We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
20
12
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
12
0
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 35 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

In general it looks like a nice place. The woman working here was lovely and helped us when she could, the man (her husband) was a lot more blunt with us. He didn't seem happy or even bothered that we were staying even though we paid a lot for the three nights. OH but we didn't even stay with them. They made us move saying they had no room for us. They said we had one date wrong and moved us to a hotel next door instead (but we still paid him). The next day when we showed up in the morning to get the room he was supposed to have ready for us, everything was locked up and we couldn't get in. We returned a few hours later and he moaned and said we had left it too late in the day and that we'd have to stay in the hotel (still whilst paying him a lot). They never gave us keys to access their pool which is part of what attracted us to the hostel.

Other comments have said wonderful things and the other people staying there seemed happy enough. These however all appear to be families. Maybe they get better treatment than two travellers, I really don't know. But I felt like we had trespassed onto his land and got charged. I didn't feel particularly welcome or that he even cared he had a customer.

I couldn't tell you about the state of the rooms, the poolside looked okay. Except they have a pet dog which ran around stealing flip flops, oh and I caught it squatting in the corner twice and pooing, which he never picked up.

But the woman she was really friendly, happy and smiling. She welcomed us a lot more and answered any questions we had. Even gave us the Wifi and an adapter. She's also a really good cook and offered us food and water. (We didn't know we were charged until we read other reviews). Only the breakfast was free, which is fair.

Lastly, the location. It's good and bad. Ten minute walk from the ruins and a trip available to climb Vesuvius, the list ends there. There's a beach a train ride away but consists of more rocks than sand. That same train runs along side the hostel from 6am to 11pm, with the level crossing blaring out bells very frequently and loudly. We grew used to it but some others may not be able to. All markets and shops shut at six. All restaurants shut early too unless you're willing to leave town.

All in all, for the price i wouldn't say it was worth the stay.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank LauraLovelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2015

I can not express more how I loved my stay here, the owner and the staff are beyond friendly, the food was delicious, they even packed us a breakfast because we had to leave early. The location is perfect, within a walking distance to the site and the station and the pool offered a great way to relax after walking all day in the sun :) I definitely recommend for everyone:)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zuzka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2014

Great value! We stayed here for one night. Location is perfect from the train, perfect from the ruins. It was a little bit hard to find, look for the address number, rather than the name of hotel. Owners were so nice and helpful, wonderful father/son team. We had dinner here too, one of the best meals, their bruschetta was amazing!! Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AnneInUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Very warm welcome and cool drinks after walking about 500m from Pompei station. Perfect room for family of 5 - large double, sofa bed and bunks but the shower room was a little small for 5 people coming in and out. The room and all areas were very clean. Outside is a small pool - perfect for cooling down and for the kids to have a splash and with plenty of chairs and loungers around.
The location is about 500m from Pompei station (the one on the Sorrento line) and the entrance to Pompeii site is another 100m or so further down the road from the station so very convenient. From the station, it's easy to catch a train to Sorrento, Herculaneum or Naples. Also from the station are 2 different bus tours to Vesuvius.
Breakfast at the B&B was good coffee, fruit juice, yoghurts, focaccia pizza, croissants and ring doughnuts, all very fresh and tasty.
Evening meal (extra cost) was delicious - frittata, roasted vegetables and bruscetta to start then a pasta course followed by meat and some fruit. They offered bolgnaise for the children instead of seafood pasta which went down well.
I would say the location is very quiet BUT it is right on the local train line so there is a rumble every 20 mins or so (not overnight).

Room Tip: There was another family room which was larger and had a better bathroom - just on the right coming into the main building.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lazybones11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I admit it was a bit hard to find (not very good signage) but the people there were so friendly! We had a amazing dinner their with very reasonable prices and they offered us free treats too! The hostel was so close to everything you need in Pompeii!
The staff were the best!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews