But that is it. Not worth the cost of admission. Nothing else there. The good news it is one way to avoid the Napoli crowds.

Thank vagabondgolfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You can catch a funicular up to this area of the city, which avoids a strenuous climb. There is an entry fee to get into the castle grounds.
Late afternoon provides views out across the city, bay and beyond to Vesuvius which all reflect the evening sunshine. The area below the castle is currently under major redevelopment so access to previously free views of the city is limited.

Thank scud56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a must. Fantastic view of Naples and Vesuv. Thats it. The exhitbition was not my taste. Trip Advisor force us to write 100 words. Why?

Thank trolldans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We took a very long walk to this building from the Port but its well worth it! If you go on a Tuesday there is a discounted ticket price. Great viewpoint of Naples.

Thank cwal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

The 14th Century Castel Sant'Elmo which overlooks the city and waterfront of Naples. There is a disturbing story here which I will let you discover!

Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018

We visited here on our last afternoon/evening in Naples, travelling up by funicular.
We paid 1.25 euros each with our artecard - not sure if this is the usual price, but we arrived quite late so may have been cheaper.
Nothing really to say about the actual castle, but the views across Naples are amazing - really cannot fault! Would be a bit disappointed perhaps if paying 5 euros per person, but worth it for our price.

Thank star8sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews